We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experince worth having”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Ranked #23 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Experince worth having”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Prompt front desk allows you to get into your room fast, but if you are a first timer to this hotel then its rustic castle decor of extremely old wood, brick and mortar will catch your attention. Well as a traveller I love such variations which are distinct than the regular star experiences. Salt (Hotel resturant) serves good Danish food and what caught my attention again was different kinds of salts served on the table prompt service and warm staff leaves you with a feeling of coming back again. Central location of the hotel allows you to explore CPH mostly by walking. Experince worth having I must say for the stay I had.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitin_705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,136
    1,761
    646
    215
    99
See reviews for
560
1,724
141
829
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (884)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I have stayed at The Admiral Hotel many times, quite often around the New Year period.
I always find my stay very comfortable, and the staff very helpful, and the food very good
I will continue to return in the future

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LIMEHOUSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed 4 nights at the Admiral including New Year. The staff were friendly and efficient, the room was large and comfortable, the lifts were the quickest- minimal wait times, and the hotel is well located for central Copenhagen attractions. Most are within easy walking distance. The New Year gala was a great way to see in the New Year, make new friends and dance the night away. Food from the Salt restaurant was of a high standard and breakfast was all you could wish for. A great place to stay if you're visiting Copenhagen.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool. Ignore the rating
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertsclubman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights over New Year. The staff were great. The hotel is in a great location and could easily walk everywhere we wanted to go. However the room was small with a huge pole in the middle of the room. The hotel was also noisy with thin walls.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank massiebm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
115 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The Admiral is undoubtedly a safe bet if you're looking for a good hotel in Copenhagen but it could certainly do with improvement in some areas.

It's in an old granary warehouse on the waterfront just behind Nyhavn so it's a short walk to the Little Mermaid and Kastellet if you head north and it's really close to Kongens Nytorv and the more exclusive end of the shopping street as well. You really can't beat the location which as I say is central but also quiet.

The rooms themselves are ok but they're not outstanding. They're comfortable and clean but it's an old building so noise travels plus our room - like many others - had a large beam in the middle. It obviously adds a bit of character but for people who get up in the night, it can be a bit of a hazard as it's easy to knock your head. Also, the bathroom was nice but a little lacking on the toiletries front which is also disappointing.

For anyone who hasn't been to Scandinavia, they don't really do double beds. You get two singles pushed together with two single duvets. Not a big issue but just something to be aware of.

There's no gym which is poor for a hotel of this calibre but if you're a jogger, it's a great spot as you can run all the way to the Little Mermaid in relative peace.

The breakfast is good but the downside is that it can be like a zoo sometimes if the hotel is full - which it often is. There's a ridiculous system where a man has to check your details on the computer and then show you to one of the breakfast areas which means there can be long queues. Also, when we stayed, we had to wait for hot water to be replenished as well as some of the other breakfast goods because there were simply so many people trying to eat at the same time.

Staff are really nice and friendly and it's definitely a nice place to stay although having stayed there a number of times now, I'd probably try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Great Location, great history, great architecture, great design, friendly staff

The only negative point about the hotel is that the walls between rooms are not greatly soundproofed. Thanks to a rather noisy family in the room opposite, we did get woken up a few times during our stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank leonwill90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London -Barcelona-Lima
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I really loved everything about this hotel! The architecture, the minimalist decor, the location , the terrace restaurant, the service. I highly recommend it.

I like the fact that it is right on the waterfront and perfect to go running,

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LajefaBarcelonaLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
200 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,664 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#10 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,265 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,057 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Admiral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Admiral Hotel

Property: Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Address: Toldbodgade 24- 28, Copenhagen 1253, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Admiral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next door to royal residence Amalienborg Palace and just a short walk from Nyhavn, this imposing 200-year-old former granary warehouse is one of the largest hotels in the city, with 366 rooms - but don't let that put you off. It may not be boutique but big can definitely be beautiful. Beyond the two cast iron canons at the entrance is a neon-pink bar (great for a pre-dinner tipple), while guests retire to rooms showing off classic Danish touches such as teak furniture, low ceilings and original wooden beams. Best of all are the panoramas across the water towards the city's shiny Opera House and Christiania: a view fit for royalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Copenhagen Admiral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing