We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy stay in Copenhagen, October 2013” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #12 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
twickenham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cosy stay in Copenhagen, October 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

My boyfriend arranged this trip to celebrate my birthday and it really was excellent. The hotel was very accommodating, we arrived early and we upgraded to a junior suite for free (even though the hotel was already excellent value for money for just the standard room).

Copenhagen is a very expensive city and the hotel mirrors this, so I don't feel that it is a criticism of the hotel directly but the food and wine is rather expensive; although very good. It is however, similar prices to other venues in the city, so as I said, it's the city, rather than the hotel.

We paid extra to use the spa, the fee covers the duration of your stay and we used it every day; however, on the morning of our last day the sauna and the steam room were not on so we could only use the jacuzzi which was a little disappointing given that we'd paid extra thinking that all facilities would be available during the spa opening times. There wasn't anyone around to speak to about it without going to reception in our bathing suits! Overall, the spa was a very enjoyable part of our trip and I would highly recommend upgrading to include this in your stay. The homemade scrubs and beauty products really add to the experience too leaving your skin feeling great!

The bedroom and living area was lovely, reasonably spacious for a centrally located hotel. The toiletries in the bathroom were amazing and the bath in the bed room was a nice little extra. The room had real glasses (wine and water) which you could use which was a nice touch again. Everything is organic so it's nice knowing that you are not using anything which is too unsustainable.

The bed was incredible! It enveloped you in the duvet and the mattress! I slept so well. The room was warm, too warm at times, but a short period with the window or the juliet balcony doors open sorted that, so no problem there.

The weather was horrendous on our first day - we borrowed an umbrella from the hotel and I think we definitely had the best umbrella in the city if not Europe! It was the day the storm hit and winds were hurricane level making it hard to walk by the time it was in full flow, knocking people off their feet. However, not once, did our umbrella turn inside out! INCREDIBLE!

Breakfast was on the pricey side so we went down the road to Bang & Jensen for a wonderful experience instead which was approximately half the price. However, if breakfast at the hotel is like everything else, I am sure it would have been great!

Overall, an excellent hotel providing excellent service and a superb place to locate yourself for a stay in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twickenhamteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    565
    210
    60
    15
See reviews for
142
693
96
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I really like the concept of this hotel. Organic hotel in perfect location in Copenhagen. I am usually not a fan of organic things but this hotel was a very pleasant surprise for me. The room was very comfy, small but very cozy. Staff really pleasant and helpful. Cleanliness of this hotel was excellent. But what impressed me most was probably the bed - which was the most comfortable bed I ever slept in.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

High marks for the green positioning. More high marks for a very comfortable sleeping environment. Down comforter on top of a soft mattress made for one of the best nights sleep in a few days of traveling.

Location is right near the main train station along with plenty of restaurants and bars, and the staff were kind enough to let us check in early. Organic apples as you walk in was another nice touch.

You will sleep in comfort, both in bed and in knowing you supported an important cause.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Had a long weekend in Copenhagen and stayed for the second time in this nice hotel. Standard rooms are just enough but double superior was really nice with a cosy bathtub. It was fantastic to enjoy a long soak after a day of cycling on the bikes that the hotel provides for a small fee. The Vesterbro are is a full of interesting restaurants, bars and shops. And close to the Tivoli, central station and in an easy walking distance from the center. Will defenetly go back to Axel.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chaquesoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

The Axel is just an average hotel and is too expensive for what it offers. It's cool to be 'Green' nowadays, but if green means that the lights are so low at night that you cannot read anywhere in your room but directly under your light near your bed, then 'green' is not for me.

I found our superior room to be small and not too bright. The idea of a tub in your room might seem cool and cute, but the reality is that it is in the way and ripe for a toe stub as you pass the frame with rocks inside. My husband tried the tub, and it is not very comfortable.

The bathroom is quite small but OK for one person at a time. You can't both use the mirror at the same time, so make sure that you budget enough time as you prepare to go out at night.

The one highlight for us was the location. We used the train a lot, and the proximity to the Central Station from the hotel was great. We even took the train back to the airport and it was easy, even with some baggage, convenient and only takes 12 minutes to reach the airport and get dropped off inside the terminal.

We found pleasant restaurants near the hotel although none were spectacular.

I would check out the neighboring hotels on the same block, and compare prices for the best buy. It seems that that block is 'hotel city' and indeed the location can't be beat.

Also, you are quite near the Information Center. It is a good idea to buy a Copenhagen Card, especially if you are planning to see lots of museums and will ride the trains.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rena61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

My colleagues were staying here so we had a breakfast meeting. It's downstairs near the lobby and everything is fresh made and mainly organic. Even the plates are hand made. It has a great atmosphere, and serves things like home made plum jam from Danish plums. Seen the rooms too and they are lovely, all different. Small and cosy but really well run. Not surprising then that she has opened more hotels under the same brand. Location is very central next to the central station, Hovedbanegården, which is very convenient, and where most hotels are but some parts at the back of the station are a bit dodgy.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pennyleese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We adored this hotel from the moment we walked in the door. It's based on organics and sustainability and really walks the talk. Everything about it is peaceful and relaxing and our room was lovely. The breakfasts are out of this world - the organic voghurt and loose teas are not to be missed. Astonishingly, this is all within 2 blocks of the railway station. The spa was well worth the charge and the outdoor courtyard would be great in summer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary_Varnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#5 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#6 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#8 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#29 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Property: Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Address: Helgolandsgade 11, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#2 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Axel Guldsmeden is an experience of charm and style, and the best night’s sleep you will find in inner Copenhagen. Situated in the heart of Vesterbro, Axel has 129 rooms, conference facilities, an organic brunch & evening restaurant and a luxurious spa with own-brand organic products.The four-star Axel Guldsmeden is the environmentally friendly choice for a visit to Copenhagen – all products, food & drink, furnishings and services either organic, fair-trade or both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing