We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy, but very comfortable hotel, excellent breakfast food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Scandic Copenhagen
Ranked #41 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Busy, but very comfortable hotel, excellent breakfast food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was my 3rd visit to this hotel over 2 years. I like its central location, as it is within walking distance of most attractions including Tivoli Gardens and the main railway station.
The single rooms are a bit on the small side, although most comfortable. The bathrooms still only have two towels and no bathmat, for some unknown reason, but I still recommend this hotel which offers an excellent buffet breakfast, including fresh fruit and non-gluten bread.
Sig, Traveller from Australia.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caspar S, General Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear Sig C,

Thank you for your feedback regarding Scandic Copenhagen. We are thrilled to hear that you recommend us and that you have stayed with us 3 times already.
We really appreciate your business and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Have a nice day.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    794
    495
    172
    77
See reviews for
540
486
61
565
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed 2 nights at the Scandic Copenhagen. My wife sourced a 25% discount code online that was able to used on the Scandic Hotel website. I have stayed there before on business and wanted to treat the family.

The best bits were:-
- The location, 5 minutes walk to Tivola and Central Station and yet so peaceful.
- The hotel is really modern, almost IKEA style, but really well done.
- Staff were really nice. They spoke excellent English and nothing was too much trouble.
- Breakfast was excellent, some people spent half the morning enjoying breakfast.

If you had to pick fault, you could say the rooms were small particularly when a family of 4 shared the same room, but this is central Copenhagen and based on my experience, the rooms were par for the course.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londonderry-Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caspar S, General Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear Londonderry-Boy,

Thank you very much for your great feedback regarding Scnadic Copenhagen.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us with your family.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here prior to Baltic cruise. Quite close to city center. Very walkable. Room was Very comfortable room,and clean. nice Scandinavian decor. Not fancy, but more than adequate. Wifi worked well. We found front desk to be very accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank algedneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caspar S, General Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear Algedneil,

Thank you very much for your great feedback regarding Scandic Copenhagen.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here as part of a pre-cruise booking. I cannot understand how this hotel receives a 4 star rating. It is probably the worst hotel we have stayed at. The bathroom did not look as though it had been cleaned before we arrived and it definitely was not cleaned during our stay. There was only an open shelf for clothes and no closet, just a clothes rack with a few hangers. We had twin beds that contained a thin mattress on a wooden platform. Most uncomfortable! The cushion on the window seat was so dirty, I didn't dare sit on it. One positive - good breakfast with many options.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 364beckyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caspar S, General Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear 364beckyh,

Thank you for your feedback regarding Scandic Copenhagen.
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
We hope that you will give us another chance in the future.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

When we first checked in, we were given the wrong type of room. When I went downstairs to fix the problem, the girl at the desk, which i will not name, spoke to me in an arrogant tone like i was ruining her day. She finally fixed the problem after saying she was going to have to charge me more. I refused to pay and she accepted. As i walked away she told me that i cant expect to come to a hotel and have them "upgrade" me and not pay. I was extremely appalled. I had booked a room with two beds and they gave me one king. How was this asking for an upgrade??? Later that night, someone was having a party until 4 am which kept us up. the noise was unbearable. The hotel staff did absolutely nothing about it.


To talk more about the hotel itself, you don't get what you think you paid for. The bed is not a real bed. its a piece of "foam" on a wooden frame. The towels are dirty and the room is not clean. I called for new towels as mine had brown spots on them and it never came. i had to call again and finally they showed up 40 minutes later.

Not a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caspar S, General Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear Brandon514,

Thank you for your feedback regarding Scandic Copenhagen. I am sorry to hear you experienced problems when you stayed with us.
I will address your concerns and also check up on the housekeeping issues you have mentioned.
Have a nice day.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

A friend and myself booked a short break to the city. Hotel very big and modern, although found the decor rather disappointing in a country that prides itself on its designs.
However, room overlooked the water, brilliant central location. 5 mins to the station and hop n and off buses. Tivoli Gardens 5 mins. Breakfast a bit of a free for all, but choices were amazing and catered for all tastes. The crispy bacon lovely, scrambled eggs very good.
Beds made but no more cleaning was done during the duration of our stay.
No drawers to put anything in and very short of hanging space. Definitely wouldnt want to stay any longer than 3 nights as nowhere to put your clothes. However, hairdryer and iron and safe in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for river view. We were on the 14th floor and there is a good lift service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caspar S, General Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear Jill G,

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding Scandic Copenhagen.
None of the rooms have actual closets as we offer an open hanging environment to maximise space in the rooms.
I understand your point in regards to space and I appreciate your comments.
I want to thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Pro: good location near train station and city center on foot, good breakfast, very spacious and clean room ( double spaced like suite ) with excellent view on the lake, modern design, many facilities
Con: No professional but friendly stuff,little difficult to sleep because there is too much light in the room during the night

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liberpit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caspar S, General Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear Liberpit,

Thank you for your constrcutive feedback about Scandic Copenhagen.
I will investigate the issue with the light in the rooms during the night as we might have to review our curtains.
Thank you and have a nice day.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#46 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#4 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hebron
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hebron
#17 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#35 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,281 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Scandic Webers
Scandic Webers
#56 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Copenhagen

Property: Scandic Copenhagen
Address: Vester Soegade 6, Copenhagen 1601, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#31 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scandic Copenhagen is located in central Copenhagen, with stunning views over the water and Copenhagen city, and close to attractions such as Copenhagen's Tivoli Gardens.The hotel has recently been through a major refurbishment, which has been completed in June 2012. The hotel has 18 floors and is one of Copenhagen's tallest buildings with a bird's-eye view of the city and the famous lakes of Copenhagen.The new design is modern and trendy - prepare yourself for a journey of adventure - From above. The hotel will show the guest Copenhagen From Above.Scandic Copenhagen is also one of Copenhagen's largest conference centres with facilities including an extensive range of modern AV and IT equipment. Copenhagen attractions are right on your doorstep when you stay at hotel Scandic Copenhagen. Tivoli amusement park, Nyhavn and Stroeget shopping street are all within walking distance of the hotel. When staying with us at Scandic Copenhagen, you can relax with a drink and a light meal in our atmospheric lobby bar with mirrors and contemporary design. You can also stop by our relaxation area and unwind in the sauna or workout in the gym. We offer wireless internet access throughout the whole hotel at no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Scandic Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copenhagen Scandic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing