We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay After a Cruise”
Review of Hotel D'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel D'Angleterre
Ranked #1 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Stay After a Cruise”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife and I stayed one night post a Baltic cruise. The hotel is in excellent condition as it has recently been renovated and it is beautifully done, Whilst we had asked for early check in, the hotel was full so we left our luggage at the hotel and explored our location. We were allocated a room in the early afternoon before official check in time The room whilst small was very comfortable, quiet, with a good desk and sufficient plugs to charge phone and electronic devices. The only minor issue we had was that the bathroom was large but had a standing shower in the bath . There is no shower curtain or screen so water from the shower goes all over the bathroom. This is a pity considering the bathroom has been beautifully renovated.

The concierges were helpful and recommend places to visit and eat and arranged taxi pick up for the next day to the airport. The hotel is in an excellent position to explore Copenhagen by foot and has many good places around it to eat . Would stay again if visiting Copenhagen

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EliR255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    99
    25
    15
    8
See reviews for
130
364
20
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed here the first weekend after the hotel reopened after a major renovation. It was very busy but the front desk handled the crowds very well. Our room was beautiful. Light and bright and very quiet. Really comfortable bed and the bathroom was the prettiest hotel bathroom I have ever seen. Common areas are really pretty. We did not use the spa or gym but they looked really nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momandktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel in the heart of Copenhagen has undergone a major renovation and is superbly presented. The foyer, entry area, bar and restaurant on the ground level are extremely elegant and the rooms spacious with a large bathroom. On our reservation email, we requested an early check in but were pleasantly surprised when we were told on arrival at 9 am after an early flight that the room was ready to occupy. The reception staff were very friendly and Concierge went out of their way to assist in arranging an international parcel delivery I had to do at short notice.
An excellent stay, impossible to fault. Good restaurants and shopping are steps away. The lively waterfront area Nyhavn is a five minute walk from the hotel. Copenhagen is undertaking a subway extension nearby but this has no impact on access to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A first clas hotel. The facilities and rooms are very good and the overall service are perfect. The restaurant Marchal is very good and so is the bar Baltazar.One of the best hotels in Scandinavia.
We will come back to this hotel

Room Tip: The rooms are very good and big
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scandinaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Beautifully restored and in the perfect location, the Hotel D'Angleterre made our visit to Copenhagen one we will never forget. The hotel staff warmly helped us in every way possible. Our room was immaculate and impeccably decorated. We loved the huge breakfast buffet every morning in the lovely dining room. Our three boys enjoyed the pool and snacks by the spa. We couldn't have had a better experience. Thank you D'Angleterre!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a view. Its worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my recent stay at the D'Angleterre. The location is perfect, the rooms are spacious and comfortable and the buffet breakfast was simple delicious. I arrived very late and was quickly checked in and escorted to my beautiful room, nicely appointed and although on the quiet side, I had a view a the side street with shops and restaurants. A room at the front would not have been any better because the views are obstructed by the construction going on in front of the hotel. The hotel is within walking distance to many of the tourist attractions and tons of restaurants in Nyhavn and Stroget. I walked almost everywhere including to the Rosenborg Castle as there is much to see along the way. The concierge was very helpful in recommending tips for sightseeing and how to use the public transportation system. I will definitely stay at this hotel when I visit Copenhagen again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the quiet side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrottingdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, CA
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The other reviews are right. This place is very close to perfection, the only negative being the cost. The room was beautiful and comfortable. The staff was very accommodating. The breakfast buffet was excellent. The location is also very convenient, at one end of the Stroget. We arrived exhausted after a long, long flight. Our room was ready before check in time. We were so relieved to find a no hassle environment. Unfortunately, they were unable to extend a late check out, but they held our luggage until the time we wanted to depart.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebraT26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
227 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,867 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 116 in Copenhagen
3,916 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Nimb Hotel
Nimb Hotel
#2 of 116 in Copenhagen
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D'Angleterre

Property: Hotel D'Angleterre
Address: Kongens Nytorv 34, Copenhagen 1050, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#1 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#1 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#1 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel D'Angleterre 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denmark's leading five-star hotel is located in a landmark building overlooking the lovely King’s Square in the heart of Copenhagen. Hotel d’Angleterre is renowned for our luxurious accommodations, fully personalized services and outstanding hospitality. With more than 250 years of history, Copenhagen's finest hotel can also pride itself on being one of the oldest hotels in the world. We have welcomed many prominent guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Prestigia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel D'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Angleterre Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing