We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Copenhagen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Ranked #23 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful Copenhagen”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We spent a lovely 3nights here recently, the position was perfect beside the waterway with a lovely outdoor seating area. Our room was comfortable with a great view and service excellent. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christinetaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,125
    1,745
    631
    211
    99
See reviews for
552
1,701
141
822
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (873)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Orebro, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Had a wonderful stay at the Admiral Hotel! The location is fantasic! It is 1 block from Nyhavn and a 7 minute walk to the subway station where you can access a direct line to and from the airport. It is only a 15 minute subway trip and costs roughly 40 Danish kronor. The best part about staying at the Admiral was the friendly staff. They were super nice, happy, helpful and accomodating. We had a little problem with the taxi drivers outside the hotel and the reception staff stepped in and handled everything. They were also really helpful with directions! Lastly, the breakfast was amazing! Lots of options, including organic, and a huge assortment of fresh fruit! To say the least...I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms in the summer are the best....you get a nice breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BPietsch4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at The Admiral in mid July; the hotel is an old warehouse and former hospital so full of character and interest.

However I was given a room on the top floor (6th) with an upper level bedroom. I am sure that in the winter it would be great but in high summer, it was stiflingly hot. After some discussion, I was moved to the second floor which was better but with no aircon the heat at night was oppressive. Not good preparation for a business meeting the following morning. There is no complementary water available and the minibar prices are quite steep.

That said, the staff are friendly and helpful and the overall ambience is great. Breakfast was excellent although on the expensive side.

I would recommend but suggest you avoid during the summer months if you want a good nights sleep.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Good location with walking distance to most attractions. Thats about it for the good. Stayed in the "family rooms" - small and stuffy with no AC and will get hot in the summer. Dated blue carpets and tiny bathroom. Hotel is very busy and feels like a bus station. If you have a car there are a limited few spaces and you have to pay at the meter every 24hrs (so time it so you will be around to fill up). If lot is full you have to go to a public structure several blocks away. Room service is spotty. often miss items on floors and do not refill shampoo, coffee etc on a regular basis. Overall was reasonable for a city hotel ,but definitely not a luxury stay. Also be aware of construction on the quay with noise every morning except sundays.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flywith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
600 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at the Admiral prior to a fjord cruise. Many weeks before, the Nimb and some others were booked up, and we chose the Admiral based on a combo of ratings and location.
I have to say that the hotel, although not cheap, delivered well.
The location is right on the harbor, with lots of ships in sight and nice strolls right outside the doors, leading up the harbor and to the Little Mermaid. We always try to take public transportation as a first choice. It was an in between location from that point of view. It was easy enough to walk there unladen from the Metro, but coming from the airport with bags, it was a bit too far to drag the bags and a bit too close for a cab. All in all, not a big deal – but many people would prefer to “cab it” from the airport. Some of the sights, which would be too far to walk to from the hotels near Tivoli, were easy to get to from the Admiral. The old hippie commune part of town was an easy walk. The museum with the Danish furniture display was nearby. The Tivoli is not too far to walk. So, while not being “central,” it was still in a very good place. It was also convenient to get (by cab) to the ships from the hotel, no through- the- city traverses. That last point can be important at peak times because the city is being dug up for a new subway line and many of the roads are closed.
The hotel itself is an old restored harbor building, probably an old warehouse. They have done a very nice job preserving the old beams and brickwork, giving the place a lot of character.
Our room, while not spacious, was large enough to not be cramped. The fittings were good, everything was clean, and the design of the whole was functional and stylish enough – maybe a bit dated, but in the Danish Modern kind of way, i.e., a bit retro, which was nice. The beds were comfortable, and (we faced the street) the road noise was basically nonexistent at night. We would have preferred a harbor view, but even weeks ahead it was not available. “Our side” was fine for two nights, but if a view or location is important to you, be advised – the top hotels in Copenhagen book up well in advance in the summer!!
Breakfast was really good – although a tourist scene, i.e., doddering people who seem to have never seen a buffet before, taking forever to choose something simple. (Butter or margarine? Margarine or butter? I just don’t know!!”) But with a bit of patience, it was still enjoyable. The buffet was very good, with a nice variety for many different tastes, all fresh and good. And the soft-boiled eggs were perfect – that is always a sign for me if the kitchen is well- run or not. Given the city, it is no surprise that there was knäckebröd and herring available too.
The staff were excellent. And given the doddering tourists we encountered there, you might say that the staff were remarkable: patient, caring, and even probing to see what they might do to help you out. I’ll note that we were well in advance of our check- in time, and the staff informed us that the room we wanted was not yet made up, but gave us the choice to be in another room which was already available – very nice to be given the choice.
I suspect that when the peak tourist season is past, the hotel is even more enjoyable.
All of the above points to a very professional management – these things do not consistently happen by accident! They are obviously hiring the right kinds of people and training them well.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the harbor. The scenery will be better and it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MunichEricJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Felt like I was trapped in a hot box for two days. How quant, charming and service oriented is no matter when you suffer in the heat. Could not wait to escape the heat. Staff smiled, thy had been here before. In 2014 there is is no excuse. Technology is available. They obviously just do not care. Stay away in summer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stewart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel is full of character, the rooms have an individual style built in to an ancient mill. Overall hotel impression has a quality feel and the dated room décor didn't detract from my stay, it even added a bit a character. Much better than major hotel chains which I try and avoid if possible.

Bar has a great atmosphere and the staff are always welcoming and cheerful.

Breakfast was very good and in a lovely room setting. Good selection and plenty of room even though the hotel was busy.

Room Tip: I presume some rooms have a view of the river. Probably worth requesting a room at the rear of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudioSilvermore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#2 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,014 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#7 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,213 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#10 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Admiral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Admiral Hotel

Property: Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Address: Toldbodgade 24- 28, Copenhagen 1253, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Admiral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next door to royal residence Amalienborg Palace and just a short walk from Nyhavn, this imposing 200-year-old former granary warehouse is one of the largest hotels in the city, with 366 rooms - but don't let that put you off. It may not be boutique but big can definitely be beautiful. Beyond the two cast iron canons at the entrance is a neon-pink bar (great for a pre-dinner tipple), while guests retire to rooms showing off classic Danish touches such as teak furniture, low ceilings and original wooden beams. Best of all are the panoramas across the water towards the city's shiny Opera House and Christiania: a view fit for royalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Copenhagen Admiral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing