We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best inexpensive accomodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Annex Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Annex Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best inexpensive accomodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed here with my sister for 3 days. The staff were extremely helpful. We were going to stay in the hostel section but found it too small and didn't like the share bathrooms...we upgraded to an ensuite and it was great for very little extra $$. The room was basic but comfortable with ensuite and tea/coffee factilities & free wifi. Breakfast was included and was fantastic!

Room Tip: would recommend upgrading to ensuite room for better comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PixiePam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    283
    121
    38
    14
See reviews for
60
236
69
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Absalon Annex was the best value for money option for us at time of booking, for close proximity to the city centre (expensive in general but good for Copenhagen). We knew not to expect luxury accommodation as all online information makes it clear that this is a ‘budget alternative’ and is not part of the main 3 star hotel. If you want 3 star standards, pay for a room in the adjoining hotel. Otherwise, you should be satisfied with the perfectly adequate facilities that the annex has to offer.

We booked via a third party website but the hotel staff were quick to assist when I emailed them direct to enquire about paying for a bottle of Prosecco to be put into our room. They responded promptly to emails and even followed up on our day of arrival to ask when we would be checking in. The bottle of Prosecco was ready and waiting for us when we arrived, chilled with two glasses.

The hotel building is nice from the outside, large and easy to find, although they should probably do away with the tacky ‘Annex’ sign. Reception is within the main hotel entrance and we were given clear directions to our room (accessible via elevators in the main foyer) and assistance with maps / things to see etc when we arrived. Our double room was nicer than we expected, must have been recently refurbished as they no longer resemble pictures from old Trip Advisor reviews and booking websites, including the hotel’s own website which needs to be updated. Quirky, modern and brightly coloured decor, white bed linen and flat screen TV, along with a small desk & stool, hand basin / mirror area and rail for hanging clothes. Our room was on a corner of the building with tall window overlooking a small courtyard area, letting in plenty of light. The free wifi was also good.

The hotel seemed quite busy during our stay but we had no problems with use of the shared toilet and shower facilities, all of which were very clean and the shower rooms offered free shower gel. We didn’t have any problems with noise from other guests during our stay and had a comfortable nights sleep. Maybe we just got lucky and were allocated a room in a quieter part...

Breakfast was served in the main hotel but we were late down and there didn’t seem to be much left. No hot options available, only cereals, bread, cold meats and fruit etc. Tea and coffee was not offered either and there was no visible ‘self-serve’ area for this which was a bit disappointing.

One other thing to note is the reference to ‘red light district’ within other reviews. We didn’t find this to be the case at all – at no point did we encounter any known prostitutes, drug dealers, street fights or homeless people, nor did we feel unsafe walking about at night. We did see a couple of sex shops but this is quite a common thing in European cities and is nothing to be concerned about - just walk on by. The location is ideal for the nearby train station, only a 5 minute walk away next to Tivilo Gardens, and a lot of main attractions are within 10 – 15 minutes walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is basically a hostel-style division of a fairly nice hotel a few minutes' walk from Copenhagen train station. The room was very... funky, with bright neon colours (e.g. orange desk), and the corridors of the annex were all black with big colourful doors!

The showers and bathrooms were fine, perfectly clean. My favourite thing about this place though was that you can freely join in on the hotel's big breakfast buffet which had a great selection of pastries, cereal, fruit, and fantastic Danish rye bread.

Only downside to this place is that it is (somehow) located in a 'red light district'. There are sex shops and a "spunk bar" (I have no idea what this means) in the immediate vicinity and we saw a couple of prostitutes on street corners, so be prepared if you choose to go here.

There's also free wifi and the hotel is conveniently located, you can walk to the best parts of Copenhagen in a matter of minutes. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SavouryJesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

This is my second stay at Absalon Hotel Annex and my second review. As my first review read, its still a decent place to stay on the cheap in Copenhagen. The front desk,again, was always helpful and friendly.

The public or common facilities in Annex were always well kept and never had a problem accessing a toliet or shower. A sink is available for brushing teeth, etc in each room of Annex.

Rooms are quite small and plain but my reason for being in Copenhagen was not to hangout in the room. Rooms where generally clean but a bit run-down due to age. Mattress not the greatest but sufficed. Breakfast in morning had good selection. Another thing I liked about hotel was the ability to rent a bike on premises which, if daring, is a great experience to try in Copenhagen.

Overall, will stay again next time I plan a visit to Copenhagen.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing courtyard so you can keep window open to let air in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjwb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Clean rooms, great showers, nice beds, always clean towels but above all very friendly staff. You feel welcome here. Do not expect luxury and a large TV but a pleasant base from which to explore the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Noisy neighbourhood, thin walls and a stained carpet. Also found a used q-tip on the floor. No aircondition, and too hot in the summer to shut the window. Couldn't sleep at all. That said, the service is great as well as the free breakfast and wi-fi. You get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the backyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evafant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Small, but well designed, brightly colored room in the shared-bathroom part of the Absalon hotel (Accessible from reception via elevator, so you don't have to go outside). The shared facilities were kind of cramped, but there were plenty of them for the number of rooms. Window faced inner courtyard (shared with another hotel), so quiet sleep even with windows open (no A/C). Breakfast buffet accomodated Danish, Continental and American tastes. Good coffee. Very helpful staff. Tickets for Tivoli Gardens available from the desk at cost. Locked room for left luggage. About a ten minute walk from the train station. About a five minute walk to a trendy dining area of Copenhagen (Meatpacking district). The old (rapidly diminishing) red light district is around the corner, but the area is lively at night with all sorts of people and never feels unsafe. Lots of bus tour groups seem to use this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gewurztraminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#4 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#29 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#51 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
#30 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annex Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annex Copenhagen

Property: Annex Copenhagen
Address: Helgolandsgade 15, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Annex Copenhagen 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Vesterbro location by Meatpacking Area (restaurants, night clubs and galleries), Central Train Station and major attractions. Renovated 2014, all new incl. Samsung LED TV, REN soap and shampoo. Common Living Room with kichenette. Bathrooms and showers are in the hallway. Part of Absalon Hotel - Feel free to use facilities: Bar, Breakfast, Laundry, Bike rental etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Annex Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absalon Annex Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing