We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Ranked #44 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I read the reviews regarding the Copenhagen Plaza Hotel and the vast majority had recommended it so I decided to book. I cannot speak more highly regarding this hotel. The room, food, staff, location were brilliant. There is an old fashioned charm about the place. It is in the perfect location opposite the railway station on one side and on the other is the Tivoli Gardens. A perfect spot for our break exploring Copenhagen. Around the corner was the place where you can pick up the sightseeing buses. We asked for a quiet room with a view, which was exactly what we had. The breakfast consisted of various meats, breads, cheeses, coffee, tea, fruit juice, fruit, yoghurt, egg, bacon, sausage, beans and eggs. The staff were really helpful and could not do enough for you. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pembs_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    411
    264
    102
    65
See reviews for
238
383
60
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Easy access to central train station, Tivoli Gardens, shopping district and restaurants. Excellent breakfast buffet and restaurant for dinner; attractive Library Bar has a jazz pianist some evenings. Rooms are attractive and well-appointed, but request one away from the train station, which is noisy throughout the night. Classy decor and central location makes this a good place to meet locals. Internet terminal is a godsend for those not traveling with web-connected devices, and English-speaking staff is very helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid train station side of this hotel, since the (noisy) trains run all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This hotel is full of promise: a historical story, a beautiful facade and a fantastic central location. It all ends when you walk in the door. We were "greeted" by a rude receptionist who merely could give us a grin. Don't expect much service here as the front of house staff from the reception to the breakfast room staff couldn't care less. We had to change rooms three times: first we were given a double instead of a twin we had requested, the second room had a broken and very noisy A/C. The third room was adequate, although all the furniture very tired, wallpaper torn. The rooms would need major renovation ASAP, old world charm shouldn't mean dirty bathrooms and worn carpets. The Plaza doesn't merit its 4-star status.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hki_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The location is fantastic; right across the street from Tivoli Gardens and the central train station. Being so central also meant it was a short stroll to Stroget (a main shopping street) and the Nationalmuseet (free, and well worth a nosey!).

Our room was #510, which, when we looked at the floor map, seemed to be the largest room on that floor. It was certainly large by European standards. It had a balcony where you could look out on all of Tivoli and the station as well - and I sat on my bed to watch the fireworks on Saturday night. Really really cool. We were surprised we had no rail station noise whatsoever. It was perfect for when we stayed all day at Tivoli, and on closing, just walked out of the entrance, crossed the street, and went straight to bed. It couldn't have been a more perfect location for Tivoli.

We thought the staff were very nice. They were friendly enough and assisted with maps, directions, dinner recommendations and replacing the non-working TV remote in our room. Breakfast was a good selection of hot and cold items. It was busy on the Sunday morning but quieter on Monday and Tuesday mornings. The library bar was BEAUTIFUL, albeit expensive, but everything in Copenhagen is expensive, so you got used to it. We also liked the glass elevator, which was quirky but had character.

I can't give this hotel 5 stars because of a few minor things. One: there was a drains smell that did come into the room from time to time. It wasn't horrendous or overpowering but it was noticeable. Two: housekeeping. I found stains on the bed linen when we arrived, and the bathtub had hideous mildew stains in the corners (I suspect due to poor ventilation; they changed towels every day because they wouldn't dry otherwise; there's no heated towel rack). Three: the walls were marked and needed decorative attention. Four: the sofa in our room was tired, worn-out and needed replacing. I would think these should be relatively easy things to fix and would really give the hotel that wow factor.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsTravellerEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

Good location and solid building, we had no noise from outside even if facing the station.
Staff very scandinavian, do not expect friendly smiles, extra help or indeed customer services. The girl who checked us out was rude and could not understand why we came back to copenhagen... Very odd behaviour.
The rooms need renovating, the air con does not switch off and is noisy. Showers are grimey.
The best bit in this hotel was the library bar. Beautiful!
Breakfast is adequate. Hot and cold buffet.
Location is good.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in May 2013. Staff were rude, not very helpfull and I never saw anyone smiling. They probably hate working there...

First night we had to change room, as the A/C was out of order. Not very impressed with the help from the staff with this incident. Finally we got a new room, and hadde a couple of hours sleep before the noise from the Copenhagen Control Railway Station woke us up.

Breakfast is boring, and not very exciting. You get the basics, but nothing more.

If you want to stay close to town centre, this is a good choice. However the service is below average, and the hotel is old, and it's very noisy. I am not coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tobbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

Next to Tivoli and Central Station, But still quiet. Has a gym and nice bar. Recommended for central location. Room not big but very little noise and you will sleep well. Located near lots of restaurants and bars.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JCamp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#33 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,383 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,813 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#26 of 116 in Copenhagen
875 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#79 of 116 in Copenhagen
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Plaza Hotel

Property: Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Address: Bernstorffsgade 4, Copenhagen 1577, Denmark (Formerly ProfilHotels Copenhagen Plaza)
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Club-like Hotel with classic, grand-hotel ambiance, built by King Frederik VIII. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Copenhagen Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel Copenhagen
Plaza Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing