We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely jewel in the crown that needs polishing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Palace Hotel
Ranked #24 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Lovely old fashioned hotel that needs a little tlc.Booking in very easy and very helpful staff.Room a little small and l old fashioned but lovely large modern bathroom although a strange shower.I stayed 3 nights and house keeping was very poor just managed to make the bed and did not hoover while i was there or clean the cups that i used for tea.It was very quite and as it is the very centre of the city surprising but had no problems sleeping as a good bed although small .Did not bother with dinner as to may excellent restaurants in the area but breakfast was good .If only they gave this lovely old hotel a makeover it would be wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonabilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear bonabilly,


Thank you for staying with us as well as forwarding your comments.

We continuously work to maintain and upgrade out products - at the moment we are looking to renew some of our public areas, and have already finished a large upgrade of completely changing our Wi-Fi facilities.

I really appreciate your comments, and in terms of the housekeeping standard, I will address this in our teams.

Thank you once again for staying with us, and hope to see you back soon!


Sincerely Yours,

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,213 - 1,219 of 2,289 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

One of the most central hotels in Copenhagen. Nice and old style. Comfortable large rooms. Close to Strøget, Nyhavn and Tivoli. Serves excellent meals and the breakfast is nice too. Personell assists you with advices in a nice way. Try it next time!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaffelars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear kaffelars,


Thank you very much for your positive feedback!

I an very pleased to see you have enjoyed your stay with us, and I look very much forward to welcome you back to Palace Hotel Copenhagen!

I wish you a great summer.


Sincerely Yours,

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

It's right on the "rådhus torget", dead center of city.
Nice rooms and the breakfast was good. They rent bicycles at 150 DKK per day which as great for getting around downtown.
The personnel was helpful and wifi was fast and free.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finn_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Finn_on_the_go,


Thank you for visiting, and as well for sharing your positive feedback!

I am happy that you have had a great time in Copenhagen, exploring the city by bike, and hope to welcome you back in near future.


Sincerely Yours,

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a perfectly reasonable 4* hotel. We had no problems like the reviewer below. As always, if you don't like your room tell reception. We were offered an upgrade at check-in but our room was perfectly fine, good size, good bathroom. Comfortable beds, well sound-proofed from neighbours, clean and fresh. Our room looked into the courtyard and not onto the main square which was better since it was quieter. The town hall clock is loud. The basement gym was perfectly fine and large enough for four people to work out in without a crush. We didn't have breakfast (try the brunch at the Cafe Norden, touristy but good). We were travelling from Hamburg and onto Gothenburg so the proximity to the train station was ideal. The city centre is very small in any case so the main squares, museums and buildings of note are easily reached from the hotel. The hotel exterior is an architectural curiosity like the town hall. I'd certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard-facing room if you prefer quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lon39don39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Lon39don39,


Thank you very much for staying with us at Palace Hotel Copenhagen!

I appreciate your positive comments, and hope you will have the possibility of visiting again.

For your next visit - promise me to try out our breakfast buffet, it is delicious, with a large variety of hot and cold dishes including freshly baked pastries.


Sincerely Yours,

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The Palace hotel is one of those older splendid hotel of yesteryear which got rehabilitated and is now a decent place. Not a é="palace", granted, but a decent place. Located right by the Town Hall and very near the Central train station, it's ideally located to visit Copenhagen.

A little understaffed (automatic doors; you won't see anyone until you get to the tiny reception desk). I have the feeling I saw no-one except the reception. Having said that, the place is functional and well appointed. Rooms are large, which makes good value for money considered how central the place is.

You're right by the main pedestrian street that crosses the center of town.

Room Tip: There are rooms with balconies that open into the main square (view on the beautiful Town Hall) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvesChampollion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear YvesChampollion,


Thank you very much for staying with us, as well as forwarding your feedback!

We try to respect the fine line of both being widely available to our guests as well as offering the needed privacy - I regret if you got the feeling that we were not available, as we are open not only in the reception but also in our bar, restaurant etc.

I hope you will be back for a new visit, we are here to welcome you back!


Sincerely Yours,

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I have been traveling on business for many years now and I can easily say that this was my worst hotel experience yet. The hotel is dirty - very dirty to the point that you cannot walk without a pair of shoes on in the room, service is non existing but the worst thing is the smell - the room smells of drainage. Not even worth considering. Finally you need earplugs for sleeping and you will find a pack in the room.

Room Tip: Forget this hotel look else where if you do not want to be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarlMica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear KarlMica,


Thank you for staying with us!

I regret to read your review - we appreciate any kind of feedback, however I must admit I can not recognize Palace Hotel Copenhagen in this.

We strive to deliver the very best - every time. If we for some reason did not deliver according to your expectations, please accept my apologies for that.


Sincerely Yours,

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Had a very enjoyable city break in the Scandic Palace Hotel. Great to see such an interesting and historic hotel being well looked after by the current owners. Our room was on an upper floor facing the square, and was comfortable and very well appointed. The breakfast buffet was excellent, with a good selection which set us up for the day. We hired bikes from the hotel and enjoyed cycling on the designated cycle-paths, free from car traffic - a great way to get around Copenhagen. The staff were very friendly, and Cecilie on reception was particularly helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Graham M,


Thank you very much for staying with us at Palace Hotel Copenhagen!

I am happy to read, that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope to see you again soon!

Further I would like to thank you for commenting Cecilie, I will bring on the nice words to her!

All the best and have a great summer.


Sincerely Yours,

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#8 of 117 in Copenhagen
354 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Copenhagen
Scandic Copenhagen
#41 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,435 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,663 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 117 in Copenhagen
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Palace Hotel

Address: Raadhuspladsen 57, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#13 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#23 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: £117 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the very heart of Copenhagen, the Scandic Palace Hotel is well-established in its rich cultural and historical surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Scandic Palace
Scandic Palace Copenhagen
Palace Hotel Copenhagen
Copenhagen Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing