We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed at Axel second time and loved it again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #13 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Oslo
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stayed at Axel second time and loved it again!”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Stayed again at Axel this weekend with my boyfriend and got a superb Penthouse Suite by surprise - the hotel upgraded us from a junior suite at no additional price. That was a real treat!! The room we got was absolutely stunning, with a roof terrace and jaccuzi running 24 hrs a day. A morning bath on the roof was terrific. Two years ago we stayed at the penthouse suite at D'Anglaiterre which is considered to be Danmark's best hotel (it is closed for rennovation now) and how surprised we were to discover that the PS at Axel is better in terms of comfort, cleanness, soul and ambience. I really love all these wonderful details and touch of Asian style. Truly a hotel with a heart and pride. And what a value for money. We also use the spa and it was great. Love Axel and will definitely return - again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Urma_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    590
    219
    68
    19
See reviews for
157
732
99
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
228 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We went to Copenhagen for a long weekend in July to see Take That in concert. The hotel is very convienent for the main train station and close to several bus routes. The spa/swimming pool (in the basement) was unfortunately closed when we were there due to some torrential rain the week before which caused localised flooding, shame because we were looking forward to using the facilities. Our room was street facing but high enough up not to be disturbed by street noise. The room was very comfortable and clean. We had a large bath in the room and a separate wet room.Good quality toilettries. My only complaints about the room were that the TV cannnot be viewed from bed althoguh there was a comfy sofa to sit on and when showering it was impossible not to soak most of the bathroom floor. Also it would be nice to have somewhere to store your toilet bags. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel so cannot comment on the food but it looked very nice but we did take complimentary coffees in the garden area. We chose to utilise local restuarants and dine al fresco and there are severall good restaurants very close. The staff were helpful and friendly. A nice hotel that I would happily recommend to friends. One tip - get a public transport travel ticket , extremely good value for money as it also includes the water buses. Overall we had a delightful stay in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I stayed here for three nights in early January 2012 and loved it. They take their environmental credentials seriously and have managed to create a genuinely eco-friendly hotel with great service and across the board quality.

Pros :
- Location - five minutes walk or less from the main station. Vesterbro has lots of interesting cafes and shops to explore. Found good restaurants there every night. The red light district is visible but certainly not in your face or with any kind of unsafe edge to it.

- Room : Top floor 508. Loved it the moment I walked in. Compact but like everywhere in Copenhagen. The fitout really suited my style. Balinese influences with bamboo surfaces but no compromise on comfort. Work desk and chair, comfy bed which in my superior single room was nearly big enough for a double, good pillows and a separate leather upholstered armchair. And a small entrance area inside the room door leading into the bedroom. There was a second door between the entrance area and bedroom which could be closed giving a really cosy, private and quiet feeling to the room.

- Bathroom was also compact but everything you need and beautiful. Yes the water spills on the floor a bit when you shower, but just mop it or put an extra towel down - its not a problem. Really nice natural shower gel and shampoo.

- Safe, wi-fi was fast and reliable, no tea and coffee in room, hanging area for clothes.

- Lobby. Great. Like I'd have my own lounge room. Beautifully lit, inviting earthy lounges with cushions, coffee tables, magazines and English and Danish newspapers. Great place to read, browse mail or net with a tea or a glass of wine.

- Breakfast. Thought it was great. Yes expensive but Copenhagen is ear bleedingly expensive eating anywhere so the Axel breakfast is not much different. And it's organic. Beautiful breads and jams, eggs, bacon, salad, cheeses, fruit, cereal (best toasted muesli I've had anywhere), juices, coffee. Probably more to choose from but that's what I had :)

- Service was great. No uniforms or 'hospitality' smiles. Genuine friendly people. Knowledgeable about where to eat and places to go and really happy to help and make your stay great.

- Spa. Didn't use it but checked it out. Looked great. Steam, hot sauna, spa, cold pool and chill out area. Also noticed complimentary organic skin care products like face masks and lotions.

Cons :
None for me. If I wanted to be really picky you could say that the lift interior wall needs a paint. Am only mentioning it to have a 'con'.

Loved this hotel. Location, feeling, service, facilities, food. No need to look anywhere else in Copenhagen for me.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

The location is excellent, right next to the main railway station. There are lots of hotels in the area, as well as ethnic restaurants which is nice, but unfortunately also something that might be described as a red light district.

After a long trip to Copenhagen we were extremely happy about the early check in! The hotel staff was friendly, the look was sophisticated and the atmosphere was very eco friendly.

The room including the bathroom were nice and clean, the bed was comfy but a little squeaky.

Room Tip: Had the standard "bali style" room, was perfectly fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Humina_FIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Cannot argue the hotel has a good location and you pay for it.
As other had noticed the breakfast is i guerilla experience, not sure you find a place to eat in the dining room or outside in the lobby. Chaos to be expected. About the room, the superior is barely superior just a few square meters, the bath tub is as on guest pics a half eggshell. No possibility to relax in so little water in the tiny bathroom, the smallest a even seen. The "organic" concept is more on the ultra cheap / unbleached side, no discount for you. The room we got on backside was incredibly quiet, it is not quite the same during the summer when you have to open the window on the street (no A/C because not "organic"). I am not completely disapointed but next time i Cpenhagen I will try another hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

My fiance and I shared a superior double room here last weekend and had an amazing time. The staff are wonderful and can't do enough for you (the bar man in particular always had a smile at the ready). The breakfasts were gorgeous, the addition of salads to the range of choices was most welcome after an awful lot of protein heavy food elsewhere in Copenhagen and all choices were organic and delicious. The bedroom was gorgeous and scrupulously clean with underfloor heating in the bathroom. The location could not have been better, it's less than 5mins walk from Tivoli and Central Station and not much further to the sights of Central Copenhagen. Having lived near Soho in London I'm not sure what the reviews mentioning the red light district are going on about really. There is a strip club further down the same street and one sex shop nearby but it certainly is nothing like a red light district. The only small niggle I have with the hotel is that the bath was a little on the small size for my fiance but then he is 6'3", I, at 5'7", fitted more than comfortably. Overall an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryDavison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Me and my husband had booked a hotel room at Axel Hotel Guldsmeden two months ahead pf our stay, as we were celebrating a friend´s birthday in Copenhagen, and all the guests were staying at the same hotel. We received an email confirmation minutes after we booked the room. When we arrived at the hotel, they told us that the reservation had been cancelled by the hotel. They couldn´t explain why, did not in any way express that they were sorry about this incident, and made absolutely no effort to help us. All they said was "We´re not magicians", because the hotel were fully booked.
Apart from this, the hotel looks nice (we never got to see the inside of a room), but I will never trust this place again, and I advice other travellers to be careful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank alesree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelCopenhagen, Public Relations Manager at Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
Dear Md. alesree,
we were expecting to find a review from you here on Tripadvisor, as you promised.
And we were therefore prepared to respond to this extremely unfair commentary on you part.
The situation is as follows: you made a reservation at 6.31 pm, and (possibly by mistake, but our online booking system has no chance of knowing this), YOU cancelled this reservation at 7.42 pm.
This information is logged in our booking system, and was explained to you when you arrived at the hotel. We showed you on the screen exactly what had happened, and you claimed that it must be due to a mistake in our online booking system.
This, however, is not technically possible! Online cancellations can ONLY be performed by the person with access to the confirmation that was sent to your personal email address.
We had no available rooms, and were more than willing to help you find alternative accommodation, had in fact already dialed the number for another hotel, when you decided to storm out in anger. So the situation is truthfully quite different from your description.
Finally, we would like to take this opportunity to protest against this type of untruthful reviews, which only serves to devalue Tripadvisor, and the service that is intended for travellers.
Best from the Axel Hotel Guldsmeden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,810 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,264 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
198 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,262 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#26 of 116 in Copenhagen
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Property: Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Address: Helgolandsgade 11, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#2 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Axel Guldsmeden is an experience of charm and style, and the best night’s sleep you will find in inner Copenhagen. Situated in the heart of Vesterbro, Axel has 129 rooms, conference facilities, an organic brunch & evening restaurant and a luxurious spa with own-brand organic products.The four-star Axel Guldsmeden is the environmentally friendly choice for a visit to Copenhagen – all products, food & drink, furnishings and services either organic, fair-trade or both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing