We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”
Review of Hotel D'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel D'Angleterre
Ranked #1 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed for three nights before a cruise in one of the less expensive rooms. It was lovely-heated bathroom floor, spotless and comfortable. The service at the front desk was also excellent. The location is spot on-it's a short walk to the canal boat rides and good restaurants. The hotel also has a lovely bar and a fine restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hortense9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    101
    26
    15
    8
See reviews for
136
367
21
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Summit, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

There are certain hotels where service is casual yet seamless, where things seem run like clockwork with few jarring notes; this hotel is one of them. I tried to check in early and the man at reception offered to check me in to a room at the rear of the hotel but suggested i wait until the room assigned at the front of the hotel was ready. we dropped our luggage & went for a walk around the town. The wait was worth it. At 3pm we were led to a front room (suite) on the second floor (205)which rivaled in size some of the apartments available in New York. It consisted of a bedroom, an office & a TV room. There was an enormous walkin "his & hers" closet and two Bang & Olafson TVs. Not only was there an extremely well appointed bathroom but also a guest bathroom.
We ate dinner at the Marechal restaurant on the ground floor. Food was excellent but pricey.Dishes were for two people. Chateaubriand with marrow, potato pure , dried cheese & truffle gravy. cost 67Euros (about$100). Fried Pigeon with truffle pure, fried mushrooms, cornichons & vinegar marmalade was also $100 per person. That being said I enjoyed the food immensely , it was superbly prepared & well worth the price..
The only jarring note. This hotel has a gorgeous breakfast room that was originally an inner courtyard with pink marble pillars and an enormous glass ceiling. The breakfasters were dressed fairly casually, one or two business suits, a Muslim family with women in hijabs. Into this grouping arrives a man & woman "of a certain age" , up from the spa, dressed only white bathrobes & flip-flops. They waddle around the buffet table with everybody pretending not to notice. Truly a "grossout" but it didn't seem to both the Danish management.
I would definitely recommend the D'Angleterre to anyone visiting Copenhagen.

Room Tip: Try & pick a room on the front of the hotel. I hear that rooms at the side can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank magpie172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed for one night and got upgraded to a suite with balcony going around the corner, a view over the square.

The rooms are very nice with all you need to have a perfect luxurious stay in copenhagen. the staff is very friendly and assist you in all your matters. Parking our car, restaurants, shopping bags and 2 new coffetables was not any problem for them.

Love the way they have renovated the hotell, classic but yet trendy. Perhaps a little to trendy in some parts but lets see!

We will go back many many times more!

Room Tip: Room with a view over the square is prefered, but right now it is a construction site for the new me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loppan777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Prior to our Azamara Cruise, we stayed at Hotel d'Angleterre. Since our reservation was booked through a Virtuoso travel agent, the hotel upgraded our room & included the buffet breakfast.

Our room was excellent - very spacious with a comfortable king bed and a large walk-in shower. The breakfast buffet was excellent & set in a gorgeous room. The wait staff was very pleasant & the service excellent.

The hotel is gorgeous & situated in a great location. It's within easy walking distance to the Canal & the Stroget (pedestrian only shopping street). When in Copenhagen, it's best to watch out for bicycles since many people get around via bicycles that move along quickly.

The concierge at the hotel was excellent with very helpful recommendations! Overall the hotel service was very good. We had a problem when departing in that we never received a message that our driver would be delayed (the driver said he called & left a message with the hotel). I've corresponded with the hotel since & they indicated it would be investigated further.

Would definitely recommend Hotel d'Angleterre & would stay there again when returning to Copenhagen!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEMSCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed four nights in July on our first visit to Denmark. Location is excellent with most points of interest in Copenhagen within a reasonable walk. The hotel is a magnificent old building and inside is in impeccable condition with all the latest technology. We had a Junior suite and found it a good size and beautifully appointed. There are some excellent restaurants in Copenhagen and the D'angleterre restaurant is certainly one of them. It was all quite expensive but my sense is that is just what you have to expect in this part of the world.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

All together our stay in suite 222 was pleasant. Staff was helpfull and friendly, all surprisingly very young. The suite was large and the dressing was good. The distance between the bedroom and the living room was perfect (for the one who want to listen to Tv and the one who want to read quietly!)
Breakfast room could be better organized. So many little jars every where, with shrimps, for example are useless and the choice of viennoiserie is poor. Butter - again a little piece of it on a little plate - is frequently missing.
Furthermore Hotel guests should be invited to dress properly to access this room. The wearing of shorts and flipflops is not really in adequation with the category of the hotel.

Room Tip: Because of the constructions works of the new metro station just in front of the hotel, you may book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dommeldange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just returned home after a fabulous 2 night stay at the Hotel D'Angleterre with family and friends to mark my birthday. It is, without a doubt, the best hotel I have ever stayed at. The hotel's accommodation and facilities surpassed all expectations. The hotel was faultless and has one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in !!! The service was first class and made my birthday even more memorable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
257 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#9 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,366 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Nimb Hotel
Nimb Hotel
#2 of 117 in Copenhagen
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#24 of 117 in Copenhagen
3,988 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#7 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,927 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#11 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D'Angleterre

Property: Hotel D'Angleterre
Address: Kongens Nytorv 34, Copenhagen 1050, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#1 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#1 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel D'Angleterre 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denmark's leading five-star hotel is located in a landmark building overlooking the lovely King’s Square in the heart of Copenhagen. Hotel d’Angleterre is renowned for our luxurious accommodations, fully personalized services and outstanding hospitality. With more than 250 years of history, Copenhagen's finest hotel can also pride itself on being one of the oldest hotels in the world. We have welcomed many prominent guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Prestigia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel D'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Angleterre Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing