We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great to be close to the station but it means no sleep” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copenhagen Plaza Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Ranked #47 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great to be close to the station but it means no sleep”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was my sixth visit to the Plaza Hotel -- and it will be my last. We had a room that faced directly onto the train tracks and the trains ran intermittently throughout the night, but after 5.00 am, with the beginning of the working day, the noise really intensified. Apart from the noise our room really needed a paint job and there was a massive coffee stain on the bedspread. And the bathroom was terrible, with mildew in the tile grouting and in the caulking. There was also slime around the shower door (which leaked). This is not a cheap hotel, which made the experience even more frustrating.

Room Tip: Be sure not to get a room that faces directly onto the train racks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    397
    257
    94
    61
See reviews for
220
367
58
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The plaza hotel has great location, right next to Copenhagen central station. Lovely view overlooking tivoli, however very disappointed in the state of the room. The carpet was old and stained and the paintwork on the walls was shabby. The beds were comfortable but the pillows were awful! They were very small and you would need a couple to be comfortable. The bathroom had a shower and bath but couldn't get the temperature right, scolding hot then freezing cold. The room itself was really spacious with a mini bar and tea and coffee facilities which was appreciated. There was a door leading to the room next door, and although it was locked had the guest next door attempting to open it from the other side. Staff were lovely but would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saz09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Clinton, State
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Perfect location! I live in Annapolis, MD USA and love being in a town like Copenhagan... Similar in street pubs, history and charm with water views! I picked this hotel for its tradional old Denmark experience. At first step into the lobby and then old fashioned elevator, I was hooked as I love history and it's quaintness! If you want a modern hotel, there are other corporate options but in my opinion, you would miss out on the Danish charm! Hotel was perfect as we had room 608 with a view of Tivoli gardens and train station along with the City skyline! Friday night we opened the bathroom window and the main room window to enjoy the sounds of a concert at the Gardens.

Room. Flat screen TV, plenty of outlets, hair dryer , soap, shampoo and conditioner packets, free wifi, and loved the mini fridge! It was stocked with beverages but we We also picked up a few items at the gourmet grocery store for late night snacking. Lobby staff was very kind, efficient and also had recommendations for site visits. We didn't buy breakfast at the hotel but saw many in the restaurant with full omelet bar, pastries etc.

At 830am we walked next door to the coffee bar with an AMAZING latte with soy milk and a delicious PALEO raw food bar (ask for honey packet)! Everyday, we walked and walked. Everything was so close and WOW, great strolling all the streets to see the sites!

NOTE: Denmark culture is different so maybe everyone is not as chatty to each other and as friendly as you maybe. Also, service may be at a more leisurely pace but enjoy...it's vacation and we are fortunate to experience this beautiful hotel and the Danish culture!

Awesome time!!!
Melanie

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelanieAnnapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We spent the first 2 nights of our Denmark holiday here and we chose it for the location. It is superb! Right next to the train station and very attractive to look at.

We had room 608 on the top floor with superb views across Copenhagen and especially Tivoli Gardens. We also had a good view of the main entrance to the train station and even 'a loo with a view' as the velux window had no blind and we could see streetlife below (no-one could see in!)

We had a large bathroom with a rather poor hairdryer but lots of room to spread out toiletries etc. The shower was in the bath and there was a lot of mould but of course it is an old historic building. Towels were fairly good, not as fluffy as I would have liked.

My mattress needed replacing as it tilted sharply to deposit one on the floor! The springs were ropey and it wasn't the greatest of beds. However, it was all clean.
We had a good TV and plenty of space including a hallway.

Breakfast was pretty good with just about everything anyone could want - the breads were lovely and so were the pancakes.

We dined in the hotel on our second evening as we were tired after a visit on the train to the wonderful cathedral at Roskilde. Whilst the meal was good the service was infuriatingly slow and it seemed to take forever. We asked for the bill and waited 20 minutes and then asked again and the waitress said she 'had forgotten'. I wouldn't eat in the restaurant again unless they got their act together - one chef and one waitress is inadequate.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful. The Library Bar was fascinating and reading the list of previous guests was like a Who's Who of world leaders, showbusiness and sport, very impressive.

The hop-on-hop-off bus goes from just around the corner outside the Radisson (there are 2 competing companies) and the Bornholmer bus goes from outside the hotel which was brilliant for us as we were heading off to Bornholm next.

I would stay at this hotel again because of its location (very close to the City Hall and Stroget) but I wouldn't eat in their restaurant.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor with a Tivoli Gardens view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

For the price of this hotel, we were extremely disappointed. On the first night we had to call housekeeping to replace our duvet which seemed to have a blood stain on it. The overall feel of the hotel was run down and dirty. There was a cup of used cigarette buds on our balcony along with a used dirty plaster (band-aid). There were cigarette burn marks in the curtains as well. The restaurant was disgusting, on the first morning it was full and we were seated in this terrible area with badly stained chairs and a very drab looking room with coat hangers, we felt we were seated in a cloakroom. The restaurant staff were most unfriendly and not wanting to help with anything (not sure if this was a language issue, but the reception staff were great). The only plus side to this very expensive hotel is the location, right across the street from Tivoli Gardens and the Hard Rock Cafe as well as the main train station made the stay bearable. Our major issue with the hotel was the lack of cleanliness and the stained bedding - we can handle just about anything but I expect clean sheets and duvets! For the money we spent, I felt badly ripped off!

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here, be sure to pay the little extra for the balcony (not really a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Breakfast was okay, but the room was pretty grim - they really need to do something with the grout in the bathroom - the mold was scary. Hair dryer didn't work. I was provided with a hand held one, but there was no way to plug it into the bathroom (because the broken one was firmly attached). Drying my hair without a mirror was challenging.

Location is terrific, easy to get everywhere and the bar is really nice, fun drinks and great atmosphere.

Room Tip: Be careful of rooms facing the train tracks - and avoid room 102.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kjringreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I just returned from 9 nights here. What a disappointment. The location is excellent and the place is pretty from the outside, but the inside is in desperate need of an update. The housekeeping is some of the worst I've experienced in European hotels. The carpets look and feel dirty. I left a wet washcloth and empty shampoo container in the shower one day and returned to find them still there after the room had been cleaned! Bathroom towels are threadbare and there were no bathmats on the bathroom floor. Housekeeping told us they never use them. The breakfast was adequate but the breakfast room never felt clean and had a bad smell. One other irritation was that there was a concierge desk but the concierge was Missing in Action 90% of the time. I would not stay here again unless they updated this place. It has great potential but feels sadly neglected at the moment.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolFromNapaValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#33 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,281 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#4 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Nimb Hotel
Nimb Hotel
#15 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#8 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Plaza Hotel

Property: Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Address: BernstorffsGade 4, Copenhagen 1577, Denmark (Formerly ProfilHotels Copenhagen Plaza)
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Club-like Hotel with classic, grand-hotel ambiance, built by King Frederik VIII. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Copenhagen Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel Copenhagen
Plaza Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing