We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location in Copenhagen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Palace Hotel
Ranked #23 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We enjoyed a top floor Jr Suite with a small terrace overlooking the Town Hall Square. The view and the location were fantastic. The room was large and modern...we loved it! The location cannot be beat...close to shopping, restaurants, bars, Tivoli Garden, and an easy walk to Nyhavn. The hotel is hip and modern on the interior while maintaining its historic structure on Town Hall Square...a special combination. The front desk prearranged a taxi for us at a fixed rate to the airport on the day before. We checked out at Noon and enjoyed a lovely lunch in the hotel bar/restaurant while passing the time for our 1pm taxi pick up. The food and service were excellent. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Town Hall Square have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiamiDalmata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,286 - 1,292 of 2,233 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

We requested an early check-in upon arrival and got it :). Room was a good size, had a great view of the square and bathroom was clean and spacious (except for the small shelf at the sink which others have mentioned as well - not a significant issue for a one night stay. We were very pleased and thought it a fair value.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the square is desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I travel a lot in my job, and often to Copenhagen. I always stay at the Palace if possible, as the rooms are generally great, and more important, the staff are wonderful, friendly and very professional. They always make me feel very welcome and looked after. One example - earlier this year a colleague was staying there, I myself was to go to Africa that week. Was refused boarding in Amsterdam as passport expiry date less than 6 months. Aaarggh. They all took great interest in my plight and commiserated. BTW, got new passport week after and went.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillemor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We booked in via Holland America. Our first trip to Europe. Large, modern room on the street, so if you can' t abide street noise, book on the courtyard. We live near a busy street. So this was actually quiet for us. Great central location, great breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vandoren1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Just returned from a Baltic Cruise and our night at the Palace Hotel left a great deal to be desired. First off we paid over $200 per person. The bathroom was clean and linens wonderful, however, the rug in the room was worn, torn and awful. I am very allergic and ended up with a rash on my foot.

Be advised that the bell tower from the City Hall (across the street) rings every 15 minutes and if you try to get a rest after your flight it is impossible.

Breakfast was super, however, this would rate as a 2 star motel in the states!!

Frances

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My husband and I spent two lovely days in Copenhagen before a Baltic cruise at the Palace Hotel. Even though there was construction just outside the hotel, our room was quiet as well as clean and comfortable. The location was very convenient to shopping, cafes and within walking distance to Tivoli Gardens. Our room faced the city hall square, giving us a bird's eye view of activities during the day and evening. The breakfast buffet had a wide variety, offering something for every taste. We ate a large breakfast, skipped lunch and then, had an early dinner which was great for our food budget! All in all, we enjoyed our stay at the Palace Hotel and would stay there again if we are in Copenhagen.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the city hall square with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassie427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We were surprised and disappointed when we walked into the lobby. It seemed small and shabby. However, our room was extremely clean, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast buffet was fantastic and the location can't be beat. Yes, there appears to be some deferred maintenance/old-ness about the place. Not dirty, but a good spruce up is needed. But it is very clean with comfy beds and good towels and the location and breakfast more than made up for the old lobby and long drab halls. Happy we chose it and would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: The hotel is across the street from Tivoli and fireworks are set off on the first Sat of the month...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Perky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#9 of 118 in Copenhagen
264 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#11 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 118 in Copenhagen
316 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#34 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,520 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Palace Hotel

Address: Raadhuspladsen 57, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#23 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: £142 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the very heart of Copenhagen, the Scandic Palace Hotel is well-established in its rich cultural and historical surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Scandic Palace
Scandic Palace Copenhagen
Palace Hotel Copenhagen
Copenhagen Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing