We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfy”
Review of Annex Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Annex Copenhagen
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Clean and comfy”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Absalon Annex is a great no frills hotel with shared bathroom facilities. It has very modern bright colored rooms. The staff at reception is very helpful. The hotel is very close to the train station a 3 minute walk. There is a 7/11 down the street as well to get everything you might need. A night the area becomes very colorful with gentleman's clubs, adult toy shops, as well as some ladies walking the street. But we never felt unsafe in the area. There is a bike rental shop right on the same block as the hotel. And there are some nice restaurants if you walk away from the hotel the opposite way of the train station. The location is very convenient to et around copenhagen. The price is just right for what you get. There is also free wifi. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bathrooms or it can get a little noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101Katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    296
    128
    42
    17
See reviews for
63
251
73
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The reasons we stayed in Absalon Annex was it was more affordable and it was close to the central train station. Tivoli Gardens, Town Hall Square, and city center were within walking distance. Copenhagen was not a cheap place to visit and we wanted to save a little bit on accommodation. We were not expecting much, but we were satisfied with our choice of this property.

We originally booked a room with two single beds, but the friendly guy at reception offered to check us in early if we agreed to use a double room that was already available, Of course we took his offer. The size of the room was adequate for me and my daughter. It was relatively clean, with really loud paint colors to accentuate the interior. There was a sink, a new LED TV with very few channels to watch, a heater, and a small desk. There was no A/C, just windows, but this did not bother us since the weather when we were there was unusually cold. It could be an issue had we stayed there during hot summer days.

The communal toilets and showers were no problem at all. We did not encounter a single instance when either were fully occupied and unavailable for our use.

The only issue I had with our stay here was the presence of some undesirable people near the hotel. I just made it a point not to go out at night to avoid any potential trouble.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banzai0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My room was on the fifth floor but the shared WC and shower was only on the fourth floor, no indication in the booking that this was the situation. The room was very small and without TV ( was mentioned in the booking). Only the cleanless of the room was very good and the breakfast super.

Room Tip: no air-condition, a lot of noise from outside, no radio/clock radio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Clara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The best thing about this hostel was the location- literally a 3 minute walk from the train station and a 5 minute walk from Tivoli Gardens...maybe 10-15 from the city center. The room itself was fine and seemed to have been recently updated. The only issue was the shared bathrooms...they were kind of far from our room which was a bit tricky in a half-daze in the middle of the night. Otherwise, though, a nice hotel with friendly staff.

Oh- you do get access to free wifi, but it is really slow...and their computer doesn't work.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveler2948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

sTAYED AT THIS HOTEL FOR EUROVISION WEEKEND AND I MISS SAY I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS ABSALON ANNEX.
2minute walk to central station
5minute walk to all the shops
very central to everything to be honest .

rooms clean
communal shower were clean
people working at reception were super friendly
free wifi (always a plus)

only thing negative i would say is that at night time just have your witts about yourself .
lots of prostitutes around and guys offering drugs ,

but all and all
id recommend absalon annex

Room Tip: just at night time have your witts about yourself and probably best not to wonder off alone at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed here in late April 2014. I was a little nervous about the accommodation but on arrival was pleasantly surprised.
I stayed in the brightly decorated annex, in a small but adequate room. The accommodation is spotless, very comfortable and the shared facilities well maintained. One small niggle would be the pillows are not great quality.
I stayed on a B&B basis and this was a really great start to the day with plenty of choice for everyone!
There is wifi in this hotel but the signal isn't too great in the annex but is you sign up to The Cloud you can get receive free wifi access here.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and all in all I had no complaints!
It is only two blocks from the train station and a ten minute walk to the town hall, five minutes to Tivoli gardens and a good half hour to NyHavn, which is a great walk through the shopping district with plenty of bars and places to eat.
A great place to stay on a budget, as believe me you need every single spare penny in Copenhagen... it is not cheap!

Room Tip: Try and stay in the refurbished rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Little_Me_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#7 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,927 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#52 of 117 in Copenhagen
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,401 reviews
Amager
CABINN Metro
CABINN Metro
#82 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,127 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
#33 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annex Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annex Copenhagen

Property: Annex Copenhagen
Address: Helgolandsgade 15, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Annex Copenhagen 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Vesterbro location by Meatpacking Area (restaurants, night clubs and galleries), Central Train Station and major attractions. Renovated 2014, all new incl. Samsung LED TV, REN soap and shampoo. Common Living Room with kichenette. Bathrooms and showers are in the hallway. Part of Absalon Hotel - Feel free to use facilities: Bar, Breakfast, Laundry, Bike rental etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Annex Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absalon Annex Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing