We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, close to central train station, slightly noise with no air conditioning.”
Review of DGI-byens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DGI-byens Hotel
Ranked #74 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel, close to central train station, slightly noise with no air conditioning.”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Good value for money with breakfast included in a really central area.
The only problem is the proximity with central train lines and some noisy related to that.
Beside this, no air conditioning during summer can bring some trouble even in Denmark...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    157
    157
    71
    23
See reviews for
120
107
23
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
north east Hampshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I managed to break toes and badly sprain my ankle on the way to the hotel. They helped me sort out the trip to the hospital, loaned me a crutch, gave me chocolate and let me stay in the room until after check out time so that I could rest before taking an insurance agreed earlier flight home.

The hotel is behind the main railway station and has a leisure centre, bowling alley and restaurant as part of the complex (extra charge, but reduced prices for guests). We had a superior twin room - spacious, clean, very comfortable beds. There is free wi fi in the public area, but this is not stuffed with comfy couches or the like...Coffee and tea packs can be bought for 20DKK to have in your room where there is a kettle. I would have liked a mirror by the desk - easier to do your hair and make-up sitting down...The hotel was busy, but very quiet once in your room. Whilst not in the thick of the main tourist area, if you are not hobbling around, everything is walkable.

The buffet breakfast was fabulous.

Room Tip: We stayed in 201 - it had a balcony and was a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bootsmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The pro of the hotel is the location, few minutes walk to the railway station and quite close to the central area. I spent two nights there in February and I consider it a decent hotel if you are in transit. I don't recommend it if your stay is longer. The area is noisy due to the fact that it is close to the railway, and if you are not a deep sleeper, you can be awakened.
The hotel is basic and clean and it is connected to a big recreational complex with a swimming pool and gym.
You should be aware that there is no bar downstairs, so if you plan to have some drinks in the evening you should go out. Also, the wifi is working only at reception!
Part of the staff (the guy from our first night) was very nice, helpful and gave us lots of information. But when we left, the lady from reception was rude and didn't want to give us the receipt as she was explaining several times that we will receive it by e-mail from booking.com. After we insisted, she made the effort of printing it. Of course we didn't receive from booking any receipt until now...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This is one of the worst experiences I've had staying in a hotel. Most of the staff were extremely rude and unfriendly and they try to make you pay for everything instead of trying to make your stay comfortable.
I was there for business and I needed an iron for my clothes on the day of an important dinner. Not only the room did not contain the iron it said in the description, when I went downstairs to reception to ask, they told me that they did not have any available and couldn't help me. Not even an apology. It took two days and meeting Martin (the only member of staff that was actually helpful to get hold of an iron and apologetic for the bad service!)
As for the rest, the rooms are as spartan as a student dorm and hot as a sauna, the cleaning service consist on folding your duvet over the bed and consider yourself lucky if you get a new towel (in 6 nights there!) and the breakfast buffet was mostly empty one hour before closing. One morning there wasn't even coffee...and no one to ask for it.
Oh, and the place is quite noisy: my walls trembled every time one of my neighbors closed the door.
I am not a picky traveller, but when working, I expect some level of comfort, especially at more than a 100EUR a night!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauripi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Ansgar
Hotel Ansgar
#50 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Tiffany
Hotel Tiffany
#34 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Best Western Hotel Hebron
Best Western Hotel Hebron
#17 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#78 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
#46 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Star Hotel
Copenhagen Star Hotel
#68 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DGI-byens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DGI-byens Hotel

Property: DGI-byens Hotel
Address: Tietgensgade 65, Copenhagen 1704, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — DGI-byens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DGI-byens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dgi Byen Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing