We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather 3,5 stars than four”
Review of Scandic Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Copenhagen
Ranked #41 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Selected the hotel as a base for 3 nights stay in Copenhagen. Even though we've selected Superior Extra room, we were not fully satisfied. The room was ok and clean however the bathroom cleaning could have been done a little bit better. Decoration on the walls very nice, you can't see many of these in other hotels. There was a kettle in the room, however the tea and coffee were not replenished during our stay. Beds was ok but it was creaking a little bit at night, not very loudly but still.
There was almost no place to store our clothes (no wardrobe available) which was a bit uncomfortable.
Breakfast (and service during breakfast) was very good, we couldn't expect more.
Reception staff was quite ok and helpful, however there was quite a large queue when checking-in, as few buses have just arrived. You can also expect that the lobby is crowded almost anytime as the hotel is quite large.
Very good location - a lot of attractions achievable within walking distance.

Summarizing - I was expecting a bit more for the price. It was more like 3,5 starts rather than 4. Quite a safe choice but nothing more.

Room Tip: That's simple - higher floors - better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart_Camel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morten N, Gæsteansvarlig at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2015

Dear Bart_Camel,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel.
We truly appreciate your comments regarding your stay.

However we are sorry that we didn’t succeed in fulfilling your expectations in terms of a stay in Copenhagen.

I wish you a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,142 - 1,148 of 2,435 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

This hotel did not live up to expectations regarding being a Scandic hotel, which I have good experiences from earlier, and the price for the room.

The visit started poorly with a room with a non-cleaned bathroom. Bed were made, but WC as mentioned not cleaned (very obvious!) and old newspapers left in the room. New room was on the other hand quickly arranged.

New room had clean bathroom, but dust in corners and under bed. Bed lining with spots...

Internet connection did not work in hotelroom. I had to either go down to reception or walking outside in hallway to get connection.

Good parts:
Really good breakfast, end serviceminded staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinLindfors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morten N, Gæsteansvarlig at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2015

Dear MartinLindfors,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel.
We truly appreciate your comments regarding your stay.

However we are sorry that we didn’t succeed in fulfilling your expectations in terms of a stay in Copenhagen.

I wish you a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here for one night prior to beginning a Baltic cruise. The staff here was excellent. There were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the breakfast as well as the bar in the evening. The room was sufficient with nothing bad, but nothing outstanding. We did enjoy looking out on the lake across the street.The hotel location is very good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morten N, Gæsteansvarlig at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2015

Dear Lizbill,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel.
We truly appreciate your comments regarding your stay.

We hope to see you back with us another time.

I wish you a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

A very nice & clean hotel in the center of Copenhagen with great view.Only 5 minutes away from the central train station.Nice lobby bar & good restaurant,sauna,gym & free wireless Internet for everyone

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morten N, Gæsteansvarlig at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2015

Dear Manos T,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel.
We truly appreciate your comments regarding your stay.

We hope to see you back with us another time.

I wish you a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

It's a very good hotel, close downtown,Tivoli, Hard Rock cafe and the train. Beautiful view of the city from the room. It has a good breakfest. The room was big enough for one and it was prety clean. The staff is very attentive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renantassinari06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morten N, Gæsteansvarlig at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2015

Dear Renantassinari06,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel.
We truly appreciate your comments regarding your stay.

We hope to see you back with us another time.

I wish you a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

amazing location, close to train station, near the lake. over 500 rooms so great views from top floors, good service, though queuing up at the reception. staff is helpful, and you can book tickets for tivoli etc there. overall, it is value for money.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank kenstar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morten N, Gæsteansvarlig at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2015

Dear Kenstar2013,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel.
We truly appreciate your comments regarding your stay.

We hope to see you back with us another time.

I wish you a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I would have given the hotel only a 2 star rating but for the very nice breakfast buffet. The room was small and spartan. Towels were thin and there was no conditioner only shampoo. Decor was what I guess is Scandinavian Modern. It was not comfortable or attractive. The bed was ok but that's about all I can say about it. Lobby was not inviting. There were 2 computers there for guest use, but they were abysmally slow. As far as location, it was near the Tivoli and we did walk along a canal to the Rosenburg Palace. Nyhavn was too far to walk. The hotel restaurant was pretty good, but pretty expensive. They overcharged us but we were able to straighten that out with the front desk. Really can't recommend it and would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pesca7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morten N, Gæsteansvarlig at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2015

Dear Pesca7,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel.
We truly appreciate your comments regarding your stay.

However we are sorry that we didn’t succeed in fulfilling your expectations in terms of a stay in Copenhagen.

I wish you a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#24 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,288 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,663 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Scandic Webers
Scandic Webers
#75 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,039 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#36 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,575 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#30 of 117 in Copenhagen
3,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Copenhagen

Address: Vester Soegade 6, Copenhagen 1601, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#31 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: £115 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scandic Copenhagen is located in central Copenhagen, with stunning views over the water and Copenhagen city, and close to attractions such as Copenhagen's Tivoli Gardens.The hotel has recently been through a major refurbishment, which has been completed in June 2012. The hotel has 18 floors and is one of Copenhagen's tallest buildings with a bird's-eye view of the city and the famous lakes of Copenhagen.The new design is modern and trendy - prepare yourself for a journey of adventure - From above. The hotel will show the guest Copenhagen From Above.Scandic Copenhagen is also one of Copenhagen's largest conference centres with facilities including an extensive range of modern AV and IT equipment. Copenhagen attractions are right on your doorstep when you stay at hotel Scandic Copenhagen. Tivoli amusement park, Nyhavn and Stroeget shopping street are all within walking distance of the hotel. When staying with us at Scandic Copenhagen, you can relax with a drink and a light meal in our atmospheric lobby bar with mirrors and contemporary design. You can also stop by our relaxation area and unwind in the sauna or workout in the gym. We offer wireless internet access throughout the whole hotel at no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scandic Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copenhagen Scandic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing