We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don’t miss the lobby bar!”
Review of Hotel D'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel D'Angleterre
Ranked #1 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Don’t miss the lobby bar!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We did not stay overnight at this hotel, but the lobby and bar area are one-of-a-kind. If you don’t mind splurging on a couple of drinks for you and your favorite spouse/friend/lover, this is the place you have to go in Copenhagen. It is easy to spend a couple of hours in this exclusive bar (indoors or on the patio) meeting people and thoroughly enjoying the best drinks you can find in Scandinavia. My wife had a wonderful glass of champagne while I enjoyed an “Original G.T.” (gin and tonic) – as the English would want it. Watching the master bartenders mix the drinks was another part of the fun. You won’t find another bar like this anywhere in this part of the world.

Room Tip: We didn't stay in the hotel. We simply went to the lobby bar based upon the book "1000 Pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlton E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    96
    25
    15
    8
See reviews for
126
353
20
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Great hotel located in Kongens Nytorv. Until 2018, you are probably better off getting a room facing the back of the hotel as there is major construction going on of a metro system in Copenhagen. Stayed on the top floor and it was very quiet and lovely. Had a small outdoor terrace that was wonderful. The restaurants Balthazar and Marchal were both excellent. Very expensive, but worth it. The service is top shelf. Very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amldate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctyankee20
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Wonderfully renovated classic hotel in a great central location. Staff was great, room was outstanding. Not cheap but worth the money in my view. One of my favorite hotels. Really not a single critical thing I can think of to say.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ctyankee20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We arrived early on Easter Sunday after a long flight from Sydney.Fully expecting to be told to leave our bags and wander the very silent city until early afternoon .So we eagerly accepted their offer of coffee in the lounge whilst they resolved our booking .Imagine our delight after 15 minutes when the everhelpful staff annouced they had upgraded us to a suite and our room was ready.And it was not yet 8am. Room aside which was large and very comfortable there is a lot to like about this hotel.Wonderful staff ,good restaurant and a great position near Nyhavn.
And for history buffs i believe it was the Nazi headquarters in WW 2.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank birchgrovesydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Absolutely magnificent. We stayed at this hotel to celebrate our anniversary and the setting couldn't get any better. Everything is top notch. The staff is extremely attentive, from the door man to the elevator cleaner. The receptionist gave us a smiling, warm welcome and helped us in any aspect.

We enjoyed the luxurious swimming pool in the basement after our fitness session. Don't miss it!

The breakfast was enormously delicious. Small delicacies, a wide selection of cold cuts, pastries, bread, delicious yoghurts, fresh pressed juice, smoothies and the best chorizo I ever tasted.

Hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Try to get a view over the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We spent two nights here on a short break and loved it.

The reception staff and concierge could not have been more helpful and friendly, and our room was very nice; large and well-appointed with a terrifically comfortable bed. There seems to be an ongoing problem with the drainage on the roof that we looked out onto, but that didn't affect us. And if I had been in charge of signing off on a newly decorated room, I wouldn't have let the fitters get away with putting two pieces of slightly mismatched carpet into the room, with a poor fit at the join between the vestibule area and the main part of the room (Room 210). But obviously that didn't have a major impact on our stay either!

Some Tripadvisor reports have complained about slow service in the bar. Someone has been reading these because the service in the bar was faultless and the barman made excellent martinis.

The location could not be better, within easy access of everything in the centre of Copenhagen. And there was a nice swimming pool and spa area downstairs.I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I spend 3 nights at Hotel D'Andgleterre a few weeks ago, on a business trip. The pros are many:
- All of the rooms of the hotel are very spacey
-The room layout is well designed.
-The bed is fantastic! Amazing matress and huge in size!
-The bathroom is also very nice, with both shower and bathtub (at least in my room)
-The views from the front facing rooms are great (towards the main square)
-The curtains/ blinds close well and block all the light from coming in. Great bonus for light sleepers like me
-Very little noise coming from the street or adjacent rooms
-Amazing location at the very heart of Copenhagen. Next to all the great shopping and the metro station.
-Rich and tasty breakfast with very good service from all the staff.
-I also ordered dinner in the room once and the food and service were very good.
-Free wifi
-I got upgraded to a suite for my entire stay even if I had booked the suite for just one out of the 3 nights

Cons
- I would say just the expensive price

All in all, a great experience and I intend to return very soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
198 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,810 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#10 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 116 in Copenhagen
3,850 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D'Angleterre

Property: Hotel D'Angleterre
Address: Kongens Nytorv 34, Copenhagen 1050, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#1 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#1 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel D'Angleterre 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denmark's leading five-star hotel is located in a landmark building overlooking the lovely King’s Square in the heart of Copenhagen. Hotel d’Angleterre is renowned for our luxurious accommodations, fully personalized services and outstanding hospitality. With more than 250 years of history, Copenhagen's finest hotel can also pride itself on being one of the oldest hotels in the world. We have welcomed many prominent guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Prestigia, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel D'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Angleterre Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing