We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Works if you need a triple close to the station” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copenhagen Star Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Copenhagen Star Hotel
Ranked #70 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Works if you need a triple close to the station”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Copenhagen is expensive. Relatively speaking, this place is average. Close to the station and Tivoli. We did not pay extra for breakfast as there are plenty of places to grab some pastries and coffee nearby. We stayed here because we could get a triple at a relatively average price. The room is a little run down, but it does function. The area is not scary, but several people do hang out around the station and they mostly keep to themselves. The staff was nice.

Room Tip: Book in advance. There is some street noise but not terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phillipsrhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter_Szucs, Management Assistant at Copenhagen Star Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear phillipsrhit,

thank you very much for the feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is great to hear that our location and triple room availability was to your benefit.

Booking in advance in a city like Copenhagen is definitely recommended, that way you can ensure the best price.

If I can be of any assistance, feel free to contact me via my email: es@hotelpropertygroup.dk.

Kind regards,
Eszter Zs. Szücs
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    346
    330
    113
    69
See reviews for
179
315
69
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Meredith, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

After trying for several hours to get a room the day before we were going nothing was available. (Tuesday night, June 17)
Finally we got one through booking.com for Dkr. 5836.00 (approximately $1000). This is not a mistake, we still have the receipt.
We were desperate and thought OK, it is a once in a lifetime event and we will sleep in style.
Boy were we shocked to find a room worth about 1/10 the price we paid.
This is an example of gouging at its worst. Copenhagen was definitely not worth it.

Room Tip: Book far in advance if you plan to visit Copenhagen. Don't use booking.com. Serious gouging goin...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IAG-603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter_Szucs, Management Assistant at Copenhagen Star Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear IAG-603,

thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay with us.

June the 17th was a historical day in this years high season in Copenhagen, as you say, it was impossible to get a room in the city, or if there were any rooms, the prices were in the skies. The fact that Denmark and Copenhagen are generally more expensive than other european countries does not help either.

We are sorry that your stay didn't live up to your expectations.

If I can be of any assistance, feel free to contact me via my email: es@hotelpropertygroup.dk.

Kind regards,
Eszter Zs. Szücs
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

The Garden Path
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I loved this hotel for the location and convenience for Copenhagen Central Train Station, only a 2 minute walk. I was travelling with my elderly father. Upon check in we were given a room on a higher floor so was well away from street noise and traffic. They give you breakfast cards upon check in to be used for each day that you are there, also there is a separate key card for the lift, which also serves as your room key.

Breakfast was nice was a bit chaotic if you don't get up early. There is a separate area for smokers outside, so I stayed well indoors. There is great variety in the breakfast the hotel provides from cereals, juice, coffee, tea and a range of hams, fruits, cheeses and all the usual breads that come with breakfast. The grill they provide for the toast is rubbish and takes about 10 minutes to toast one side of a piece of bread. Gave up in the end. The one thing they could do would be to re-arrange the way they display their breakfast as you get a few people wanting cereal and it blocks up the whole queue and people cannot get past to the other facilities i.e. coffee, tea and juice sections.

Overall a very good hotel, but be warned about its location. Turn right out of the hotel towards the Central Train station and everything is alright, but turn left and walk a few blocks and you have already passed 4 sex shops and a dodgy looking person on drugs sitting on the side of the pavement. Not a nice area whatsoever. Very run down and dirty.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flower P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter_Szucs, Management Assistant at Copenhagen Star Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Flower P,

thank you for your extensive review of your recent stay with us.

It is great that you were satisfied with being next to the central station, but without the noise :-)

I must say that I agree on the subject of the crowded breakfast area, unfortunately this was the best way we could use the space, and when it is full house, it can become quite busy. Could be nice if the restaurant didn´t have those supporting posts, it would give us much more space to do good with.

As I mentioned in a previous comment, I must disagree with the area being run down. Throughout these last 2 years there has been a tremendous effort by the city and police to clean this area up both for the tourists and local residents sake. However it is not perfect of course and you will always see dodgy people around a central station in big cities. We are sorry to hear about the impression you got about this area.

If I can be of any assistance, feel free to contact me via my email: es@hotelpropertygroup.dk.

Kind regards,
Eszter Zs. Szücs
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Excellent value for location 2 minutes walk away from central station and Tivoli. Rooms clean and a decent size. Staff friendly and helpful. Great outdoor area to get away from the hustle of the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter_Szucs, Management Assistant at Copenhagen Star Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Matt C,

thank you for providing us with your feedback on your stay with us. Good to hear that all was satisfactory to your taste.

If I can be of any assistance, feel free to contact me via my email: es@hotelpropertygroup.dk.

Kind regards,
Eszter Zs. Szücs
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

This has to be one of the worst places I've stayed and I'm really not sure how it earned three star status. If you need to take the train often or want easy access to the red light district then it's convenient, but if you're looking for the charm of Copenhagen you should look elsewhere. The area is totally run down and unpleasant and didn't feel safe. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable, but the bathroom was minuscule, there were no amenities and there was nothing separating the shower from the rest of the bathroom, so everything got soaking wet. The breakfast also rates as the worst I've experienced in my travels: the selection was extremely limited and there was nothing cooked available. The staff at breakfast were pleasant and worked very hard, but, with the exception of the person who checked us in, the rest of the front desk staff was surly, unpleasant and unhelpful. There are no less than four strip clubs in the immediate vicinity and the corner the hotel is situated on is a very active marketplace, to put it mildly. Avoid it if you can.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth0744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter_Szucs, Management Assistant at Copenhagen Star Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Beth0744,

we are sorry to hear that your visit didn´t live up to your expectations and that you felt unsafe.

It is a busy area, but I would not call it rundown, just in the past year all sorts of investments were done, all in order to satisfy tourists and local residents too. The pavements were made wider (handy when visitors roll past with their suitcases and thee area is cleaner. We are sorry to hear that this was not your impression.

With regards to the hotel classifications, you can read some info here: http://uk.horesta.dk/en/MemberBenefits/Classification

Unfortunately the bathroom you describe is a rather typical danish picture, also in apartments.

We are well aware that our breakfast selection is not luxury, but it gives a good start for the day, and we are looking into some changes with regards to the breadrolls for instance.

Once again, we are sorry to hear that you feel this way about your stay with us.

If I can be of any assistance, feel free to contact me via my email: es@hotelpropertygroup.dk.

Kind regards,
Eszter Zs. Szücs
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We arrived from the airport by train where the Copenhagen Star is only a block away from the main train station. We were early but they had a room available. I asked for a quiet spot and they had a room of us in the back. It was very quiet except for one morning of an early garbage pick up. The room is very basic. Nice bathroom with shower, a desk for writing, a window with a bench that was great for reading, and a 30" LCD for watching Danish TV. Actually I had a few USBs with tv shows and movies which also worked great on the tv. Marla really liked the bed.

We booked using Expedia and the check in was very smooth going. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel. There is an awesome bakery at the end of the street near the train station, also a fruit and grocery stand is nearby. As for coffee there are lots of coffee stores nearby for the fancy stuff and McDonalds in the train station also has a good supply of the cheap stuff.

There were some lonely women standing on the corner looking for a friend and some stores that would not be for everyone's taste in the neighbourhood. Yes, there are strip clubs nearby but it is no different than any other big city. Each morning I would go for a run and found there were no issues or problems from the community of stores.

I found the front desk staff were quite helpful and friendly. The housekeeping staff were very good and very helpful. All in all it was a good experience and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Bring your own soap, shampoo and face cloth as none are provided. Explore the neighbourhood, aside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter_Szucs, Management Assistant at Copenhagen Star Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear blamar,

We appreciate your time used on this extensive and very spot on review. You sum it all up in the best way!

Shame that you had to experience the early morning garbage pick up, I simply don´t get why do they come so early, but I guess they have to do it somewhere that early...

Fantastic to hear that you could also watch your own TV shows on the flatscreen TV in the room via USB!

I really like how you describe the neighborhood and would like to point out that we at Copenhagen Star Hotel agree entirely, there is nothing any different from another big city here.

We are sorry to hear that the all over shampoo was not to your satisfaction.

If I can be of any assistance, feel free to contact me via my email: es@hotelpropertygroup.dk.

Kind regards,
Eszter Zs. Szücs
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umeå, Sweden
Level Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed a weekend in this typical luxury hotel from a long time ago with old fashioned but OK rooms in the city centre. Clean with beds and bathroom OK. We had a room with a balcony facing Tivoli across a the street which was nice, the street and Tivoli are busy but we were not disturbed too much. A good breakfast with a calm atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanStenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter_Szucs, Management Assistant at Copenhagen Star Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear JanStenberg,

thank you for your review of your stay at Copenhagen Star Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with the view, location and the breakfast buffet.

If I can be of any assistance, feel free to contact me via my email: es@hotelpropertygroup.dk.

Kind regards,
Eszter Zs. Szücs
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Saga Hotel
Saga Hotel
#69 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Ansgar
Hotel Ansgar
#53 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#51 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Copenhagen Crown
Hotel Copenhagen Crown
#54 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Mercur Hotel
Copenhagen Mercur Hotel
#55 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#76 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Star Hotel

Property: Copenhagen Star Hotel
Address: Colbjoernsensgade 13, Copenhagen 1652, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Copenhagen Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copenhagen Star Hotel is situated just 100 meters from the Central Station, to which you can arrive to in only 12 minutes by train from the airport. You find yourself in the pulsating Vesterbro district, with a lot of cozy cafes and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Copenhagen Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norlandia Star Copenhagen
Hotel Norlandia Star

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing