We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easyjet holiday package customers beware - school kids from hell could be next door.”
Review of Annex Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Annex Copenhagen
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Easyjet holiday package customers beware - school kids from hell could be next door.”
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel was the worst I have ever stayed in as far as service and quality of room.
I had booked this city break with Easyjet as I had used them before for a trip in March and was most impressed. The main advert you get is a three star hotel yet in reality I got a one star facility that was poor in quality and service.
The room was basic yet clean. All beds were basic yet fine and the facilities were all in working order.
However, I took issue with the constantly shouting, running around and noise from neighbouring rooms and corridors. Schoolchildren were staying next to us and we could not relax from the constant dramas between students and teachers on both nights we stayed.
We tried raising this with reception yet it meant nothing in the end as we still had to endure the riotous environment around us. We bought industrial earplugs but people should know that booking her runs the risk of you sharing with noisy school kids!
The food in the breakfast was plentiful and decent quality yet that was the only decent thing about the place.
Even on arrival there was a drama about us checking in and the reception seems to casual and not professional which was a shame.
I would not recommend even for one night and if I do go to Copenhagen again will be more careful about the star grading for any accommodation I choose.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirkyt1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    291
    126
    40
    16
See reviews for
63
244
73
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The hotel is completely worn out and has the most uncomfortable beds I have ever slept on.

Room was noisy. Shared facilities are old and the state of the place in general is very questionable.

Said that, it was the cheapest place in Copenhagen at the time, so I guess I got what I paid for. Location is very good.

Next time I am spending a bit more money for a better place. The saving was not worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FabioMayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
İstanbul, Türkiye
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Pluses;
The hotel was reasonably priced in Copenhagen standarts and perfectly located right behind the cEntral station. All the city attractions are within 3-4 km from the hotel. If u are keen to walk you can reach almost every must see places such as Norrebro, Christania, Nyhavn from the Absalon Hotel. If you need just basic things like a clean place to stay for city trip u get what u need. If you need some extra u might not like this place. Hotel staff were very polite and tend to answer ur questions. Breakfast was ALSO pretty good for a budget Hotel.

Minuses;
I stayed in a single room which was really small. If u have more than 1 bag you might not be able to fit in. Besides bed was very short. Someone over 1.85cm would probably not feel comfortable to sleep on it . It's easy to hear noise outside the room. When a group of people walk pass your room their noise can interupt ur sleep. Allthough the room has its own toilet, shower is located outside the room and it's shared but it's kept very clean and comfortable.

Overall as a single budget traveller i was very satisfied with my stay in Absalon Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blitzistanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I am sometimes jealous of other reviewers of places like this- if you find somewhere like the Absalon Annex so horrific, you must regularly stay in places much nicer than those I do, as I found this place to be fine. Travelling on a budget, can't complain at all.

Best way to sum this place up is as a hostel with rooms for 1-3 people, rather than dorms. So yes, shared bathrooms, shared showers (clean, though nowhere to put a towel or your clothes to keep them dry when showering!), dated decor and beds, little luxury. Front-facing rooms were fairly noisy. The worst thing was the bes itself, somewhat of a problem in a hotel- uncomfortable matress and a really bad pillow, meaning a sleepless night all round the first night we were there.

But on the plus side: great location- don't let the 'red light' thing scare you, I didn't know it was until I got back (wait til you see the one in Frankfurt...); nice breakfast, very helpful staff, convenient for most of Copenhagen, and certainly for Tivoli gardens and the station. We stayed for 5 nights and had no problems at all.

So (like so many places I stay), not a place to bring your partner for a wonderful and romantic break. It is dated, it is institutional, it is very much a hostel with private rooms instead of dorms. But it serves a purpose- if you want greater luxury and are able to pay, the Absalon next doors seems to fit the bill whilst still enjoying the same locational benefits. But if you just want somewhere cheap (for Copenhagen, anyway), convenient and clean to stay for a few nights- particularly if you're planning to spend the majority of the day away from the hotel- don't worry too much about booking into the Absalon Annex.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millenniumperegrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
649 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Absalon is a nice hotel. I stayed there for the second time already. First of all, I should note a good location and price / quality ratio. The hotel is very easy to find. Located close to the station and its sign with large letters is visible from a far, even in the December dusk. The hotel's location is also convenient for exploring the city and its major attractions. I have to say that the hotel itself, rather its budget part, where I stayed, is very simple. The room and its decoration are very modest, only the most necessary furniture with narrow small beds and a sink are in the room. Toilet and shower are in corridor. However, despite its simplicity, everything was clean and maintained in order, and a delicious and hearty breakfast atoned for all the inconvenience. At breakfast, I noted first of all a delicious sweet herring and unusual liver paste, such I have not seen in other trips, as well as a large selection of buns and breads. It is worth noting, however, that in my previous trip here, there was a coffee machine in hotel lobby which the last time was replaced by another vending machine and hot drinks were already not for free.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Azad690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stated in this room for two hours. We slept in the the room after travelling for an hour or so then woke up and went for a wonder, the tiny corridors and bathroom with an abandoned hospital vibe. We decided to venture out into the city.
The hotel is in the red light district

After wondering the city for hours and city in reception we admitted neither of us wanted to go back to the room dubbed 'the room of doom'

we then decided to pay £65.00 quid and move over to the absalon hotel.....best £65.00 i've ever spent!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drsuess2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Hotel is in few minutes walk from Central Train Station & Tivoli Park. Location is very good, although people say it's a prostitute area, haven't seen any of them while staying. Didn't use public transport, nor taxis. Walked to main attractions by foot. About 20 min to Nyhavn, National Museum. Reception is very friendly, this is the best reception stuff I have ever seen. Great thanks to Korean Girl at reception. She smiles all the time and really enjoys what she is doing. Rooms are clean but furniture is from 70's. But its OK if you plan to stay for a short period of time. Breakfast is really good and the service is great. If you plan to stay few days in Copenhagen, Absalon will be a value to money hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that are close to showers and toilets
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaNar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,823 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#52 of 116 in Copenhagen
978 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#26 of 116 in Copenhagen
887 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Generator Hostel Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annex Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annex Copenhagen

Property: Annex Copenhagen
Address: Helgolandsgade 15, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Annex Copenhagen 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Vesterbro location by Meatpacking Area (restaurants, night clubs and galleries), Central Train Station and major attractions. Renovated 2014, all new incl. Samsung LED TV, REN soap and shampoo. Common Living Room with kichenette. Bathrooms and showers are in the hallway. Part of Absalon Hotel - Feel free to use facilities: Bar, Breakfast, Laundry, Bike rental etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Annex Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absalon Annex Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing