We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Copenhagen Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Copenhagen Strand
Ranked #27 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Great location. Great breakfast buffet. Comfortable beds. TV provided channels in local language as well as variety in English. Staff was extremely nice and helpful. Only reason reason didn't give 5 was no air conditioning and we had pretty hot weather while here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank b0nanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    709
    323
    76
    29
See reviews for
223
602
65
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Needed somewhere basic to stay last minute the night before Eurovision and Copenhagen Strand was the best hotel we could find for a reasonable price. The reception area and small bar area are nice, and the breakfast in the morning was really lovely, as many other people have already said.

I've stayed in many European hotel rooms so small rooms don't really faze me but we were in a room that was in the corner of the corridor so it was almost triangular shaped. Very awkwardly shaped and not much room in there for much except the bed and desk, but for one night it was perfectly adequate.

Everything was nice and clean and had all of the basic essentials. About a 10 minute walk from the metro station, which is directly connected to the airport so it was very convenient. The surrounding area is really nice by the water, great to have an evening stroll. There are also a few good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel even though it's not right in the centre of things. Would recommend to anyone looking for a basic and reasonably priced hotel in an expensive city!

Room Tip: Try not to get the weird corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ikatticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed here for three nights. Good location within walking distance of most landmarks, and easy access to mass transit for farther away things. European breakfast buffet is good and filling, and even at equivalent of $25 per person is good value for money (in context of crazy expensive Copenhagen restaurants and $40 average entrees)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expat_ams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Very near central shopping area, NY haven, ferry stop, metro etc.

Friendly staff

Good continental free WiFi
Our bed wasnt massive but we had a standard room. Nice little balcony over looking the
Good place to use as a nice comfy bade when exploring the city

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

After an exhaustive search of properties suitable for my wife and two young boys during a holiday to Copenhagen, I chose the Strand. I looked at almost every location (Islands Brygge, Norrebro, etc); property type (International Name Brands, smaller boutiques, apartels, etc and finally pulled the trigger because of the price and proximity to all the main sights of Copenhagen.

The hotel was offering heavily discounted rates for the Easter week. I booked my reservation several months prior and found even greater discounts as long as I pre-purchased the rooms (no refunds or cancellations).

For my needs, the location could not be beat. Walking distance to NyHaven , Stroget, the Metro, but far enough from any crowds. The hotel is on a quiet street facing a peaceful canal across Cristianshavn. Many non-touristy restaurants are within several meters of the property.

I initially reserved a lower tier room, but was then emailed and offered an upgrade for a reasonable fee. I took the bait. It was well worth it. The room I got was a fairly large sun-drenched suite directly fronting the canal, with one entire wall full of windows. The main bed for my wife and I was equivalent to a Queen size by American standards. The kids were in a fold out sofa that was made up already when we checked in.

The bathroom was sized generously as well, done in class marble and granite replete with "his and her" sinks, heated floors, bathtub and shower combo, and the typical shampoo, conditioner, shower amenities. My wife is very picky about cleanliness, and she was impressed.

Our rate included daily breakfast which had quite a variety of options. I could have had just a croissant and danish butter everyday, and I would have been happy! They were THAT good. But there was so much more to try, like the cold cuts and cheeses. There were no "international options" during my stay, e.g. no bacon, no pancakes, no fried potatoes but I was not expecting such any way.

Only shortcomings during my stay had to do with the level of housekeeping service. Almost everyday, there were little things here and there that were not tidied up in the room. For instance, although the coffee cups in the room were replaced, the used cups were not removed. This happened EVERY day. Another example: old newspapers left near the garbage can were clearly meant to be discarded, but they were still there by the time we checked out.

Overall, the Strand offered the best place to stay for a holiday in Copenhagen with my family. I would choose this property again when we return to Denmark.

Room Tip: The Copenhagen Card allows you ride the Canal Boat Tour from either operator, despite what the Copen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank OJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at the Strand Hotel in Copenhagen for three nights commencing the 21st of April. The Hotel is situated overlooking the canal and in a quiet area of the City, we experienced no traffic noise and it was a very peaceful location but only a short walk from Nyhaven and other key sites. We booked a Superior Double room which was very clean and of good quality with hair dryer trouser press and room in the mini fridge to hold some of our own items such as milk. The communal areas were also clean and tidy and all staff spoke excellent English and did all they could to help with an enquires we had. The breakfast was good quality, wide variety and plentiful. Local bread, cheese, pate, crisp breads, fruit, cereals, eggs and wonderful porridge with cranberries.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narvik, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Great location, got a cheap upgrade to Suite overlooking the harbor. Wonderful view, quiet. Nearby everything, especially great restaurants nearby. Great and wonderful beds - also long blankets :-) Very walking a biking friendly location, but then again so is most of Copenhagen.

Room Tip: Very little traffic overlooking the harbor. One way street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrodeKommode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
232 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Maritime
Hotel Maritime
#70 of 117 in Copenhagen
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Phoenix Copenhagen
Phoenix Copenhagen
#38 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,225 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,280 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Front
Scandic Front
#37 of 117 in Copenhagen
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Strand

Property: Copenhagen Strand
Address: Havnegade 37, Copenhagen 1058, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Copenhagen Strand 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Copenhagen Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen
Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing