We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a hotel to book for a treat...”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #47 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not a hotel to book for a treat...”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

This place is large. It's well-placed, admittedly, but it's also full of tours and lacks any charm. The breakfast restaurant is totally depressing and makes you want to leave immediately (watch out for the waiters pushing past you to fill the troughs...). Am sure we got what we paid for (it was a BA deal) but it's not a place I would recommend or go back to unless I was attending a Lottery winners' convention. Briefly.

Helpful?
Thank Tigerwont
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    667
    422
    111
    35
See reviews for
247
506
76
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sawbridgeworth
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This hotel is situated near the railway station which is very convenient. However our room was very small but adequate for our two night stay. After the first night the beds were not made and the bathroom not cleaned. We did have a problem with our safe when we first arrived and this was sorted out immediately. The restaurant is very good but prices quite high. Would not recommend as could be considerably improved.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirdieVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldsmar
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I choose this hotel because of the location near the Tivoli and HOHO bus. It was a perfect location. Unfortunately the hotel was not that good.

Our room was so small we couldn't get our bags past the bed. The luggage rack could not be put down or you couldn't walk to your bed. We did have our room change but it was a long walk from the elevator and up some stairs.
When we went to check out they charged us more than my confirmation and they had to redo the bill.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaMOldsmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This is a rather dated hotel which is housed in a 70s block in the centre of Copenhagen. Miniscule lifts take you to your rather tiny room which features a doll sized wardrobe and a very small bathroom. Everything is just a bit too small, you can't even unpack as there's nowhere to put anything. Beds were way too soft, leading to aching back. Pillows too thin, noise from busy road / train station outside was quite loud so sleep disturbed. On a positive note the on site restaurant was very good. The morning breakfast was ok, fairly standard. Slight sting - they charge you for paying with a credit card. In my opinion, there have to be better hotels than this in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Lobby area is quite comfortable. Room is very small and had to re-arrange furniture to open our two suitcases. Bathroom has a high step into shower. Food at restaurant was excellent. Portions were so big my husband and I split the dinners each of the two nights we were there. Breakfast was not included which we thought it was included. It was just okay but it was hard to swallow when checking out we were told the charge was $21,00 each for breakfast which came to $82.00 for four very average buffet breakfasts. Desk staff was helpful in directing us to where we wanted to go.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 882EileenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puchong, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Very convenient location, right in the heart of he city, 5 minutes walk to shopping streets, restaurants etc. 7-Eleven are right at almost every corners. Cosy and warm lobby. A little setback would be rooms facing the streets could be a little noisy. If you are not an easy-sleeper, request for the room facing the carpark.

Room Tip: Choose the room which are not facing the main roads would help you to get a better sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maco2862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traralgon, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

I could not fault this hotel. Very central, in walking distance to everywhere. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Buffett breakfast was excellent. The restaurant good was excellent, and the restaurant staff were great. Would certainly return to this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank PM963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#31 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,410 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Copenhagen
Scandic Copenhagen
#40 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,147 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Mercur Hotel
Copenhagen Mercur Hotel
#55 of 116 in Copenhagen
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
#44 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,102 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,865 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#28 of 116 in Copenhagen
3,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: Vester Farimagsgade 9, Copenhagen 1606, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s no doubt that Imperial Hotel is much more than a tastefully decorated, modern four-star hotel in the heart of Copenhagen. That’s because for more than 50 years, the hotel’s vibrant international atmosphere has attracted both Danish and international guests with a passion for good food and drink.Whether your business schedule is packed tight or you have ample time for sightseeing, Imperial Hotel is the perfect base conveniently located just steps from Tivoli Gardens, Strøget, City Hall Square and Copenhagen Central Station.If you are planning a meeting or conference, you can leave it to us to create the ideal environment with professional staff in one of our six conference rooms of various sizes. In our newly refurbished restaurant, Ristorante L’Appetito, we indulge our guests with authentic Italian delicacies made from excellent seasonal ingredients, lovingly created by our talented chef and his Italian team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing