We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location, sparse rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Scandic Copenhagen
Ranked #41 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Level Contributor
134 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Central location, sparse rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I spent 5 nights here for a business meeting and found the hotel to be very adequate for the meeting, but the room accommodations were very spartan. It was one of those trips you were glad you were there by yourself. The room had a table and chair and a regular size bed. However, since the room was for one the comforter was just twin size. Also, the bathroom was very small, however, not out of the ordinary for a European hotel. The breakfast was good and the meals I had at the hotel for lunch were also good. The hotel is centrally located and made it a good location for walking to see many of the local sites.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scalarnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caspar S, General Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Dear Valued Scandic Guest,
Thank you for you feedback regarding Scandic Copenhagen.
We hope you a pleasant stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Have a nice day.
Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    794
    494
    172
    77
See reviews for
540
486
61
565
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed for three nights and found the hotel a good base from which to explore Copenhagen as most attractions are within walking distance. Excellent breakfast with a wide range of options. Rooms reasonably clean and spacious but our room at the back of the hotel on the second floor was quite noisy; a room at the front could possibly avoid the noise of refuse collection in the middle of the night. On the downside, conferences are held here during the week so the bar and reception area can get very busy, however staff are friendly and very helpful. Bike hire is available and an excellent way to see the city. A good standard hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the reservoir.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColletteHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caspar S, General Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Dear Valued Scandic Guest,
Thank you for you feedback regarding Scandic Copenhagen.
We hope you a pleasant stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Have a nice day.
Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Let me first say that we stayed 2 nights at this hotel last week for $395.00 a night and what a disappointment!!

We checked in very early morning and stored our luggage (understandably because there were no available rooms) and immediately after, the hotel lobby was filled with guests, loud, busy and all over the place. The crowds and chaos continued till we left on Sunday.
We toured all over the city and the tourist attractions and got back to the hotel at about 4.00 PM and were told that our bags would be brought up to our room.

So we settled down in the room and shortly after received a call from the bell desk stating that there would be a charge of 50 Kr to bring our bags up to the room or the other option would be for us to come down and carry our bags up. (2 medium sized bags and 2 carry ons all with wheels) What the heck was "that" all about???

The rooms are spacious but extremely bare and less than basic. We were given 2 twin beds and when I requested a single bed for 2, we were told it would be an additional charge above the exorbitant $395.00 a night. I also requested a room with a view and was given a very industrial looking city view. The beds are standard twin beds with a mattress 2" thick which compresses to half its thickness - so you can just imagine the sleep quality!!! The pillow I must say matches the rest of the minimalistic theme. See photos posted. There is no fridge/minibar, tea or coffee service in the room (again for that price) and the large glass windows had cobwebs on the outside which by morning had trapped several gnats. Only one set of drapes meant you had to be in darkness throughout the day and night and as another reviewer mentioned, one overhead light did not work. So either you give up your privacy, or stay in darkness.
The free wi-fi which was quite fast, was a blessing in the midst of all our disappointments.
The bathroom had a stench and although the tub, toilet and sink were clean, the floor had stains and mold on the grout. There is a 1/3rd glass shower screen which doesn't really provide adequate protection from water splashing on the floor which probably is the reason for the stains, but more importantly, they do not provide a bathmat (this is the first hotel I've stayed at that doesn't provide a bathmat). When I requested one from housekeeping, they didn't seem to know what I was referring to and asked me to contact reception!! The extremely thread bare towels looked grey from overuse and once damp, had a peculiar odor to them as well. And BTW you get 2 bath and 2 hand towels only of which you need to sacrifice the 2 hand towels for the floor. Forget about amenities - there is a basic bottle of shampoo, bath gel and hand soap attached to the wall and the huge bonus was A shower cap.
We had 2 very warm days in Copenhagen and I am not sure if the thermostats are pre-set, but the A/C did not seem to cool the room down.

The dining room and breakfast felt like rush hour at a college cafeteria. Again, basic scrambled or boiled eggs, a platter of cold cuts, a small selection of yogurt, cheeses, breads and danish pastries with jams and jelly.

The lobby and breakfast dining areas are characterless, uninviting, and hugely unattractive and because of the high traffic, the common areas and elevators are dirty and poorly maintained.

Thanks Scandic, for making our visit to Copenhagen so miserably unforgettable.

Now tell me - do you think this was worth the price we paid??

The only reason I gave it 2/5 was that it was fairly close to the city center (10 mins walk) and the free wi-fi.
Would I stay here or recommend this hotel?? NEVER - that's for sure!!

Room Tip: DON"T stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayshu01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caspar S, General Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Dear Valued Scandic Guest,
Thank you for you feedback regarding Scandic Copenhagen.
We hope you a pleasant stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Have a nice day.
Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is in a good location , just 5 minutes from the train station , with all the main attractions within walking distance. We had a family room on the 2nd floor with a lake view. The room was clean and spacious. We ate in the restaurant on one of the nights and the food and service was very good. The bar was child friendly and had a nice relaxed atmosphere. A good range of options were served at breakfast. Would definitely stay here again. Only minor point is the cheap towels and not enough provided for a family of 4.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresaink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caspar S, General Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Dear Valued Scandic Guest,
Thank you for you feedback regarding Scandic Copenhagen.
We hope you a pleasant stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Have a nice day.
Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Room was tatty, half of the lights didn't work, safe didn't work, no tea and coffee facilities. Can't get room service after 9pm(?!?!)

Waited 45 mins for my meal in The restaurant and they got it wrong twice, putting tomato sauce on a very burnt burger (never asked me how I wanted it) both times even though I made it clear I had a tomato allergy. In the end I left it without eating it. It takes a special skill to get the same thing wrong twice (and it wasn't busy, there were maybe 8 people in the restaurant) .

Theres nothing near this hotel, no other options for eating apart from a pizza joint down the road. I disagree that you can be expected to walk anywhere from here - its an industrial area and it was 100-odd DKK in a taxi in to the train station.

Copenhagen is lovely but theres got to be lots of better hotels than this - give it a miss.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caspar S, General Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Dear Valued Scandic Guest,
Thank you for you feedback regarding Scandic Copenhagen.
We hope you a pleasant stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Have a nice day.
Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fetsund, Norway
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Nice reception, old elevators, nice rooms with chic furniture. Bed was comfortable. The hotel is on a great spot near everything you want to see in Copenhagen. You can walk to Nyhavn and to the shopping street and Central station (train) if you do not have a lot of luggage.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view - not over the trash dumpsters as I had. (They emtied them at 6 O'Clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fetsund_NorwayGry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caspar S, General Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Dear Valued Scandic Guest,
Thank you for you feedback regarding Scandic Copenhagen.
We hope you a pleasant stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Have a nice day.
Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great hotel, and staff. Easy to get to from the airport whether by train, bus, metro, s train or cab. Walking distance to everything, or easy public transport. Stayed on 14th floor facing the harbour and Sweden, and endlessly entertained by the view, including Tivoli evening fireworks. Room and bathroom comfortable. A bit ugly outside, but very comfortable and customer focused inside.

Room Tip: Higher floors (lifts excellent) and facing the harbours and Sweden, great fun spotting where you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank El S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caspar S, General Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Dear Valued Scandic Guest,
Thank you for you feedback regarding Scandic Copenhagen.
We hope you a pleasant stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Have a nice day.
Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#46 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#4 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#34 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,278 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hebron
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hebron
#17 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Scandic Webers
Scandic Webers
#56 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Copenhagen

Property: Scandic Copenhagen
Address: Vester Soegade 6, Copenhagen 1601, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#31 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scandic Copenhagen is located in central Copenhagen, with stunning views over the water and Copenhagen city, and close to attractions such as Copenhagen's Tivoli Gardens.The hotel has recently been through a major refurbishment, which has been completed in June 2012. The hotel has 18 floors and is one of Copenhagen's tallest buildings with a bird's-eye view of the city and the famous lakes of Copenhagen.The new design is modern and trendy - prepare yourself for a journey of adventure - From above. The hotel will show the guest Copenhagen From Above.Scandic Copenhagen is also one of Copenhagen's largest conference centres with facilities including an extensive range of modern AV and IT equipment. Copenhagen attractions are right on your doorstep when you stay at hotel Scandic Copenhagen. Tivoli amusement park, Nyhavn and Stroeget shopping street are all within walking distance of the hotel. When staying with us at Scandic Copenhagen, you can relax with a drink and a light meal in our atmospheric lobby bar with mirrors and contemporary design. You can also stop by our relaxation area and unwind in the sauna or workout in the gym. We offer wireless internet access throughout the whole hotel at no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Scandic Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copenhagen Scandic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing