We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five star only in name...”
Review of Hotel D'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel D'Angleterre
Ranked #1 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Five star only in name...”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Imagine a five star hotel with staff that seem like they are on a gap year break. For all the hype and the cost, this hotel is not worth the money. Any other five star we've stayed in (and there have been many) the staff are seasoned and highly professional - not here. The room was +£300 and you felt like you were staying in the attic (striped wallpaper added to jailed-in effect). Finally, I had emailed in advance saying it was my husband's 50th birthday. In any other five star hotel, you would have had a note from the manager at minimum, with a welcome and birthday wishes. Save your money and book Skt. Petri or the Admiral. Those are consistently very good hotels with better value for your money.

Room Tip: You need to book a suite to get a proper room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Laura k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    95
    25
    15
    8
See reviews for
125
346
20
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We spent three wonderful nights at this hotel in early July. As a member of the LHW, it is a respite in a maze of activity. The rooms have been gorgeously renovated. We were up-graded to a junior suite so had the space and comfort. Our room was on the top floor so commanded sweeping views of the Copenhagen skyline. Our tasty breakfast was included. Drinks in the bar were delicious but perhaps overpriced. In fact, Copenhagen in general seems higher than other European capitals. The staff were ALL most professional and loved making our stay very special. The concierge gentleman recommended great restaurants. While only partially renovated at this point, it is easy to see this IS and always WILL be a gem in Copenhagen. The care and attention to detail plus the gracious staff make this that SPECIAL hotel.

Room Tip: Suggest a high floor, front harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

After booking the Clarion Hotel in Copenhagen. Visiting this hotel and walking away from the old and ratty quarters, we found, only by accident Hotel D'Angleterre. And how lucky we were that they had a room to accommodate us. Beautiful beyond words. Not only is the hotel's main areas stunning- an interior designers and architect's dream, but our room was comfortable, beautiful, relaxing and inviting. The staff very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast set in sunny and tree'd landscape. I can't say a bad word about this hotel. Yes, it is very, very expensive. But in traveling the world today, you get what you pay for. The location is just perfect. A walk across the large traffic circle, you come to the beautiful olde port. The hotel is right in the shopping district so you can visit the quaint and designer appropriate boutiques, easily. The hotel is a real gem. If you do choose this hotel, I know that you will not be unhappy with your choice.

Room Tip: You need to choose a room depending upon your budget as the hotel is very expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TIMLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I recently stayed at the Hotel D'Angleterre with my mother, my brother and his wife. This was prior to a cruise to the Norwegian fjords. The reservations were complex because we came at different times of day because of our flights. The hotel had arranged beautiful rooms next door to each other on the top floor. We had junior suites with an interesting layout, with windows and french doors to private balconies overlooking the Bryggen. The decor was calmly modern, beautiful designed, and as peaceful as could be. Bang and Olufsen televisions and other top of the line and modern electronic accessories were part of the comfort. The HVAC system was perfect and very quiet. The bathroom was small, because of the design of the room, and the shelf space was a bit underdesigned there.

The breakfasts were marvelous, including champagne and fresh orange juice, fabulous bread and many selections with European, British and American favorites. Service was very good, perhaps not perfect. The bar is a great place to spend an hour or so. It is small, very select, and a great place for people watching inside and out.

Where this hotel truly excelled was at the front desk and concierge service, We had many needs because of our family group, and they attended to them all with a friendly aplomb. I cannot imagine another hotel of this quality in Copenhagen. If it is within your budget, go without any concerns, and enjoy it!

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw looked very nice. No question the junior suites and above are a good deal roomi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vt-Tallahassee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

the hotel is just re-opened and I was fearful, given some of the early reviews.
Worry not.
It is beautiful, perfectly located and the staff have clearly had intensive training in cordiality.Ultra comfortable beds ands sensibly designed rooms.
Breakfast was not cheap but quite delicious. They also had a lactose free cupcake for me that was heaven.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I just stayed there with my hubby and 2 kids. Its the most luxurious hotel that I have stayed in. The beds are so comfortable that you will never want to wake up. The hotel is newly done up and is in immaculate condition. The service is the best that can possibly be. The front guard took me to the nearby mall personally because I have having some problems getting in , during a night sale. The other staff was always so helpful.

The hotel is in a great location for tourists. The main place Nyhavn , where all the canal tours happen is 2 minutes away. All the shopping is around the hotel.

Just one thing, that it is a very expensive hotel. A cup of milk for my child cost be about 15USD

They even gave a Lego toy for each kid which made them ecstatic. Very kind gesture.

Room Tip: The rooms are very large. The suites have no added advantage
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank YamaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantucket
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We enjoyed a three generation family trip to Copenhagen and picked Hotel D'Angleterre because of previous visits to the city. The location is really great and central to all the sights. Even with young children, it was easy to walk everywhere and we enjoyed the canal boats, too. The rooms were very nice and comfortable. The bathrooms are also updated (we liked the heated floors) and my only complaint was not having shelf/counter space for toiletries. There is construction of a new subway system across the street, but even the rooms we had on the front side were nice and quiet. There is a current station a half block away which made it very easy to get to and from the airport. We found the staff very friendly and helpful and the concierge gave us some great dining tips.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#2 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#13 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#7 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D'Angleterre

Property: Hotel D'Angleterre
Address: Kongens Nytorv 34, Copenhagen 1050, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#1 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#1 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel D'Angleterre 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denmark's leading five-star hotel is located in a landmark building overlooking the lovely King’s Square in the heart of Copenhagen. Hotel d’Angleterre is renowned for our luxurious accommodations, fully personalized services and outstanding hospitality. With more than 250 years of history, Copenhagen's finest hotel can also pride itself on being one of the oldest hotels in the world. We have welcomed many prominent guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ so you can book your Hotel D'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Angleterre Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing