We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too expensive, good location, but not so great amenities”
Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ascot Hotel
Ranked #65 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel in May 2013, on a business trip with several colleagues. Visiting Copenhagen in spring can be a good time, or bad. In my case, I had to book this hotel and not others because many hotels were fully booked. Copenhagen had many festivities in May, and so if you can plan early, book other hotels.

I don't really regret staying in this hotel. For one, the bathroom facilities were good - the water heater is very responsive, and the hotel makes sure that the shampoo and shower gel are replenished on time. The hotel also provides water and snacks at the lobby if you are interested. The gym is pretty much available most of the time. Location is good - you can walk to the train stations nearby, grab a taxi round the corner, and browse at several shops located nearby. The surroundings are also peaceful and quiet - you don't get many people talking loudly etc.

The only grouse I have is that breakfast is really expensive, and the range fairly limited. I ate breakfast in the hotel once, and I would say it is better to consume breakfast outside if you have the time. Another issue I have is that the hotel has only one elevator, and which requires you to open the doors manually. And it isn't helpful that the elevator is pretty small, and slow. If you want to check out, and you happen to stay at the highest floor, plan to check out early.

Room Tip: Any level would be fine, unless you are particular about the waiting time for the use of an elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wai Meng Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

426 - 432 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

The position of the hotel was perfect but i can´t say much more good about it. Our room smelled very strong of cigaret smoke even though Ascot is a non-smoking hotel. When we asked for something to eliminate the smell with, their only suggestion was refreshing spray but after all they didn't show up. Our room was also dirty especially on the floor and again they didn't show up to fix it even though they said they would. And we had to ask for toilet paper which was almost finished when we checked in. The breakfast was good with a lot to choose from, and since it was new year´s day the breakfast lasted until 11.30 am which was generous.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We stayed here four nights over Christmas 2013. We had a one bedroom apartment. It was quiet, clean, well appointed. I have stayed in hotels all over the world and I would rate this as far above average. Excellent buffet breakfast, good front desk service, excercise room, and just 500 yards from Tivoli.

Room Tip: Upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casamartillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Friendly reception, great breakfast buffet. But that's about it on the positives.

Small room, old-fashioned bathroom, terrible furniture. Nothing really serious, but just plain mediocre.

What annoyed me most was the lack of access to the 4th floor by the staircase leaving you with the small and slow lift as the only option. Especially in the busy morning hours it requires a lot of patience.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank anettethore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Nice location in central Copenhagen, friendly staff with excellent English and local knowledge on attractions and getting about. Being in the centre, there can be occasional loud reveller on the street

Breakfast was ok... Perfectly edible not a vast choice.
There is a wonderful Italian restaurant down the same road from the Hotel...

Very happy to return and book again if ever in Copenhagen

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_Grant2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

While the ascot is a traditional hotel, it also has several apartment style rooms in an adjoining building, suitable for 1 person to families of 5 or 6. I've stayed twice, once alone and once with our family. Both times, we found the rooms to be spacious, clean, quiet and with all the amenities needed. Many windows provide lots of light (but with good curtains to block it also) and a nice view onto the quiet street and across the square. There is a small kitchen area with 2-burner stove, coffee maker, fridge in case you are ambitious and want to cook. Additionally, there are many restaurants situated on the same block, within 250 meters. The regional train and metro stations are within 300 meters, as are the main bus lines. Tivoli entrance is 200 meters away, and there is also a public swimming pool within a short walk.
Fresh towels are provided daily, and the beds are made up even in the apartments, so to me they seemed to be the best of both worlds - hotel and traditional home apartment!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I was a little perplexed when booking the hotel due to mix review I read in tripadvisor but considering its location booked anyway. It nice experience, staff were friendly and accomodating. The room was big enough and had an empty fridge which I didn't notice at the beginning. The breakfast was just fine though not many choices for hot meal. For the 4 Star hotel the Bed and Pillow quality can be improved, they truly are discomfortable to sleep but if you are there for only night or two it doesn't matter.

Room Tip: Room at the courtyard facing was quite..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zahed I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel SKT. Annae
Hotel SKT. Annae
#49 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,164 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#36 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,576 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
ProfilHotels Mercur Hotel
ProfilHotels Mercur Hotel
#59 of 117 in Copenhagen
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
First Hotel Twentyseven
First Hotel Twentyseven
#57 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,254 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#11 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,965 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
#43 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Address: Studiestraede 61, Copenhagen 1554, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: £84 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Hotel in restored & modernized turn-of-the-century bathhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing