We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not four star, but definitely worth staying again”
Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ascot Hotel
Ranked #63 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Denmark
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not four star, but definitely worth staying again”
Reviewed 15 March 2011

I was looking for something reasonable, but was restricted to the general location, since my colleagues were staying just a couple of blocks away. Only about an 8 minute walk from the train station, the Ascot turned out to be a great choice. Like another reviewer, I was trepidatious because of the mixed reviews here on TripAdvisor. I got a quiet room that suited my needs in a very expensive European city. They have different standards for room sizes in hotels, so I expected a smaller room than I actually got. There's also great variation in what "four star" means, so I generally expect the worst and hope for pleasant surprises.

The floors were clean, the sheets were fine, the pillows soft, and the duvet just right. They do need to accomplish some deep cleaning of the rooms. If I were staying multiple nights, I might have wanted updated (cleaned) curtains and a new shower curtain. But then again, this hotel was significantly less expensive than anything nearby. So I'm willing to shrug and admit it was a gread deal for the price.

For what it's worth, my colleague down the street at Hotel Fox paid a lot more money and slept in what felt like a closet surrounded by interesting art, but not a sparkling clean environment either.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 00annette00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    369
    353
    147
    97
See reviews for
193
404
71
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Surprise birthday treat for me, I read the reviews on tripadvisor with trepidation and was anticipating having to ask for better room even before we arrived! How wrong can you be, yes the shower curtains are grubby at the bottom but we had a bath, immaculate cleaning, quiet back room (apart from bin men early in the morning and a little rowdiness by smokers on Saturday night). Exactly central to great eating places - a good walk to Little Mermaid and up to the Zoo but you could not have a better location. Breakfasts good only disappointment was fab orange juicing machine was popped away when it was really busy at the weekends. Staff pleasant and helpful apart from refusing to print out flight boarding cards which they expected you to do yourselves - harsh if you are not computer literate. Only grumble - cannot believe no drinks tray in the room for a 4 star hotel. Also, please note shampoo and soap and vanity sets now provided in rooms. Enjoy Copenhagen, although go when not minus 6 and scaffolding up around lots of important architecture. Didn't use spa, ridiculously expensive. Loved faded grandeur of old bathouse and mix of antiques. Got fit running up three flights but lift always working.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarthaHerefordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Stayed for three nights, had fantastic breakfast, wide choice and plentiful. The staff are all friendly and helpfull as all the Danish appear to be. Booked this hotel for it's location for which it did not fail. The reception area is very grand and characterful and it's ashame this did not continue into the rooms. The room was quite small for a superior double and there was no kettle. But overall it was comfortable and warm and had a nice bathroom.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thundercats81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

The hotel is a little dated and some of the rooms need to re decorated. A colleague had a blood stained carpet and mold on the windows. He was moved to another room after complaining.
The breakfast was good but is extra with most published rates. As per the title good for a night or 2 but nothing special.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caterham101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

I stayed at the Ascot Hotel in room 308 which is a single room. On the whole i would say the hotel is average, pretty good value considering Copenhagen is an expensive City.

Other plus points. Location wise it's superb, close to Copenhagen Central Train Station, local attractions (Tivoli), lots of convenience stores, standard breakfast, excellent internet connection (free and easy to use, probably one of the best hotels i have stayed at regarding WIFI connectivity), staff are helpful, restaurants and cinemas at your doorstep.

The not so good points. I had an issue with the sink tap the water trickled and luke warm water, staff fixed it but no great improvement . I hate shower curtains and this was another issue. There's a risk of flooding the washroom with water after a shower, shower head was faulty, room didn't heat well. It was average and considering Copenhagen is cold in January not great. No, kettle, lack of electric socket points, TV options are limited for English customers. There was also roadworks outside the hotel which was a little annoying in the early hours of the morning. Room was also a little dated.

I stayed for 4 nights which is fine. It's well priced with a great location so I couldn't really complain too much. Would i stay here again? Possibly, depending of length of stay and lack of alternatives.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ay0ub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

This hotel is pretty bad. The rooms are small, the bathroom was not the cleanest, and there is extreme variability in what you get even though you are paying the same price. I have my expectations adjusted for European standards, but this was pretty disappointing. Don't waste your money here, there are other options in Copenhagen that offer the same or better for less.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

There are no restaurants in the hotel and the actual Spa is next door. The hotel is not smoke-free and when we complained about the smell in our room the staff advised to us that smoke-free rooms are never guaranteed even though we specified that we are non-smokers in our booking. Rooms are not soundproof and very dirty. They feature dated interiors and uncomfortable beds. Single rooms are sold as "small doubles" but there is no difference in the size of the room and the size of the bed between two. Hotel staff is rude and unprofessional. The whole experience was very unpleasant.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tintoretto23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#33 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
First Hotel Kong Frederik
First Hotel Kong Frederik
#61 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
#46 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
First Hotel Twentyseven
First Hotel Twentyseven
#53 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Property: Ascot Hotel
Address: Studiestraede 61, Copenhagen 1554, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Hotel in restored & modernized turn-of-the-century bathhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing