We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served its purpose”
Review of Annex Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Annex Copenhagen
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The reasons we stayed in Absalon Annex was it was more affordable and it was close to the central train station. Tivoli Gardens, Town Hall Square, and city center were within walking distance. Copenhagen was not a cheap place to visit and we wanted to save a little bit on accommodation. We were not expecting much, but we were satisfied with our choice of this property.

We originally booked a room with two single beds, but the friendly guy at reception offered to check us in early if we agreed to use a double room that was already available, Of course we took his offer. The size of the room was adequate for me and my daughter. It was relatively clean, with really loud paint colors to accentuate the interior. There was a sink, a new LED TV with very few channels to watch, a heater, and a small desk. There was no A/C, just windows, but this did not bother us since the weather when we were there was unusually cold. It could be an issue had we stayed there during hot summer days.

The communal toilets and showers were no problem at all. We did not encounter a single instance when either were fully occupied and unavailable for our use.

The only issue I had with our stay here was the presence of some undesirable people near the hotel. I just made it a point not to go out at night to avoid any potential trouble.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banzai0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

My room was on the fifth floor but the shared WC and shower was only on the fourth floor, no indication in the booking that this was the situation. The room was very small and without TV ( was mentioned in the booking). Only the cleanless of the room was very good and the breakfast super.

Room Tip: no air-condition, a lot of noise from outside, no radio/clock radio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Clara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Nurşen C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The best thing about this hostel was the location- literally a 3 minute walk from the train station and a 5 minute walk from Tivoli Gardens...maybe 10-15 from the city center. The room itself was fine and seemed to have been recently updated. The only issue was the shared bathrooms...they were kind of far from our room which was a bit tricky in a half-daze in the middle of the night. Otherwise, though, a nice hotel with friendly staff.

Oh- you do get access to free wifi, but it is really slow...and their computer doesn't work.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytraveler2948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

sTAYED AT THIS HOTEL FOR EUROVISION WEEKEND AND I MISS SAY I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS ABSALON ANNEX.
2minute walk to central station
5minute walk to all the shops
very central to everything to be honest .

rooms clean
communal shower were clean
people working at reception were super friendly
free wifi (always a plus)

only thing negative i would say is that at night time just have your witts about yourself .
lots of prostitutes around and guys offering drugs ,

but all and all
id recommend absalon annex

Room Tip: just at night time have your witts about yourself and probably best not to wonder off alone at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed here in late April 2014. I was a little nervous about the accommodation but on arrival was pleasantly surprised.
I stayed in the brightly decorated annex, in a small but adequate room. The accommodation is spotless, very comfortable and the shared facilities well maintained. One small niggle would be the pillows are not great quality.
I stayed on a B&B basis and this was a really great start to the day with plenty of choice for everyone!
There is wifi in this hotel but the signal isn't too great in the annex but is you sign up to The Cloud you can get receive free wifi access here.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and all in all I had no complaints!
It is only two blocks from the train station and a ten minute walk to the town hall, five minutes to Tivoli gardens and a good half hour to NyHavn, which is a great walk through the shopping district with plenty of bars and places to eat.
A great place to stay on a budget, as believe me you need every single spare penny in Copenhagen... it is not cheap!

Room Tip: Try and stay in the refurbished rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Little_Me_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Just a few steps from the main station and the Tivoli. It's a good starting point. Good variety at breakfast. Good wi-fi. Collourful and young deco room. Don't know if all the hotel rooms are that small but ours must be the smallest room in the world. The external/shared bathrooms too small also. We get the sense that the hotel has a million rooms so they had to be really small! It's located in a doubtful neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanacnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,034 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,548 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#54 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
#38 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annex Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annex Copenhagen

Address: Helgolandsgade 15, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Copenhagen
Price Range: £61 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Annex Copenhagen 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Vesterbro location by Meatpacking Area (restaurants, night clubs and galleries), Central Train Station and major attractions. Renovated 2014, all new incl. Samsung LED TV, REN soap and shampoo. Common Living Room with kichenette. Bathrooms and showers are in the hallway. Part of Absalon Hotel - Feel free to use facilities: Bar, Breakfast, Laundry, Bike rental etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Annex Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absalon Annex Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing