We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price / quality hotel in the city center”
Review of Annex Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Annex Copenhagen
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel exists out of two connecting buildings. One part has a conventional layout with traditional rooms including bathroom. These rooms are average "modern" or contemporary. The other part is a much older building with smaller rooms without toilets or showers. These are located separated and are "shared".
To design the rooms they have used a lot of bright colours, starting with the door in red, yellow or blue. The room is quite small (about 2,5m wide) with a bed. large flat screen tv, small desk / clothing cabinet, water crane and mirror.
Breakfast is quite expensive (125 DK) For this you'll receive a basic Danish breakfast with a nice variation of products. Do not expect such as scrambled eggs, but the do have real Nutella.

The toilets and shower were clean and with good water pressure (shower). Overall a nice budget hotel with a good price quality.

Room Tip: Street side rooms have a view, but also a lot of noise during the night. Choose well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Absalon Annex is a great no frills hotel with shared bathroom facilities. It has very modern bright colored rooms. The staff at reception is very helpful. The hotel is very close to the train station a 3 minute walk. There is a 7/11 down the street as well to get everything you might need. A night the area becomes very colorful with gentleman's clubs, adult toy shops, as well as some ladies walking the street. But we never felt unsafe in the area. There is a bike rental shop right on the same block as the hotel. And there are some nice restaurants if you walk away from the hotel the opposite way of the train station. The location is very convenient to et around copenhagen. The price is just right for what you get. There is also free wifi. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bathrooms or it can get a little noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 101Katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The reasons we stayed in Absalon Annex was it was more affordable and it was close to the central train station. Tivoli Gardens, Town Hall Square, and city center were within walking distance. Copenhagen was not a cheap place to visit and we wanted to save a little bit on accommodation. We were not expecting much, but we were satisfied with our choice of this property.

We originally booked a room with two single beds, but the friendly guy at reception offered to check us in early if we agreed to use a double room that was already available, Of course we took his offer. The size of the room was adequate for me and my daughter. It was relatively clean, with really loud paint colors to accentuate the interior. There was a sink, a new LED TV with very few channels to watch, a heater, and a small desk. There was no A/C, just windows, but this did not bother us since the weather when we were there was unusually cold. It could be an issue had we stayed there during hot summer days.

The communal toilets and showers were no problem at all. We did not encounter a single instance when either were fully occupied and unavailable for our use.

The only issue I had with our stay here was the presence of some undesirable people near the hotel. I just made it a point not to go out at night to avoid any potential trouble.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banzai0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My room was on the fifth floor but the shared WC and shower was only on the fourth floor, no indication in the booking that this was the situation. The room was very small and without TV ( was mentioned in the booking). Only the cleanless of the room was very good and the breakfast super.

Room Tip: no air-condition, a lot of noise from outside, no radio/clock radio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Clara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Nurşen C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The best thing about this hostel was the location- literally a 3 minute walk from the train station and a 5 minute walk from Tivoli Gardens...maybe 10-15 from the city center. The room itself was fine and seemed to have been recently updated. The only issue was the shared bathrooms...they were kind of far from our room which was a bit tricky in a half-daze in the middle of the night. Otherwise, though, a nice hotel with friendly staff.

Oh- you do get access to free wifi, but it is really slow...and their computer doesn't work.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytraveler2948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

sTAYED AT THIS HOTEL FOR EUROVISION WEEKEND AND I MISS SAY I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS ABSALON ANNEX.
2minute walk to central station
5minute walk to all the shops
very central to everything to be honest .

rooms clean
communal shower were clean
people working at reception were super friendly
free wifi (always a plus)

only thing negative i would say is that at night time just have your witts about yourself .
lots of prostitutes around and guys offering drugs ,

but all and all
id recommend absalon annex

Room Tip: just at night time have your witts about yourself and probably best not to wonder off alone at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#58 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,032 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Indre By (Inner City)
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
#36 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Saga Hotel
Saga Hotel
#70 of 117 in Copenhagen
515 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Generator Copenhagen
Generator Copenhagen
#4 of 43 in Copenhagen
2,663 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annex Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annex Copenhagen

Address: Helgolandsgade 15, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Copenhagen
Price Range: £51 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Annex Copenhagen 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Vesterbro location by Meatpacking Area (restaurants, night clubs and galleries), Central Train Station and major attractions. Renovated 2014, all new incl. Samsung LED TV, REN soap and shampoo. Common Living Room with kichenette. Bathrooms and showers are in the hallway. Part of Absalon Hotel - Feel free to use facilities: Bar, Breakfast, Laundry, Bike rental etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Annex Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absalon Annex Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing