We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance, luxury, and location!”
Review of Hotel D'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel D'Angleterre
Ranked #1 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We just returned from a Baltic cruise and decided to splurge on our hotel in Copenhagen for a two day stay. Great decision! Wonderful hotel in the perfect location. Attentive, youthful, and energetic staff were eager to make our stay enjoyable. Every person we dealt with went out of their way to help us, but especially notable were Christian, Katrine, Sebastian, and Jan. The Hotel D'Angleterre clearly deserves its 5 star rating!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nikkiess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

573 - 579 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

This is a proper 5 star hotel. The staff are very polite, knowledgeable and helpful. The newly renovated rooms are very nice indeed. Services like valet parking, concierge etc work well. The hotel is perfectly located in the centre of the city. It is very expensive though, but if money is no object, stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavRo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We had a nice dinner and stayed the night in a lovely room with a view of the square and Nyhavn. Good and nicely presented breakfast. The Hotel had just reopened a few weeks before our stay and work hadn't quit finished.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank libu1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I arrived with my teen daughter and husband for two nights. We had a lovely suite. A balcony over looking the main square in Copenhagen. Only 22 rooms were available in the hotel as the other end was under renovation. The hallways are lovely and very wide. A blend of traditional and contemporary furnishings was refreshing- There was no noise and no problems with the renovation happening across the road given that We arrived during the week as well. The staff was very helpful-although the concierge (young man) had mentioned that some sights to see were only a short 10 minute walk away. Hardly. It would have been at least 25-30 minutes. Glad we took a taxi to the Tivoli Gardens for dinner as we were tired from a whole day of walking! The concierges were perhaps not as well educated with some things but they certainly looked professional. The hotel has a lovely restaurant with good food with a lovely terrace if the weather permits. Truly a lovely hotel and when the renovations finish in 2018 it will be a gem! Dont let it stop you from staying there-it was the most central hotel as well for the boat tour and shopping.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank RobinP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We spent three days last July at this property. The service is very good and polite, very professional. The room we had (a good deluxe suite) was very well appointed and the bathroom was very nice, good size, bathtub and a separated shower. The breakfast was also very good! In our last day, we had to leave early and couldn't have breakfast, but even so, the recepcionist told us to grab something from the buffet, which was very kind. I highly recommend this property. It is very well located, in front of the King's Square and the Opera, and the New Port is just a 5-minute walk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Limalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Imagine a five star hotel with staff that seem like they are on a gap year break. For all the hype and the cost, this hotel is not worth the money. Any other five star we've stayed in (and there have been many) the staff are seasoned and highly professional - not here. The room was +£300 and you felt like you were staying in the attic (striped wallpaper added to jailed-in effect). Finally, I had emailed in advance saying it was my husband's 50th birthday. In any other five star hotel, you would have had a note from the manager at minimum, with a welcome and birthday wishes. Save your money and book Skt. Petri or the Admiral. Those are consistently very good hotels with better value for your money.

Room Tip: You need to book a suite to get a proper room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Laura k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We spent three wonderful nights at this hotel in early July. As a member of the LHW, it is a respite in a maze of activity. The rooms have been gorgeously renovated. We were up-graded to a junior suite so had the space and comfort. Our room was on the top floor so commanded sweeping views of the Copenhagen skyline. Our tasty breakfast was included. Drinks in the bar were delicious but perhaps overpriced. In fact, Copenhagen in general seems higher than other European capitals. The staff were ALL most professional and loved making our stay very special. The concierge gentleman recommended great restaurants. While only partially renovated at this point, it is easy to see this IS and always WILL be a gem in Copenhagen. The care and attention to detail plus the gracious staff make this that SPECIAL hotel.

Room Tip: Suggest a high floor, front harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Nimb Hotel
Nimb Hotel
#2 of 117 in Copenhagen
448 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 117 in Copenhagen
352 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#8 of 117 in Copenhagen
348 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,104 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#24 of 117 in Copenhagen
4,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D'Angleterre

Address: Kongens Nytorv 34, Copenhagen 1050, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#1 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#1 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#1 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: £383 - £1,175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel D'Angleterre 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denmark's leading five-star hotel is located in a landmark building overlooking the lovely King’s Square in the heart of Copenhagen. Hotel d’Angleterre is renowned for our luxurious accommodations, fully personalized services and outstanding hospitality. With more than 250 years of history, Copenhagen's finest hotel can also pride itself on being one of the oldest hotels in the world. We have welcomed many prominent guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel D'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Angleterre Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing