We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, great location, atmosphere, and food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Ranked #23 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, great location, atmosphere, and food”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed 6 nights in this hotel.. It was a very old building that had been beautifully remodeled. The location could not have been better for touring Copenhagen. The breakfast was wonderful and we were also impressed with Salt though we only had lunch there once.

Room Tip: There is construction going on, on the seaside of the building. Once it is done this will be the bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,125
    1,745
    631
    211
    99
See reviews for
552
1,701
141
822
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (873)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
227 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We usually go for small-ish hotels, but couldn’t get booked anywhere so ended up at the Admiral which is a large converted warehouse on the harbour front. The hotel is close to Nyhavn and many other tourist attractions and is only a short walk from the Kongens Nytorv metro line.

We had a room facing the harbour which seemed like a good idea at the time but it was very noisy. During the day, you get non stop noise from the building work which is just a few yards away. We could live with that as we were out and about most days, but they start really early and also work Saturday. Then there was Papiroen (Paper Island) opposite who play their music very loudly until quite late. Also, as the weather was warm there were people sitting outside talking in the hotel restaurant below, and generally a lot of people were out and about all hours which all conspired to make it a noisy place to stay.

The room we had was a reasonable size, albeit there was a lot of furniture and some huge wooden posts to navigate. The weather was terrific whilst we were there but, as a result, the room was incredibly hot and stuffy even with the window open. There is no air con so guests are given a small, portable fan which is pretty much useless. The lighting in the room was very poor and made it almost impossible to read at night. The bathroom was small and we had a strong toilet/drain smell the whole time we were there.

The staff were friendly, but the service in the bar and restaurant was quite slow. Housekeeping were incredibly messy and left stuff all over the corridor.

On a positive note, the breakfast was plentiful with a good selection of cereals, yoghurt, bread, cheese, etc and is kept well stocked.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BugLet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Hotel was perfect location for us as we wanted to be near cruise port but also near city hub. Everything about the hotel stay was fantastic - great food, excellent service, clean & tasteful setting. Room was a little warm on hot day as we were on top floor.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cj2nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensbury, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed one night before departure on a Baltic Sea cruise. It is a lovely hotel with a lot of old world charm, but it has no air conditioning and it was quite warm while we were there making it uncomfortable. There are large windows but they have no screens. The staff was helpful in providing a small table fan upon our request.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at this Hotel for three nights. We had a lovely room which faced the harbour. This Hotel has loads of character. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was superb with huge choice to meet all needs. We had a meal and snacks at the Salt restaurant which we were delighted with. The location is first class,five minute walk from main restaurants etc. We did the sailing cruise which is just outside the Hotel and it was a great experience even for a none boating person like myself.

Room Tip: One with a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed for 4 nights in July. The room was pleasant and reasonably modern. The location was excellent. The staff were young, enthusiastic and service oriented.

Pros:
Location, location, location
Staff
Nice sized room and bathroom in historic building
Pleasant european style breakfast

Cons:
Noise from the construction of the car park attached to the theatre. Starts at 7am promptly each morning except Sunday.
On a hot day, no air conditioning. This can make sleeping impossible.

Room: I stayed in both road and water view. Definitely water view. Even with the building works opposite it was still quieter than the road side.

Sights and dining:
Do a food tour with Copenhagen Food tours. Excellent. Or look up their site and follow their program (not quite as good doing it by yourself).
Go to the local fine food markets at Torvehallerme. They bring in boutique products from all over Denmark. Some of the finest. Quick way to get a foodies tour of Denmark.
The Viking Museum was great fun. Small and in a beautiful location. Good day trip. Plus they offered sailing in a viking ship. Really enjoyed this.
The David Collection of muslim art is the finest historic collection I've ever seen.
Best Bistro, Madklubben, Sore Konjensgade. Most enjoyable meal I had.
Breakfast, nearby at The Union Kitchen Store Standstaede 21, Nyhavn

Room Tip: Stay on the water side high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sewme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed one night Pre-cruise at the Copenhagen Admiral. This historical warehouse has an old world charm. It is located right at the water's edge for a great view. The hotel rooms are not air conditioned but we never felt that we were missing it. A window in the room provided plenty of air. This hotel is located right on the edge of Nyhavn. Lots of restaurants close by. The staff was great helping us map out a walking tour of the city. The rooms were very comfortable and large. We will certainly stay here again when in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#2 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,014 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#7 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,213 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#10 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Admiral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Admiral Hotel

Property: Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Address: Toldbodgade 24- 28, Copenhagen 1253, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Admiral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next door to royal residence Amalienborg Palace and just a short walk from Nyhavn, this imposing 200-year-old former granary warehouse is one of the largest hotels in the city, with 366 rooms - but don't let that put you off. It may not be boutique but big can definitely be beautiful. Beyond the two cast iron canons at the entrance is a neon-pink bar (great for a pre-dinner tipple), while guests retire to rooms showing off classic Danish touches such as teak furniture, low ceilings and original wooden beams. Best of all are the panoramas across the water towards the city's shiny Opera House and Christiania: a view fit for royalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Copenhagen Admiral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing