We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it”
Review of Hotel D'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel D'Angleterre
Ranked #1 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Sparkling huge rooms, friendly staff, fantastic location. Nice art great restaurant, apples for the kids. Wish they had 110v. 50% Americans. Street was being ripped up in July 2014, for a new subway, but still very nice street scene.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

508 - 514 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Hotel D'Angleterre is right in the centre of Copenhagen, on the Kongens Nytorv - where you will find dozens of restaurants (some of them very good, others so-so) overlooking the water. I think it might be Copenhagen's oldest hotel - their website claims 1755 as it's date of establishment and until recently it was showing it's age.

This was our first visit to the D'Angleterre since it reopened after a year long closure and extensive refurbishment and we were not disappointed. The hotel has been extensively refurbished in a tasteful mix of modern and traditional and all of the work has been done to a very high standard. Decor is beautiful with rooms and halls in a palette of light greys and white and their is an air of calmness and Danish efficiency throughout. As the whole hotel was gutted for this project you don;t need to worry about getting a new room or an old one - everything in this hotel is brand new.

We stayed for just one night but with family so we had three rooms and they were all excellent. We booked spa treatments for our relatives at the last minute and were prepared for "spa is full" message, but the D'Angleterre reserves a number of spa slots until the last minute for hotel guests, a practice that would be very handy for other hotels to follow.

And really important in a hotel - we slept very well - despite only being on the second floor and right in the centre of town, the room was silent thanks to Danish craftsmanship on the windows and doors and thick plush carpet in the rooms to absorb any sound. There's a lot of attention to detail in the rooms and suites from the coffee table art books in each room which were well chosen to the B&O TV's and audio systems. Our suite even had a hatch through the wall where housekeeping could place your laundry to avoid disturbing you - something I've only seen before at the Mandarin oriental in Hong Kong.

Overall we had a short but excellent stay. Service was very good and we'll definitely return. Copenhagen now has two excellent hotels - this and the Nimb. D'Angleterre offers a more formal, smarter service than the Nimb, which has other advantages and a lightly different style.

Room Tip: If you can, choose a corner suite on the 2nd or 3rd floor - beautiful views over the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glenn-LondonW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the d'Angleterre and thoroughly enjoyed outselves. This is a first-class hotel in every way, especially the service. Location in the heart of Copenhagen is ideal. Breakfasts are a sumptuous buffet. Dinner in the Michelin-starred restaurant, Marchal, is outstanding. We had the Chateaubriand, wrapped in truffles. Wow! Rooms are a bit small, but well appointed and comfortable.

Room Tip: We had a superior guestroom, 25 sqm. Adequate but a bit crampted. If we were to go back (and we woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SLRPBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

A wonderful hotel experience. The hotel has been tastefully renovated and we loved the decoration of the rooms, which is a perfect blend of modern and old style chic that fits and respects the old beautiful building. Fantastic bathroom and comfortable bed.

We were mildly annoyed by shortage of storage space in the room but apparently the hotel is trying to solve this problem.

The location is excellent and it is very easy to get to/from the airport with the Metro.

It is certainly not a cheap hotel but you get what you pay for. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jmalux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Hotel D'Angleterre in Copenhagen is synonymous with luxury. It is a grand old hotel, recently and beautifully restored. The architecture and design are fabulous. Our suite on the 4th floor was spacious and quiet. The staff are friendly and helpful. We celebrated our 33rd anniversary here and thoroughly enjoyed an evening of champagne at the Balthazar champagne bar followed by a wonderful lobster dinner in the main restaurant overlooking the square, which is unfortunately under construction at the moment, though the pedestrian traffic is always entertaining in Copenhagen. Though very expensive, this luxury hotel is worth the price for a truly luxurious weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed one night for our anniversary in a deluxe room. The room was superb and particularly the bed was amazing. They did a great job with the renovation and the rooms are truly first class.

The staff are friendly but things did not always go as smoothly as they should. Our check in was delayed - we had to wait in the lobby for almost half an hour while they made up the room. A day after we checked out they billed us for some mini bar items we hadn't consumed. This took some time to sort out as they were not really quick at responding to emails. Nothing big, but a nuisance and something one would not expect from a hotel at this level.

The only really disappointing thing was the breakfast that was just very average. Definitely on the low end for a five star hotel, but also at the expensive end. The Hilton Copenhagen for instance has a breakfast that is immeasurably better.

D'Angleterre has the ambition of being Denmark's best hotel but we got the feeling they're not quite there yet. Still it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Absolutely dreadful service at every stage. From arrival (car didn't show up to meet up us), doorman just stood there when we arrived no attempt to help with bags,receptionist who didn't seem to care we were there and took us to the room and just dumped us there to the concierge who just seemed to want to get rid of us. Our room key wasn't working so we stood at reception for 10mins whilst the 1 receptionist slowly checked someone out - plenty of staff came by but no-one asked if we needed anything. Finally i stopped someone and said my key isn't working, can you help please, "no i can't help" was the response, no sorry, no i will get someone just "no i can't help" and off she walked. No attempt at guest recognition - there for 2 days and the same reception/concierge guy asked me about a dozen times what room. booked a restaurant and tours - no details left in the room. queue at concierge to get the info and the guy just stares at you blankly trying to find what might have been booked and adds no info other than what's printed on the sheet (tour of the highlights of copenhagen - ask what they are and he finds another list). they sent us to do a canal tour and then a private tour by car......both tours cover exactly the same stuff, just one in a boat and one in a car! spa ladies more focused on their iphones than guests - i have never been to a spa where they don't ask you to fill in a form about you before your treatment.....not here....you arrive, they eventually acknowledge you and then you pass all the rubbish on your way to a room and they start without asking you a thing. a very painful massage follwed and at no time was i asked what i wanted or if it was ok ..... no amount of continually saying that hurts stopped or changed the treatment. went to the bar for a drink, sat there for 10mins with 3 members of staff chatting at the bar - no other guests were there but i still had to go and ask for a menu and service. we ordered 2 cocktails and not even a peanut was served with it. at every stage of our stay we felt unwelcome. the staff throughout the hotel are cold, rude and arrogant. this hotel looks lovely but the service is appalling

Room Tip: If you facet he square there is major construction work - the hotel don't inform you about this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
34  Thank gascony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Nimb Hotel
Nimb Hotel
#2 of 117 in Copenhagen
449 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 117 in Copenhagen
354 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#8 of 117 in Copenhagen
354 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,108 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#25 of 117 in Copenhagen
4,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D'Angleterre

Address: Kongens Nytorv 34, Copenhagen 1050, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#1 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#1 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#1 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: £382 - £1,171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel D'Angleterre 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denmark's leading five-star hotel is located in a landmark building overlooking the lovely King’s Square in the heart of Copenhagen. Hotel d’Angleterre is renowned for our luxurious accommodations, fully personalized services and outstanding hospitality. With more than 250 years of history, Copenhagen's finest hotel can also pride itself on being one of the oldest hotels in the world. We have welcomed many prominent guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Prestigia and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel D'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Angleterre Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing