We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel with a touch of design, no hot water back-up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #13 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average hotel with a touch of design, no hot water back-up”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located close to the railway station in a not very nice area. Nice design but the matress was not confortable and there was no hot water the last day. Imagine, you go to a hotel, you sleep, you wake up in the morning, go to the shower but there is no hot water. So you go to the airport feeling unconfortable. Worse of all, no apologies. At reception they just blamed a central hot water system that depends on the city. They have no back-up system. Never seen or experienced this before. Expected more from the hotel and from super-expensive Copenhaguen.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitejms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelCopenhagen, PR-chef at Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam.

Thank you for your review, and we are sorry to hear that you were not entirely happy with your stay at the Axel Guldsmeden. As we understand it, your main issue was with the missing hot water in the morning, and we completely sympathize! The day in question was fortunately somewhat of a rarity in Copenhagen, we have actually never experienced it before, since opening the Axel in 2007. What happened was a breakdown in Copenhagen´s largest power plant 'Amager Værket’, which we could not control.

Thousands of households, businesses and hotels were of course also without heat and hot water, as can be read from other Copenhagen hotel reviews from the same dates. The breakdown was thankfully solved in the afternoon and is fortunately extremely rare in a city and country which has a very well functioning infrastructure and heat supply system - with no need for hotels to have back-up of water and heat as is common in some other countries.

The breakdown was so rare that it was breaking news in all Danish media on the day. We tried our best to inform our guest with notices and information, but of course completely understand that it must have been very uncomfortable to be a traveller here in Copenhagen that day.

We hope to have a chance to make it up to you if you should ever consider visiting Copenhagen and us at the Axel Guldsmeden in the future!
Best from all of us at Axel Guldsmeden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    598
    223
    70
    20
See reviews for
158
749
102
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel in central Copenhagen during a long weekend break. It's an ideal location-less than 5 minutes walk from the central station with trains to/from the airport and other places you might want to visit. At the same time, it is very quiet- to enter you have to ring the bell so it has none of the feel of a public building. We were enchanted by our lovely room which had so many charming touches-pretty curtains, ties on the fourposter bed, sculpture, ceramics, and a fabulous bathroom. The decor of the hotel overall mixed traditional Danish design with eastern rugs and was very cosy. The organic breakfasts were fantastic-especially the bircher muesli- and enough to set you up for the day. Not least, we found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly. We were given great restaurant recommendations and help with bookings. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We loved the hotel - it is very relaxing and tranquil with great complimentary organic snacks & hot drinks always available. The breakfast is delicious & good value. But - there's no getting away from the bed linen & mattress & room temperature (too hot) being uncomfortable, and lots of noise travelling in from other rooms. If they invest in solving that we'd love to come back

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I was hesitant to book this hotel based on some other reviews but WOW I am so glad I did!! Everything was absolutely fantastic, from the moment we arrived until the moment we left!! We had a slight hiccup before we arrived where the hotel had inadvertently booked our room a month earlier than our trip.. But this was rectified quickly and the reception staff were aware of this when they arrived. Our room was absolutely beautiful and far exceeded expectations. The bath was amazing too! We used the rental bikes which were great & made it so easy to get around the city. The staff were very friendly. We would definitely return! It's a hotel with a difference & we loved that!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

One of the nicest hotels I have ever been to. Not the fanciest, but the rooms are elegant and comfortable ,the staff is very nice and welcoming, and the breakfast-delicious (however expensive). The location is almost perfect- 5 minutes walk from the Townhall square and the Stroget, 2 minutes walk from the Central station, but relatively quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Uri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

A busy central city hotel with excellent spar faciltiies and very good service. The decor is organic and recycled but very well done, and the breakfast is highly recommended. Dont be put off by the location, although it is close to the red light district, what little remains of that once famous area is done in very modern scandinavian fashion.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeEss23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

They have the aesthetics. It's nice-looking and clean. I won't consider the frankly obnoxious eco-lunacy in my rating, but, God, it was sanctimonious and irritating.

And I could even excuse it's placed near dodgy, curb-crawling characters... And some people like over-warm rooms with no way of turning off the piping (outside the walls) that feed the radiators. The sound-proofing wasn't great, and you couldn't block out the light in the morning.

But my main issue is the sheer meanness. Our stay wasn't cheap, so where was the breakfast included? Where was the free use of at least the sauna or jacuzzi? (Don't get me wrong: I wouldn't expect full free use of the spa, but seriously...) Hey, maybe this is normal for hotels in Copenhagen, but I've stayed in many hotels in many countries, so this was pretty shocking.

Maybe they should concentrate a little less on eco-lunacy and a little more on giving guests, well, what they paid for...

Room Tip: Stay away from the main road...and then you can leave the window open to let the excessive heat out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Briancloughisgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelCopenhagen, Public Relations Manager at Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Mr. Briancloughisgod ,

Truthfully, we were quite surprised at the aggression in your review, and assume that - unfortunately for all parties involved - you booked a hotel that is contrary to your own priorities and views on what is important in life. The “eco-lunacy”, as you call it, is prevalent throughout all our hotels, and is clearly communicated on our website. We (naturally) do not consider it lunacy, we consider it basic common sense, if we wish decent living conditions for our children and the generations to come. We know that not everyone is of the opinion that eco-friendliness is important, and we do try to communicate it with humor – so we´re a bit confused as to how you could become quite so irritated.

Our hostmanship is the primary cornerstone of our daily life at the hotels, and we truly love giving our guests a great stay – when families with children come to visit, we´re always giving away a free ice cream, sweets, sodas, fruit.. No-one comes into our house without being offered tea, coffee, a glass of wine. Free apples are available in a basket by the front door. There´s nachos, nuts and dried fruit all around for the taking. Everything organic, because this is important to us.

Now, about why not more stuff is free: you probably found out for yourself that Denmark is quite expensive. Food – especially that of a high, organic quality – is expensive, and this is why we decided to let our signature breakfast be an optional extra at our hotels. If we did not do this, we would have to raise the (actually for Copenhagen quite reasonable) room rates, which would be an annoyance for the guests who do not wish to have, or have time for, breakfast at the hotel.

The spa offers free use of all our organic own-brand products, as well as a selection of healthy drinks and snacks, in addition to the basket with special towels, slippers, kimono – so at a one-time fee of 295 DKK for free use of the spa and facilities for the duration of a stay, we feel it is really quite reasonable. It is not realistic to make specific parts of the spa free, and others not – it is all located in the same open area.

Finally: If the room was too warm, we wish you had mentioned it to reception, who would have been happy to send someone up to help you. For sustainability reasons, and being located in a cool climate, we do not have air-conditioning. As for the light in the room, all rooms have double curtains, it seems that unfortunately you did not notice the inner, black-out ones.

All in all, we are sorry for your sake – and ours – that this wasn´t a good match. Fortunately, it doesn´t happen that often, and usually it happens when guests have booked through other channels than the hotel´s own website. We strongly recommend all travellers to not only check review sites and booking sites, but take a look at the hotel´s site as well. It is the best place for us, and our colleagues in the business, to express our priorities, our concept and our personality.

We wish you happy travelling in the future! All the best from the Guldsmeden Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,867 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
227 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Property: Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Address: Helgolandsgade 11, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#2 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Axel Guldsmeden is an experience of charm and style, and the best night’s sleep you will find in inner Copenhagen. Situated in the heart of Vesterbro, Axel has 129 rooms, conference facilities, an organic brunch & evening restaurant and a luxurious spa with own-brand organic products.The four-star Axel Guldsmeden is the environmentally friendly choice for a visit to Copenhagen – all products, food & drink, furnishings and services either organic, fair-trade or both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing