We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel on the town square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Palace Hotel
Ranked #21 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We easily walked from Central Station, which took about 5 minutes once we had orientated ourselves. The hotel is a sort of arts & crafts style miniature of the city hall, with its own belfry. Check in was very quick and easy. One of the lifts has a wonderful old style car with a door handle, like something from Fritz Lang's 'Metropolis'. The corridors are broad, with wonderful period decor and lighting. Our rooms were stylish and modern, well furnished and clean. One room was very much c older than the other however, and despite mentioning this at reception, remained so throughout. The bar is cosy, and the cocktails delicious and reasonably priced for Scandinavia. We didn't eat an evening meal, but the breakfast was good and had a wide choice of food.

In summary, a very enjoyable stay, in beautiful and characterful surroundings.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pia J, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Guest, We appreciate you have taken your time to evalulate your stay at Palace Hotel Copenhagen and thank you for the very positive feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the interest you show in the fine old building, the hotel is located in. We hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the nearest future.Yours sincerely,Palace Hotel CopenhagenJette Rafn/Guest Relations 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,203)
There are newer reviews for Scandic Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,184 - 1,190 of 2,203 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in December. We upgraded to an executive room which was surprisingly inexpensive. The room was wonderful, very modern and spacious - we were in Copenhagen during the hurricane so we were lucky to have such a cosy room to hide in. Definitely worth upgrading to a room on the executive floor if you have a little extra leeway in your budget!

The only downside to this hotel was the expensive restaurant with only a few options, this doesn't really matter though as we found some fantastic local restaurants - highly recommend the buffet at Samos Greek restaurant or the Italian restaurant opposite!

The hotel is well situated, 5 minutes walk from the train station and right opposite Tivoli Gardens.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mimimgtf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear mimimgtf,


Thank you very much for sharing your stay, at Palace Hotel Copenhagen.

I am very pleased to read you have had a nice stay in the Executive Floor - the rooms have been designed to add just a "little extra" in order to make our guest feel even more pampered.

Thank you as well for the comment on the restaurant selection and prices - we have been looking into making a new and exciting menu, and if you visit us again, I hope you will give it a go as both prices and selections have changed.

Thank you for visiting, and hope to see you back again soon!


Sincerely Yours

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Myself and my husband recently got married and after our honeymoon, we got honeymoon blues and so my husband booked a weekend away the night we came back from the Dominican.

When he told me we were going to Copenhagen in October I was thinking why? There isn't anything to do there. Turns out I was very wrong.

The hotel we were in has the most perfect location in the city, the staff are amazingly friendly, speak wonderful English and are extremely helpful. Tivoli park is right opposite the hotel I could see it from our room which had a lovely view of the square. The room was a decent size and clean. Our room had a wet room which was amazing.

The only downside to the trip I would say was how expensive everything was. The food and drink was quite expensive even in the hotel we were in. The hotel however was beautiful and had a tradition feel with a modern twist. We only had a drink and desert in the bar area which was lovely. it has such a homely feel to it in there it is not intimidating in any way. Next door to the hotel there is a museum of weird things "Ripley's believe it or not" which was really funny we went there when there was heavy rain.

We walked all the way to the site of the little mermaid which is a must see and then we walked to the palaces. We saw most things there it was wonderful we had such a lovely time.

If you do visit Copenhagen this is the hotel you should stay in for a great central location and access to most of the things to do and see this is the place for you. Overall trip excellent!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gemma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Gemma L,


First of all congratulations on your mirage!

- We are honored to have been chosen as part of the honeymoon travels, and further I am delighted to read, that your stay with us lived up to expectations!

I hope we will see you back again soon!

The best of luck onwards from all of us at Palace Hotel Copenhagen!


Sincerely Yours,

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This was our first visit to Copenhagen, and enjoyed it that much we will be back to stay at the Palace without a question. Room was was stylish, staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast was excellent, good choice to choose from.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kirsten R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Kirsten R,


Thank you very much for sharing this feedback with us!

- I am really happy to read, that your very first visit to Copenhagen was a success!

I appreciate the positive observations, and will happily forward this to my Team Members.


Sincerely Yours and hope to see you back soon!

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Only stayed here for 2 days in December , Had a lovely stay in a hotel which is in a superb location, Tivoli christmas market was out front and main shopping street to the side of hotel .

Rooms very functioning and clean, lovely powerful rain shower heads , I was on the fourth floor overlooking Copenhagen with lovely view.

Staff very nice and friendly also. Very easy to get train to airport also for £3.50 from the train station less than 5 mins walk away.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Mark M,


Thank you for visiting Palace Hotel Copenhagen, and as well for sharing your feedback!

I am very happy to learn, that we have met your expectations and delivered a great stay - I hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon?


Sincerely Yours,

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here on business for 3 days in October. Brilliant location, considering it was coming up the Christmas period there was a local Christmas market kicking off plus this hotel is next door to Ripley's Believe It Or Not. I also loved the exterior which was a palace style with a huge clock tower. Breakfast lovely, buffet style and high standard - mushrooms particularly delish. We had a few drinks in the downstairs bar which had a lovely ambience and fireplace. Bartender spoke excellent English and made the most amazing Pina Coladas. My boss ate here one night and described the burger as 'the best he had ever had.' I would stay here (if I could afford it!) should I return to Copenhagen for pleasure.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank Elmo1989_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Elmo1989_03,


Thank you very much for sharing your stay with us!

I am very pleased to read you have had a great stay, and will for sure pass on your positive comments to both the kitchen and bar!

I hope to see you back at the hotel any time soon!


Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We enjoyed our visit to Copenhagen - and our stay at the Palace added to a pleasant visit!! Close to Tivoli and great shopping!! House of Amber near by. Service was on spot and breakfast dining was perfect before a day of sightseeing!!

Room Tip: Ask for view of city center / square!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dr Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
288 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#34 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,500 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#12 of 118 in Copenhagen
233 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Palace Hotel

Address: Raadhuspladsen 57, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#23 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: £144 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the very heart of Copenhagen, the Scandic Palace Hotel is well-established in its rich cultural and historical surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Scandic Palace
Scandic Palace Copenhagen
Palace Hotel Copenhagen
Copenhagen Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing