We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional but impersonal”
Review of Scandic Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scandic Copenhagen
Ranked #40 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Divonne
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Functional but impersonal”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Very big, functional but impersonal hotel. We chose it because it is near the station and near Tivoli.
Modern room with no cupboard, no drawers only a few hangers, small for a family. Disappointed because the family rooms are only on the lower floors.
Staff very helpful.
Good buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caspar S, General Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Pamou,

Thank you for your feedback regarding Scandic Copenhagen. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the service and the breakfast.
The hotel is a big operation and it can be overwhelming at times with lots of people everywhere, but We always try to look after our guests to make sure they feel at home, when staying with us.
We hope to see you and your family again soon.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    918
    560
    205
    84
See reviews for
641
572
70
624
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The best about the hotel is the convenient location close to the Central Station, the City Hall Square and The Tivoli Gardens. The rooms have no mini-bar or drawers for your clothes. However, the rooms are clean and bright with a good view over the city from the higher floors, and there are an iron and ironing board available in the room. The breakfast room is big and busy, but the flow is good and the breakfast buffet plentiful,

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EagerBeaver_37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caspar S, General Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear EagerBeaver_37,

Thank you very much for your recent feedback regarding Scandic Copenhagen.
We don´t offer mini bars in any of our hotels but we have a shop located in all the hotels that sells mini bar items at very reasonable prices.
We hope to see you again soon and that you will stay with us next time you visit wonderful Copenhagen.
Have a nice day.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This hotel was in a great location but the housekeeping left a lot to be desired. We stayed 5 nights and our floor wasn't vacumed or swept for the entire stay. We had to ask for clean towels despite leaving the used ones in the bath tub. The breakfast was great, staff were friendly, just the housekeeping let them down..
The rooms could do with a bar fridge and more hanging space.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a walk in shower, we had one with the shower in the bath but we did stay one nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harves46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caspar S, General Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Harves46,

Thank you for your feedback regarding Scandic Copenhagen.
I am sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay do to lack of housekeeping. I will address this ASAP with the team.
We hope to see you again next time when you are in Copenhagen. Should you need anything at all then please do not hesitate to contact us directly at the hotel.
Have a nice day.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2014

stayed 1 night for business. I was unimpressed when I saw the room. Very basic and impersonal atmosphere especially thinking it is over 200 Euro per night (my company pays for it)...good location. I had never seen a 4 star hotel with just soap on the wall and nothing else....

  • Stayed September 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Marco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caspar S, General Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Marko R,

Thank you for your feedback regarding Scandic Copenhagen. Design and interior is not something that everyone can agree on all the time. I am sad to hear that you compare us with a Travlodge hotel as they are far from what we offer our guests. Our soap dispensers are very simple yet cool with our high quality product that we offer all our guests around all the Scandic hotels in Europe.
It is different but something we are proud off.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

ı highly recommend this hotel for being very central and providing good breakfast.The lake infront of the hotel makes a very positive start to the day.Safe location and very green .wifi works very well.Once you are connected next time you do not waste time to connect it happens automaticly.They have bycles to explore the area.

Room Tip: lake side is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yavuzIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caspar S, General Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Yavuszlstanbul,

Thank you so much for your great feedback about Scandic Copenhagen.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

It's about 3 blocks away from train central station. Pretty close to Tivoli garden too.

The room is pretty small. With 2 luggage and 2 carryons in the room, you can hardly walk anymore. The AC didn't seem to be cooling off the room, just blowing air. The main reason I chose this hotel was because it has AC. Many hotels in Copenhagen city center do not come with AC. No refrigerator. No drawer. Few hangers.

Get a nice view of the river. Buffet breakfast is very good.

Room Tip: There are so many Scandic hotels in Copenhagen city center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World Passport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caspar S, General Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear World Passport,

Thank you for your feedback regarding Scandic Copenhagen. We have many room types in the hotel and I can see you were in the smaller type where things can get a bit cramped. You can see the different room types on our website and then pick from there to get the perfect one for your next stay.
We hope you enjoyed your stay none the less as we really appreciate your business and we hope to see you again sometime soon.
Have a nice day.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I have never seen so many spider and spider nets in a hotel before. Above my bed was a big one, and in the gym there were several.

Perhaps it is time for some cleaning???

Otherwise it is not a bad hotel and the location is convenient, with cozy Fredriksberg next door.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Resmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caspar S, General Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Resmama,

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding Scandic Copenhagen.
I can assure that we are cleaning the hotel thoroughly daily and that we remove insects as we come across them. I will ask housekeeping to keep an extra eye out for this going forward.
We hope to see you again with no spiders in sight as we would love to see you again.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#21 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,156 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#35 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,451 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#48 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#30 of 117 in Copenhagen
3,085 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Amager
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Copenhagen

Property: Scandic Copenhagen
Address: Vester Soegade 6, Copenhagen 1601, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#31 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scandic Copenhagen is located in central Copenhagen, with stunning views over the water and Copenhagen city, and close to attractions such as Copenhagen's Tivoli Gardens.The hotel has recently been through a major refurbishment, which has been completed in June 2012. The hotel has 18 floors and is one of Copenhagen's tallest buildings with a bird's-eye view of the city and the famous lakes of Copenhagen.The new design is modern and trendy - prepare yourself for a journey of adventure - From above. The hotel will show the guest Copenhagen From Above.Scandic Copenhagen is also one of Copenhagen's largest conference centres with facilities including an extensive range of modern AV and IT equipment. Copenhagen attractions are right on your doorstep when you stay at hotel Scandic Copenhagen. Tivoli amusement park, Nyhavn and Stroeget shopping street are all within walking distance of the hotel. When staying with us at Scandic Copenhagen, you can relax with a drink and a light meal in our atmospheric lobby bar with mirrors and contemporary design. You can also stop by our relaxation area and unwind in the sauna or workout in the gym. We offer wireless internet access throughout the whole hotel at no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copenhagen Scandic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing