We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Ranked #25 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed 6 January 2014

One night stay at the hotel was a very pleasant experience. The place is situated at the harbour promenade, facing the Opera house, very close to the central part of the city. It is a converted storage house and it kept the ambiance and the feel of the old times (wooden elements, low ceilings). It was tastefully decorated for holidays and for a doble room we payed much less compared to the regular price (water view was additional 200 DKK, totally worth the money, though the balcony is really tiny so you can enjoy it from the window only, and breakfast is 140 DKK per person). Lobby is well equipped with places to sit, automate dispenser (for small necessities such as tooth paste, memory stick or nylon stockings) and a bar. The restaurant within hotel is open up to 10 PM and they also provide room service. Breakfast was exquisite, bufe great choice for everyone, lots of places to sit (it was pretty crowded when we were eating). The room was comfortable and clean enough, with free wi fi, tv, mini bar, bath tub, hair dryer, bide and complementary toiletry for each person, suitcase rack and enough place in the closet. All in all, it was a very pleasant experiance and we would not mind repeating it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lillemusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,750 - 1,756 of 4,073 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

We chose the Admiral for location and value and were not disappointed. The reception staff were helpful and knowledgeable. The room was large with a canal view, though the bathroom was rather dated. Using room service, we ordered a very delicious meal from the Salt restaurant, with enough charcuterie left over for breakfast! The fireworks display on Saturday 4 January was a bonus.

Our only concern was lack of attention to detail with housekeeping. We felt that only minimum bed making, cleaning and tidying was done during the three days we stayed. This was disappointing, but overall we enjoyed our stay and visit to Copenhagen and we didn't let this spoil it. We did inform reception of this, who took note, and apologised on behalf of the hotel. Should we visit Copenhagen again, we will probably return to the Admiral.

Room Tip: Ask for room with canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorrieEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed as a couple for three nights over New Year with what appeared to be an extremely good deal for bed and breakfast. Hotel was handily placed just ten minutes walk from the nearest metro station and was easily found, once there the reception staff were friendly and efficient. The room itself was attractive with large wooden beams in the middle. A kettle was provided but a little surprised to be rationed to one coffee each per day. The hotel's location on the waterfront is attractive and both Nyhavn and the Little Mermaid are close. With hindsight a location on the other side of town, nearer Tivoli may have better for us (is anything reasonably priced at Nyhavn?) but so be it. Probably the highlight of the hotel was the excellent breakfast. The food was varied, high-quality and well-presented. The breakfast staff were a credit to the hotel with their inobtrusive efficiency. Apart from the room's coffee rations I can thoroughly recommend the Admiral.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichMelBarnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed 4 nights at the Admiral and it was the perfect hotel for our City trip with its very central location and nice atmosphere. Many sights are nearby: Amalienborg, Copenhagen Theatre and Nyhavn are just 2 min walking distance. In the surroundings many cosy restaurants, bars and cafés can be found. For my next trip to Copenhagen I would book the Admiral again. The front office staff was very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EasyFFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Prompt front desk allows you to get into your room fast, but if you are a first timer to this hotel then its rustic castle decor of extremely old wood, brick and mortar will catch your attention. Well as a traveller I love such variations which are distinct than the regular star experiences. Salt (Hotel resturant) serves good Danish food and what caught my attention again was different kinds of salts served on the table prompt service and warm staff leaves you with a feeling of coming back again. Central location of the hotel allows you to explore CPH mostly by walking. Experince worth having I must say for the stay I had.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nitin_705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I have stayed at The Admiral Hotel many times, quite often around the New Year period.
I always find my stay very comfortable, and the staff very helpful, and the food very good
I will continue to return in the future

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIMEHOUSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed 4 nights at the Admiral including New Year. The staff were friendly and efficient, the room was large and comfortable, the lifts were the quickest- minimal wait times, and the hotel is well located for central Copenhagen attractions. Most are within easy walking distance. The New Year gala was a great way to see in the New Year, make new friends and dance the night away. Food from the Salt restaurant was of a high standard and breakfast was all you could wish for. A great place to stay if you're visiting Copenhagen.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool. Ignore the rating
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robertsclubman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 118 in Copenhagen
313 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#9 of 118 in Copenhagen
260 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#13 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#12 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,477 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#23 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Admiral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Admiral Hotel

Address: Toldbodgade 24- 28, Copenhagen 1253, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: £114 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Admiral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next door to royal residence Amalienborg Palace and just a short walk from Nyhavn, this imposing 200-year-old former granary warehouse is one of the largest hotels in the city, with 366 rooms - but don't let that put you off. It may not be boutique but big can definitely be beautiful. Beyond the two cast iron canons at the entrance is a neon-pink bar (great for a pre-dinner tipple), while guests retire to rooms showing off classic Danish touches such as teak furniture, low ceilings and original wooden beams. Best of all are the panoramas across the water towards the city's shiny Opera House and Christiania: a view fit for royalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copenhagen Admiral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing