We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly adequate”
Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ascot Hotel
Ranked #63 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
East Morton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfectly adequate”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Nice location in central Copenhagen, friendly staff with excellent English and local knowledge on attractions and getting about. Being in the centre, there can be occasional loud reveller on the street

Breakfast was ok... Perfectly edible not a vast choice.
There is a wonderful Italian restaurant down the same road from the Hotel...

Very happy to return and book again if ever in Copenhagen

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Grant2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    370
    354
    147
    98
See reviews for
194
406
72
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

While the ascot is a traditional hotel, it also has several apartment style rooms in an adjoining building, suitable for 1 person to families of 5 or 6. I've stayed twice, once alone and once with our family. Both times, we found the rooms to be spacious, clean, quiet and with all the amenities needed. Many windows provide lots of light (but with good curtains to block it also) and a nice view onto the quiet street and across the square. There is a small kitchen area with 2-burner stove, coffee maker, fridge in case you are ambitious and want to cook. Additionally, there are many restaurants situated on the same block, within 250 meters. The regional train and metro stations are within 300 meters, as are the main bus lines. Tivoli entrance is 200 meters away, and there is also a public swimming pool within a short walk.
Fresh towels are provided daily, and the beds are made up even in the apartments, so to me they seemed to be the best of both worlds - hotel and traditional home apartment!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I was a little perplexed when booking the hotel due to mix review I read in tripadvisor but considering its location booked anyway. It nice experience, staff were friendly and accomodating. The room was big enough and had an empty fridge which I didn't notice at the beginning. The breakfast was just fine though not many choices for hot meal. For the 4 Star hotel the Bed and Pillow quality can be improved, they truly are discomfortable to sleep but if you are there for only night or two it doesn't matter.

Room Tip: Room at the courtyard facing was quite..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zahed I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
361 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Across the World the major stores are assaulting our senses encouraging us to buy a turkey or goose with a 'consume by ' date of 23rd December, trying to push us into the present buying panic that drives their sales figures and empties our bank accounts. I believe that the Christmas spirit is something more than that. It is a time to count our blessings not how much we have spent, we can reflect on that in January! In the run up to Christmas I love to go to places that help to evoke that Christmas spirit. So this year it was Copenhagen at the beginning of November. It has history, it has churches, it has a Little Mermaid yearning for love.

Despite global warming it was satisfyingly cold. There were few signs of Christmas, unless you count the all year Christmas shop where I bought the traditional new decoration for the tree, this year it was a small straw reindeer with a red ribbon. It will sit well alongside my blue horse with the missing back leg.

I chose the very un-Danish sounding Ascot Hotel as my vacation accommodation (thanks tripadvisor for the reviews which helped my decision) The hotel is three minutes from the central station so fantastically located. I purchased a travel card from Information at the airport which gave three days unlimited travel on trains, metro and buses throughout Copenhagen as well as free entry to lots of museums and other attractions. We visited the zoo, fifteen minutes from the centre by bus and well worth a half day. Then there is the Carlsburg tour. Free entry with the card and two beers included. The Christmas beer had just gone on sale which added to the experience. We even managed a little Nordic Noir with a visit to the government buildings of "Borgen" and a trip over the bridge to Sweden famous for the series called appropriately 'The Bridge'. I saw no murder victims at the halfway point but I did get two hours in Malmo, worth a visit in it's own right. Visit or just stare at the 'Turning Torso', tallest building in Sweden, allegedly twisting itself towards Denmark in an overt political statement. Oddly I had the best Danish pastry in Sweden, a confection of pastry, custard and apricots which could not be eaten in a dignified manner since whichever way you bit into it, it would explode in another unexpected direction.

Back to the Ascot Hotel, in a little back street just behind the main square and a couple of minutes from a range of restaurants, it is a perfect family hotel. 'Charming' comes to mind. Spectacular if somewhat un- 'pc' murals in the lobby, a little bar to one side which does simple but wholesome food. A large breakfast area serving buffet style. Try the fresh orange squeezer for that early morning lift. It broke down twice but I was impressed by the speed in which the staff got it going again. Our room was on the first floor so we were able to avoid the microscopic lift/elevator. Great accommodation in a small suite where my son aged 11 had a very popular separate room with a TV. We could have done with a kettle as the ability to make coffee was much missed.

It is my third visit to Copenhagen and each time Tivoli Gardens has been closed. I stared like a small child through a small gap in the fence at the lurid attractions and made a note to plan my next trip around opening seasons. Through the gap I saw a man setting up a Christmas tree. That reminds me, it is now mid-November, I must go and buy a turkey today because 'when they are gone they are gone'.....

Room Tip: For families or those with walking difficulties ask for a lower room as the lift is slow and small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 900Lancasterfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

As a regular traveler to Copenhagen (over 5 years in over 40 different hotels) I have homed in on the Ascot Hotel. The building itself is magnificent, staff great, location superb (not in the seedy part with Vesterport close by) but it its also modestly priced for Copenhagen.

Room Service is offered from a number of excellent restaurants in the building (steak, italian, tapas etc) and the WiFi connection is free (although in some of the top rooms its hard to get a great connection on a phone).

The bar is disappointing however with bars around the corner it doesn't matter (the Scottish Pub is just around the corner with usually cheaper beers in the week and live music).

The gym is basic but often un-used so with a running machine, stepper, rowing machine and bike the other machines are all I needed.

I cant recommend this hotel highly enough - as I prefer a quiet room I suggest asking for a room on the inner courtyard nearest to the left of the hotel as you look at it. They also offer apartments for when you want to do some cooking yourself.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank bishy1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I was lucky enough to get upgraded to one of the Hotel Apartments when I came for my one night stay during a business trip to Copenhagen and was pleasantly surprised by the standard of the apartment. It had everything you would need, and was clean and fresh.

The flat screen TV with a welcoming message with my name on it was a nice touch.

The hotel staff were friendly and even opened the bar for me when I asked for a nightcap. (also grateful that they didn't itemize the hotel bill so I was able to claim for that on my expenses ;-) )

The breakfast was great with Danish pastry to die for.

Would definitely return there, as it's also so central to the train station and the night life, and all for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessiebessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

You can't beat the location of this hotel. Minutes from Tivoli and walking distance from many of the main attractions, shopping, restaurants. The hotel staff is very pleasant and helpful and speak very good English. Breakfast is good, a few hot items, fruit, yogurt and a lot of pastries, breads, meats and cheeses. The room we had was very small and the beds were terrible. My husband and I had a double room which was just two single beds pushed together with single bedding. The beds kept splitting apart which is so uncomfortable. (I know hotels often do this in Europe but normally the beds would zip together or at the very least, they would use the appropriate bedding) Worse than that is that there is hardly a mattress. It is a very thin, very uncomfortable piece of foam. Although this hotel has some great things going for it, if you can't get a good night sleep, I don't see the point. Change the beds and I would give it a great rating.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#33 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,360 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
First Hotel Kong Frederik
First Hotel Kong Frederik
#61 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
#46 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
First Hotel Twentyseven
First Hotel Twentyseven
#53 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Property: Ascot Hotel
Address: Studiestraede 61, Copenhagen 1554, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Hotel in restored & modernized turn-of-the-century bathhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing