We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, Spacious Apartment Rental”
Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ascot Hotel
Ranked #62 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Swampscott, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, Spacious Apartment Rental”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The Ascot Hotel-- with adjoining apartment rentals-- is located within walking distance to downtown must see & do locations, many restaurants, and public transportation (Metro & Train). During our stay, we saw singles, couples & families check in from homelands local and abroad. The historic Hotel lobby itself is grand with a lovely adjacent dining room a few steps up. Although pricey, the breakfast is worth the expense at least once to enjoy beautifully plated, fresh and abundant Danish cuisine. Two computers were available to Guests; however, only one was operational. In addition, there is a small inviting bar located right off the lobby. The apartments are spacious (large living room, practical kitchen, small yet comfy bedroom, private shower and separate toilette), eco-friendly and secure. The separate entrances are a few doors past the main hotel doors and yes, there is a lift! Our only complaint is that the polite and efficient Staff is not helpful beyond their front desk tasks. We arrived and departed with four heavy bags and no one offered to help us up steps or through doors although we were in plain sight. In part, we do attribute this to cultural difference, but it did not feel very welcoming or respectful. Nonetheless, we will book here again for our next visit to "wonderful, wonderful Copenhagen".

Room Tip: Check Travel Sites for great deals, especially on extended stays at Hotel or apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebraO77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    394
    369
    161
    106
See reviews for
219
430
77
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Our family of 5 with children 3,5 and 7 years old rented an apartment friday to monday. The location is close to the Tivoli which was a very joyfull event/day for our kids, and us. It is also close to the railwaystation and Strøget and good base for exploring Copenhagen.
The apartment was clean and the beds were good. Very small elevator...especially when staying on the 5th floor. The kitchen was ok but a bit sparse with kitchen utensils. I would definately go back and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ivar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

This is far from a 4 Star hotel. It is at best 2 stars. This is a historical hotel.
The bad:
- Horrible Bed.
- Very small room
- Dated room
- No air conditioning
The Good:
- Location

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTBRUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Svendborg, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We stayed at the Ascot Hotel for a total of 3 nights. Based on the first night in which we had been upgraded we decided - after a one night stay elsewhere, to go back to the Ascot for our last 2 nights. Whereas the first upgraded room was nice and spacious with an in room safe, the second room was a little disappointing. The hotel is clean and basic but I would say 3 stars not 4. Basic toiletries provided (bulk squeeze bottle of liquid soap/shampoo).
The housekeeping needs a bit of a shake. Especially in the bed making department. All loose un-tucked sheets after the first night- I ended up remaking the bed myself. The housekeeping staff are also very noisy. We put a 'do not disturb' sign on our door so they decided to call us to see if we were indeed in. One of the staff also decided to bang and yell quite loudly "housekeeping!" all the way down the hall. Not once, but three times per door. Very annoying when your trying to sleep.
All in all, a clean hotel in a fantastic location. Two minutes walk to the station, Tivoli Gardens and most of Copenhagen's central attractions. Despite some minor annoyances we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thai_Rain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennI
Level 6 Contributor
693 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We were 4 families with an average of two children. The Ascot apartment hotel was an ideal choice as it had a small kitchen, living dining, small storage space etc. Location is great , 5 minutes walk from the main station and a stones throw from Tivoli gardens. The Stroget Copenhagen's famous shopping street is about 5mins walk as well. There were plenty of good cafe's and chilli milli around the corner also provides quick sumptuous bites.
Clean rooms but bed and linen a bit run down. A bit pricey for what you get, though very convenient.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank vidhusagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

this hotel is really not a 4 star hotel. My room is tiny tiny tiny. no tea making facility in room. no water, no advice on drinking the water, the room is really noisy, every time the lift goes the doors on my room bang like a banshee is trying to get in. there is constant banging outside the room all night long..then the rubbish bins gets dragged around from about 6 in the morning.
the breakfast is inedible and difficult to get some.
staff smile a lot but dont actually do anything.
i have eaten the food from their room service restaurant and i feel so sick from it. queasy yucky greasy food.
this is really bad...never again

Room Tip: if they have best rooms they dont want people onlm
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doclisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Excellent location close to Tivoli, central station, Hop on hop off buses, short walk to older area of town, restaurants abound, theatre etc. Rooms are clean and large furnished in the minimilist Danish style, heated suitably and quiet. Breakfast was plentiful and the room full, so the hotel and apartments must have been also.
On our first night we were upgrded to a penthouse and enjoyed great views across two areas, one towards the Tivoli. Upon our return nearly two weeks later we were housed in the hotel area and entered the general hallway of our floor to a terrible stench which continued into every room of our apartment. (We noted that all the plugs were put into the plug holes). The maintenance man came to the room at our request and poured disinfectant down the trap in the bathroom which lessened the stench but by morning it had returned somewhat. After pouring several bottles of water down the trap in the morning, (to fill the S bend pipe), the smell went. Perhaps a better understanding of the sewerage system would help the ambience of this hotel and this problem.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sydneywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#35 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,454 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
First Hotel Kong Frederik
First Hotel Kong Frederik
#65 of 117 in Copenhagen
979 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#21 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
#44 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,123 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,930 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
First Hotel Twentyseven
First Hotel Twentyseven
#53 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Property: Ascot Hotel
Address: Studiestraede 61, Copenhagen 1554, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Hotel in restored & modernized turn-of-the-century bathhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing