We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very environmentally conscious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #11 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
baltimore
Level Contributor
214 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very environmentally conscious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I agree and disagree about some of the reviews I have read about this hotel. It has an excellent location (less than 5 minute walking from the train station), and our room was comfortable. However, I disagree about the size of the bathroom. Our room had a huge bathroom with a granite bathtub and separate shower. The hotel appears a bit pricey; however, this is Copenhagen and most hotels would be in this price range and much more in any other capital like Paris or New York. The hotel is environmentally conscious, and we liked that. Our only complaint was the price of the breakfast buffet (about $70 for two). We made sure to eat plenty before our long plane ride back to the US. I would definitely recommend this hotel for one or two nights stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    565
    210
    60
    15
See reviews for
142
693
96
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zomergem, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We loved the choice for sustainable products. The hotel is very well located for discovering Copenhagen and is also very close to the train station. There is a nice spa and you can rent a bike. The room is nicely decorated and clean. Bath room is not very large but is functional. The staff was ery froiendly and helpfull. Also the restaurant serves good (organic meals). The breakfast has a nice choice. During the day you can always enjoy a cup of coffee or tea with a piece of cake for free, or try the bar of course ...
We loved the hotel and will certainly stay here again whenever we have the opportunity to visit the wundefull city of Copenhagen again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I would give this hotel 3.5, but as this option does´t exist, I end up with 3 only.
The positives sides are definitively the location, nice staff, the sustainability concept and the good breakfast. The design is really nice, but it is a bit over-designed and less functional. The bathroom is very small and the washing table is rather unpractical, due to too much design.
We had really back pain from the super soft beds and sweated pretty much, although we turned off the heating. There is not much space in the room, but ok, it´s an old building. Further, the breakfast room is really small as well, you don´t eat your breakfast in a relaxed atmosphere as constantly someone is "rubbing" at your table or you share a table with strangers. The free apples and the tea or coffee in the afternoon are great.
Would prefer less design and deco-stuff "hanging around" and more functionality.

Room Tip: Only superior rooms face the patio we were told. Standard rooms face the street, can be loud on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loveisintheair2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for my birthday in Jan 2014. It was a beautiful hotel, and well placed within the city. We didn't use the spa as felt it was over priced (all of Copenhagen is very expensive!) If we were to come back to Copenhagen we would definetly stay here again and would recommend it to friends.
The bedroom with the bath at the foot of the bed was spa enough for us! and they recylced touches made the experience unique.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

The best thing about this boutique hotel is its location. It's less than a 5 min walk from the central station which means it's only 20 mins by train from the airport or 35 mins from Malmo. It is right next to the Meatpacking district with loads of great bars and restaurants and only a short walk to Tivoli and beyond. We went for a standard double room, which we found to be plenty spacious. Would certainly return if in Copenhagen again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ph85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Hi, I spent one night at the Hotel Axel and the location was a really good, just around 5 minutes walk from the central railwaystation. And if you are coming from airport it takes around 20 minutes by train. I had a second floor room with a street view and a beautiful French balcony and it was a totally quiet (Monday-Tuesday night). Breakfast was perfect, a really high quality things available. I can recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Street view rooms with a French balcony. Some have written the traffic noise from the street, but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ExplorersFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Let's face it Copenhagen's hotels are pretty weak. With this relativity this hotel is a 4. However noise is an issue in the hotel and the bathrooms are incredibly small. If you're over six foot good luck. Nice hotel lounge area and friendly staff. Decent location about 10-15m to the main spots and 5 to the train.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Viajefun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#4 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#6 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#13 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#8 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#29 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Property: Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Address: Helgolandsgade 11, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#2 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Axel Guldsmeden is an experience of charm and style, and the best night’s sleep you will find in inner Copenhagen. Situated in the heart of Vesterbro, Axel has 129 rooms, conference facilities, an organic brunch & evening restaurant and a luxurious spa with own-brand organic products.The four-star Axel Guldsmeden is the environmentally friendly choice for a visit to Copenhagen – all products, food & drink, furnishings and services either organic, fair-trade or both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing