We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for 3 night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Annex Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Annex Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good for 3 night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Hotel is in few minutes walk from Central Train Station & Tivoli Park. Location is very good, although people say it's a prostitute area, haven't seen any of them while staying. Didn't use public transport, nor taxis. Walked to main attractions by foot. About 20 min to Nyhavn, National Museum. Reception is very friendly, this is the best reception stuff I have ever seen. Great thanks to Korean Girl at reception. She smiles all the time and really enjoys what she is doing. Rooms are clean but furniture is from 70's. But its OK if you plan to stay for a short period of time. Breakfast is really good and the service is great. If you plan to stay few days in Copenhagen, Absalon will be a value to money hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that are close to showers and toilets
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaNar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    283
    121
    39
    16
See reviews for
60
238
69
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed here one night on our way from Stockholm to Berlin and had a really good time. Just a few minutes walk from central station and great restaurants nearby. We had dinner at a delicious sushi place called Bento that is just outside the hotel doors. The free buffet breakfast was amazing with a great selection of cereal, hot and cold drinks, nice cheese and cold cuts, vegetables and salads, fruit, and danishes. The only criticism is that the room decor looked like it had not been updated since the 1960s, although the shower and bedding were excellent. Also if you are sensitive to noise, you might be bothered with a room close to the street. Did not really bother us.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foliasmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed at the Absalon Annex Hotel for two nights in a room with two single beds and shared bathroom and no breakfast included, paying £60 per night for two people. Compared to other available options this seemed good value for the location in an expensive city.

First impressions of the hotel are really positive as the reception is very modern with appealing décor. However, the annex is located in an adjacent building attached to the hotel which is more run-down and old fashioned with small corridors and small rooms, felt more like a hostel. The room we stayed in was really tiny with old furniture, two small single beds with a TV and private sink but very clean, we were hardly in the room so the size didn’t bother us but may be irritating for longer stay and not suitable if you have lots of luggage. The room was near the bathroom but we didn’t hear any noise from the corridors, it was really quiet and we slept well. The shared bathroom and toilet was very clean with a powerful shower, as the hotel was quiet we never had to wait.

The location of the hotel is ideal for the train station and getting to and from the airport and for visiting Tivoli Garden theme park and the start of Stroget Street which is a five minute walk through the train station. The little mermaid statue is around an hour walk and thirty minutes to Nyhavn canal waterfront. We did see a few prostitutes hanging around near hotel but no-one bothered us and I never felt unsafe, even when walking back in the evening.

The reception was always busy which meant waiting but all staff were very friendly and helpful, they went out of their way to help us print our boarding passes and let us use computer facilities at a nearby sister hotel free of charge. You can also store luggage for in a locked room for as long as needed.

Overall, I would consider staying here again (if the price was comparable to other options) due to the proximity to the station and ease in reaching nearby attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireLouEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

First of all i have to say, and it´s important, that i stayed at the Absalon Annex Hotel, not the real hotel "Ansalon hotel" so this review is about the Annex nothing else. And you get what you pay for, and here my goal was low price. But even with that in mind the Annex was... How shall i put it... Not up to what i expected.
It´s location are great, close to everything (inlcuding the red light district wich you can´t avoid staying here) so that was fine. The staff at the reception are worth FIVE as a grade, they are fantastic in every meaning of the word "Service".

But the room.... The shower, shared on the floor, one was working one not. You can hear everything from the rooms around, above and under. And on my last morning a man talked on the phone outside the room and you could hear everything. Im not sure his company wanted him to share all this information with the world but i know what company im not going to buy shares in.
If you backpack and need a room for a night or two, ok, you can stay here, also if you travel to Copenhagen by chance and are a group of friends.. stay without to much of a problem but for a vacation, with kids check in to the real hotel not the Annex.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjoerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newton abbot
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

For the price we paid, it was really good. We booked a double room, the room had two single bed put together with clean sheets. There was a washing basin and towels provided. TV was right in front of you from your beds. There was a small table with two chairs as well as a small wardrobe. We took a travel kettle for the first time, and it was very useful. I think the water is hard, because the kettle created limescale. There are supermarkets in walking distance, big one, Fortex, and small Nettos x 2 and a Lidle. We didn't try breakfast as we were told it was around 125DKK. pp. The hotel is very near to the train station, and other attractions. You can walk to anywhere in major sites, including Carlsberg brewery. People in the hotel is very nice, too. Everyone speaks fluent English everywhere. Shared shower room is fine, felt like it had Scandinavian touch to it, and unlike some backpackers, it was clean, too. The only thing to consider is to take ear plugs or for my case, I used cotton balls to prevent noise disturbing my sleep. We stayed over the Easter weekend and I think there were some young Swedes who came for booze weekend away and they got really loud. I didn't hear too much but my husband said they were told off by the hotel staff to keep their noise level down. The walls are thin between rooms but I didn't have too much trouble sleeping. Above all, it was clean and warm all the time!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mapNewtonAbbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

The location is excellent, just few minutes from the central station. Staff is nice and helpful. I stayed in the double bed room for 2 nights. The wall is thin so it's a little bit hard to sleep well if there is someone who come back to the hostel and talk. However, the toilette and shower room is clean and with shampoo offered. The buffet breakfast is also good.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weichunlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

We chose the Annex for a balance between price and location, it was very cheap considering it's close location to the Train station and the Main shopping streets, we walked our bags from the station. Be warned if you are expecting a hotel you will be disappointed, if you expect a hostel you will be pleasantly suprised. Toilets and showers are shared not ensuite but this was made clear when we booked and they were what we expected. We had a twin room, decor is old low quality, view from the window was of other parts of the building from our window (room 423) but plenty of light. There was a TV which we never used but would have preferred to have a kettle. Beds were soft and duvets thin, heating was on but the radiator was only warm at the bottom. The shared toilet was okay although one had a few smears of blood there were 4 to choose from near our room and the others were clean, plenty of spare loo roll. Showers had good temperature and pressure and each had the choice of either a shower head you could manipulate or a disk shower fixed above. Both had hot water but preferred the pressure in the shower head, Be warned I did spot a little mould in the showers at the top and behind the doors but it was not extreme and overall they were clean, take a wash bag wish a hook though as all parts of the shower room bar the hooks on the back of the door got wet including my wash bag. Corridors are quite odd with a central wall down the middle, dark ceilings and walls were thin and noise travelled easily, not so good for light sleepers. We only used the annex as a sounding board to explore the city and for this purpose it was perfect, a short walk to the trainstation for day trips and airport and just a bit further to the city centre with fresh Danish pastry breakfasts and great hospitality. Staff were very polite but would have been nice to know you can hire bikes as we only found this out when we checked out and another guest was informed. I would certainly recommend this hotel if you intend to be out and about all day and sleep well.

Room Tip: We were right by the toilets which was handy not to go for long walks down corridors at night when y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mermaid690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#28 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#50 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#7 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,143 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Generator Hostel Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annex Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annex Copenhagen

Property: Annex Copenhagen
Address: Helgolandsgade 15, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Annex Copenhagen 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Vesterbro location by Meatpacking Area (restaurants, night clubs and galleries), Central Train Station and major attractions. Renovated 2014, all new incl. Samsung LED TV, REN soap and shampoo. Common Living Room with kichenette. Bathrooms and showers are in the hallway. Part of Absalon Hotel - Feel free to use facilities: Bar, Breakfast, Laundry, Bike rental etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Annex Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absalon Annex Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing