We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but not very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
First Hotel Kong Frederik
Ranked #65 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The location was great but the bathroom was very moldy. If you closed all the windows the room was sound proof - it is on a very busy road - but then the room was very hot and stuffy - luckily there was a fan. The hairdryer over heated every 60 seconds and we had to ask for shampoo, condtioner every day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
Thank Wout2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

702 - 708 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Hotel metres away from City Hall, main Square, main pedestrian street etc. Friendly staff, rooms ok, everthing works. Good Italian restaurant in Building, also used for breakfast which was comprhensive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, Receptionschef at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Neil J,

Thank you for staying with us in First Hotel Kong Frederik, and for taking the time to place a review on Tripadvisor.

I am very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We work hard to improve our service all the time, and make sure that our guests enjoyed themselves while staying with us. For instanse we provide a free minibar in the room, as we belive it a must to have a nice cold drink when you get back from meetings, sightseeing, shopping etc.
Our location is in the hearht of Copenhagen, and close to all the major sights, companies, restaurants and shops. I am very glad to read that you enjoyed this location and I am sure you made the most of it.

Med venlig hilsen / Best regards
Karen Henneberg
Receptions chef / Front Office Manager
FIRST HOTEL KONG FREDERIK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I liked staying at this hotel, the location is very convenient, close to the train station, but quiet, and the breakfast and service are very good! The hotel room was comfortable, the bathroom clean and spacious and the (non-alcoholic) mini-bar that was available was a nice touch!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
1  Thank Sebastian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, Receptionschef at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Sebastian L,

Thank you for staying with us at First Hotel Kong Frederik, and for placing a review with us at Tripadvisor.

I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our hotel and service to your liking. We try very hard to provide top service for all our guests, and are constantly workin got improve our hotel and service.

Med venlig hilsen / Best regards
Karen Henneberg
Receptions chef / Front Office Manager
FIRST HOTEL KONG FREDERIK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel is very old with no luggage assistance. Bathroom is a disaster. Cabinet nonexistent, shower/tub enclosure spilt water, small sink; drainage was noisy. Not much of an establishment. Breakfast in adjoining restaurant was good. Hotel is in dire need of a good renovation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
Thank Cristina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, Receptionschef at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Christina P,

Thank you for staying wiht us at First Hotel Kong Frederik and for taking the time to place a review on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. Our hotel is located in a heritage building and is 200 year old, this gives it, its historic feel, and also limits the room size. We believe that the sizes of the rooms goes well with the feel that we are trying to express, but we also understand that this is not for everyone.
We are at the moment having all our bathrooms undergo renovation, and give them a deep clean. If your bathtub spilt water I am very sorry, we have an inhouse technician that are always happy to fix any such problems and shold he not be able to fix it, we will always offer you to change the room.

I am glad ro read that you enjoyd our Danish/Italian breakfast.

Med venlig hilsen / Best regards
Karen Henneberg
Receptions chef / Front Office Manager
FIRST HOTEL KONG FREDERIK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Location is good and nice additional service were you get free drinks in your room and next to the reception. Rooms are too small, very old, not isolated (old windows) so very noisy and appearently not booked proparly. I went with my mom so booked twin rooms months in advance, however they apparently werent available. First night we had to sleep together and had a room on the streetsite. We both didnt sleep at all since there was a festival around the corner and the rooms Are very noisy. Bathroom was also way too small.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
Thank EllenVA809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, Receptionschef at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Ellen,

Thank you for staying with us at First Hotel Kong Frederik, and for taking the time to review us here, as well as to us directly.
As mentioned in my email to you I appologize for the fauilt in our system that led you to these less than perfect sleeping conditions, and you are more than welcome to contact me direcely should you take me up on my offer.
We have a great location in the hearth of our capital, with the location comes noise however, as Copenhagen is a great city for hosting many events and also just regular dayly noise from the pulse in the city. As we are a heritage building there are many rules and regulations that makes any changes to the building take longer than you normally see, and thus the vindows does not leace out all the noise from the outside world.

Med venlig hilsen / Best regards
Karen Henneberg
Receptions chef / Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is my first Trip Advisor rating. The hotel does not offer beer/wine in the mini bar as posted in earlier reviews. That was a bit disappointing. Location is good. Room was sizeable, but counterspace was limited. No airconditioning. Bathroom is basic. Bed was comfortable. Linens were clean. Lighting was poor. They could use more lamps in the sitting room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, Receptionschef at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Kathy J,

Thank you for taking your time to review your last stay at First Hotel Kong Frederik. We appreciate you doing this, even after we have already communicated via email post your stay.

I’m very happy that you enjoyed our location and bedding. We have never official stated that the minibar includes wines ad this has not been the case, we have done this as our discretion to high level members in our Global Hotel Alliance programme and First Members and this can always be changed. I think where you have read this is from other independent reviewers. If you wish to join have a look at our homepage to ensure the local benefits and experiences that this global programme offer. We did have beers in the minibar, but was forced by new Danish regulations to change this, and instead of beer we offer a high-end soft minibar that is very appreciated.
We are in process of ensuring one more light source in the room you stayed in, and appreciate your feedback.

Med venlig hilsen / Best regards
Karen Henneberg
Receptions chef / Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We arrived at the Kong Frederick after an overnight flight. We were eager to get into our rooms. Our first room was ready at 3 and it took more than 2 more hours to get into the second room. The rooms are clean and small but nicely appointed. My biggest warning is to carefully select your rooms. We had a lovely one on the second floor facing the street but little did we realize the night noise! A concert at city hall wrapped up at midnight at which point the night club across the street got cranking. Only to have that noise replaced by street traffic. And since they have no sir conditioning and it was warm, we had not choice but to leave the windows open. It was miserable. We were then moved to the smallest room-- not enough room to open a suitcase-- with the view of an airshaft. Good news is it is quiet. But it is hot! Lovely staff just make sure you have better rooms than what we received.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank CaraMHutchins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, Receptionschef at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Cara M Hutchins,

Thank you for staying with us during your last visit to Copenhagen. We always do our best to accommodate our guests needs and requests, and it might therefore take a little bit more time to wait for a specific room in one category at check-in.
In a heritage building such as ours, all rooms differ in size, style and location.
Regarding street noise, we are at great city location that benefits of the dynamic street life in Copenhagen as well as the location right at Rådhuspladsen where the from time-to-time will be events in the evening. I do apologize this inconvenience.
I’m also very happy to inform that the municipality now have taken actions towards the night club across the street after a truly industrious work from our side.
I’m happy that you enjoyed the services by our staff, and we would love to welcome you back to stay with us again.

Med venlig hilsen / Best regards
Karen Henneberg
Receptions chef / Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
First Hotel Twentyseven
First Hotel Twentyseven
#58 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,243 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#29 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,113 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#35 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,340 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#24 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,264 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#9 of 118 in Copenhagen
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Kong Frederik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Kong Frederik

Address: Vester Voldgade 25, Copenhagen 1552, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: £118 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Kong Frederik 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming townhouse hotel located in City Center of Copenhagen. The Town Hall Square, Tivoli Gardens, Stroeget and the main train station is located within five minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your First Hotel Kong Frederik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Kong Frederik
Kong Frederik Copenhagen
Hotel Kong Frederik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing