We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Ranked #45 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Breakfast was okay, but the room was pretty grim - they really need to do something with the grout in the bathroom - the mold was scary. Hair dryer didn't work. I was provided with a hand held one, but there was no way to plug it into the bathroom (because the broken one was firmly attached). Drying my hair without a mirror was challenging.

Location is terrific, easy to get everywhere and the bar is really nice, fun drinks and great atmosphere.

Room Tip: Be careful of rooms facing the train tracks - and avoid room 102.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kjringreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    408
    262
    100
    63
See reviews for
231
379
59
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I just returned from 9 nights here. What a disappointment. The location is excellent and the place is pretty from the outside, but the inside is in desperate need of an update. The housekeeping is some of the worst I've experienced in European hotels. The carpets look and feel dirty. I left a wet washcloth and empty shampoo container in the shower one day and returned to find them still there after the room had been cleaned! Bathroom towels are threadbare and there were no bathmats on the bathroom floor. Housekeeping told us they never use them. The breakfast was adequate but the breakfast room never felt clean and had a bad smell. One other irritation was that there was a concierge desk but the concierge was Missing in Action 90% of the time. I would not stay here again unless they updated this place. It has great potential but feels sadly neglected at the moment.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolFromNapaValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Big Bear Lake, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We decided to book our last two nights in Copenhagen while there earlier in the vacation. That was our first mistake as the city was pretty heavily booked for no particular reason. We finally found the Copenhagen Plaza just outside of the hauptbahnhof which was a little pricier than we had intended and required us booking a "superior" room. Our feelings: " at least we have a room".
When we returned to Copenhagen by train we were excited that the room was so convenient. Checked in and was sent to room #102. It was in need of refurbishing, very dark, bathroom tiles needed cleaning and regrouting, ineffective air conditioning. It didn't even have coffee facilities in the room. We immediately named it the Dungeon. I wouldn't send my pets there. We were terribly disappointed but felt lucky to have a room.
The next morning I informed the receptionist about our negative feelings. She told us to go have a good time touring and when we returned they would have us in another room. That afternoon we returned and had been moved to room #410. WOW! Now that was a superior room. Views of Tivoli, large French doors with small balconies, a coffee maker and cheery ambience.
Though still pricey in our book, we would return to room 401 in a minute. If you book and get assigned to room 102, make a fast getaway!

Room Tip: My room reviews are for the second night. Avoid room # 102
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I visited this hotel for a weekend. I was looking really forward to staying at a hotel with Classic, old fashioned style. However when I got there it was obvious to me that this could have been extravagant, but due to lack of maintenance and service, it should have been a low budget stay instead. The price is really over limits compared to the dirty tiles, leaking faucet, etc. The managers should really spend some of the profits for the maintenance account or lower the price for a stay. The breakfast buffet was also very standard. Nothing regarding this hotel met my expectations except for the location. I Will choose another hotel for my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lykke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

location -- The hotel is right across Copenhagen Central Station and one of Tivoli's entrances. Most of the sights are within walking distance, but there are also several bus stops and a taxi queue nearby. At the corner of Vesterbrogade (2 minutes away on foot), you'll find a large tourist information center with a small café; next to it is a money changer with good rates and no commission. Further down Bernstorffsgade, about 5 minutes away, is a small Rema branch (grocery).

rooms -- We got one triple and one double room. Both were spacious and clean, with an elegant old-world aesthetic that matched the overall feel of the hotel. Modern amenities included airconditioning, bathroom heating, a flatscreen TV and free wifi. The triple room had a balcony overlooking the train station, but it was quiet. Beds were comfortable with fluffy pillows and thick duvets. It was really a great place to come home to after long hours of touring.

breakfast -- Eggs, pancakes, sausages, bacon, beans, fresh fruits and vegetables, cold cuts, pate, cured fish, cheese, bread (including Danish of course), fruit preserves, yogurt, an assortment of juices and teas, coffee

staff -- all very fluent in English, and very accommodating.

other things -- I loved the elevator, a glass-walled contraption that you had to manually open; the fresh flowers inside were a nice touch. There's a column in the lobby with engraved plaques bearing the names of famous people who have been previous guests. The hotel is also famous for the Library Bar which is found on the ground floor. Guests are free to have a look inside before opening hours; it houses hundreds of old books, and is very stylishly furnished. My drink recommendation is the Cozy Apple :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fkt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere
Level Contributor
227 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The rooms ares spacious and comfortable, but the bathroom should have been scrubbed more thoroughly. Noise from the corridor and other rooms as well as the rumble of the railway is somewhat disturbing. The Library Bar is fabulous. The hotel could not provide us a taxi at all; the one they ordered never csme and the staff told us to get out and fetch one in the street. Never again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed here for Eurovision in May for 5 nights and left thoroughly pleased with our stay.

The hotel is centrally located next to the train station and we were on the top floor with a superb view overlooking Tivoli. Our room was a good size with mini bar (no in room kettle) and a clean, classic styled bathroom. Although some may find the hotel dated, to us it was full of history and charm and made a change from all the standard chain hotels. Free wifi was provided throughout which we experienced no problems with and the breakfast was the usual choice of hot and cold.

The staff can not be thanked enough for all their help during our stay. From allowing us to have our tickets sent direct to the hotel and holding on to them until we arrived, to having our bathroom fixed immediately after experiencing problems with our shower on day one. It was greatly appreciated and made us as guests feel very welcome.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#33 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,357 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Nimb Hotel
Nimb Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Plaza Hotel

Property: Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Address: Bernstorffsgade 4, Copenhagen 1577, Denmark (Formerly ProfilHotels Copenhagen Plaza)
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Club-like Hotel with classic, grand-hotel ambiance, built by King Frederik VIII. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Copenhagen Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel Copenhagen
Plaza Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing