We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel Copenhagen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Palace Hotel
Ranked #19 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Fornebu, Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice hotel Copenhagen”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

One of the most central hotels in Copenhagen. Nice and old style. Comfortable large rooms. Close to Strøget, Nyhavn and Tivoli. Serves excellent meals and the breakfast is nice too. Personell assists you with advices in a nice way. Try it next time!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaffelars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear kaffelars,


Thank you very much for your positive feedback!

I an very pleased to see you have enjoyed your stay with us, and I look very much forward to welcome you back to Palace Hotel Copenhagen!

I wish you a great summer.


Sincerely Yours,

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    890
    324
    92
    49
See reviews for
333
927
96
374
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
370 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

It's right on the "rådhus torget", dead center of city.
Nice rooms and the breakfast was good. They rent bicycles at 150 DKK per day which as great for getting around downtown.
The personnel was helpful and wifi was fast and free.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finn_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Finn_on_the_go,


Thank you for visiting, and as well for sharing your positive feedback!

I am happy that you have had a great time in Copenhagen, exploring the city by bike, and hope to welcome you back in near future.


Sincerely Yours,

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a perfectly reasonable 4* hotel. We had no problems like the reviewer below. As always, if you don't like your room tell reception. We were offered an upgrade at check-in but our room was perfectly fine, good size, good bathroom. Comfortable beds, well sound-proofed from neighbours, clean and fresh. Our room looked into the courtyard and not onto the main square which was better since it was quieter. The town hall clock is loud. The basement gym was perfectly fine and large enough for four people to work out in without a crush. We didn't have breakfast (try the brunch at the Cafe Norden, touristy but good). We were travelling from Hamburg and onto Gothenburg so the proximity to the train station was ideal. The city centre is very small in any case so the main squares, museums and buildings of note are easily reached from the hotel. The hotel exterior is an architectural curiosity like the town hall. I'd certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard-facing room if you prefer quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lon39don39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Lon39don39,


Thank you very much for staying with us at Palace Hotel Copenhagen!

I appreciate your positive comments, and hope you will have the possibility of visiting again.

For your next visit - promise me to try out our breakfast buffet, it is delicious, with a large variety of hot and cold dishes including freshly baked pastries.


Sincerely Yours,

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The Palace hotel is one of those older splendid hotel of yesteryear which got rehabilitated and is now a decent place. Not a é="palace", granted, but a decent place. Located right by the Town Hall and very near the Central train station, it's ideally located to visit Copenhagen.

A little understaffed (automatic doors; you won't see anyone until you get to the tiny reception desk). I have the feeling I saw no-one except the reception. Having said that, the place is functional and well appointed. Rooms are large, which makes good value for money considered how central the place is.

You're right by the main pedestrian street that crosses the center of town.

Room Tip: There are rooms with balconies that open into the main square (view on the beautiful Town Hall) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YvesChampollion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear YvesChampollion,


Thank you very much for staying with us, as well as forwarding your feedback!

We try to respect the fine line of both being widely available to our guests as well as offering the needed privacy - I regret if you got the feeling that we were not available, as we are open not only in the reception but also in our bar, restaurant etc.

I hope you will be back for a new visit, we are here to welcome you back!


Sincerely Yours,

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I have been traveling on business for many years now and I can easily say that this was my worst hotel experience yet. The hotel is dirty - very dirty to the point that you cannot walk without a pair of shoes on in the room, service is non existing but the worst thing is the smell - the room smells of drainage. Not even worth considering. Finally you need earplugs for sleeping and you will find a pack in the room.

Room Tip: Forget this hotel look else where if you do not want to be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarlMica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear KarlMica,


Thank you for staying with us!

I regret to read your review - we appreciate any kind of feedback, however I must admit I can not recognize Palace Hotel Copenhagen in this.

We strive to deliver the very best - every time. If we for some reason did not deliver according to your expectations, please accept my apologies for that.


Sincerely Yours,

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Had a very enjoyable city break in the Scandic Palace Hotel. Great to see such an interesting and historic hotel being well looked after by the current owners. Our room was on an upper floor facing the square, and was comfortable and very well appointed. The breakfast buffet was excellent, with a good selection which set us up for the day. We hired bikes from the hotel and enjoyed cycling on the designated cycle-paths, free from car traffic - a great way to get around Copenhagen. The staff were very friendly, and Cecilie on reception was particularly helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Graham M,


Thank you very much for staying with us at Palace Hotel Copenhagen!

I am happy to read, that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope to see you again soon!

Further I would like to thank you for commenting Cecilie, I will bring on the nice words to her!

All the best and have a great summer.


Sincerely Yours,

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed at the Palace before flying out the next morning. It was only for one night but would definitely go back. Had a room facing the square with a small balcony. It was beautiful and romantic to hear the bell tower chime. Room was plenty big enough with a walk in closet and very well appointed bathroom. Very centrally located hotel, everything is within minutes of here. It has a nice combination of old world charm and new modern amenities.

Room Tip: Loved the room facing the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Eric K,


Thank you very much for staying with us, and as well for your nice words!

The view towards the square is indeed popular, especially when the sun sets, the balconies are a fantastic place to relax for a pre-dinner drink or just to enjoy the busy streets below.

I hope to see you back at Palace Hotel Copenhagen again!


Sincerely Yours,

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,813 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#2 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#7 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Palace Hotel

Property: Scandic Palace Hotel
Address: Raadhuspladsen 57, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#23 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the very heart of Copenhagen, the Scandic Palace Hotel is well-established in its rich cultural and historical surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Scandic Hotels, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Scandic Palace
Scandic Palace Copenhagen
Palace Hotel Copenhagen
Copenhagen Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing