We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room and bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #15 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We wrote the hotel on several occasions prior to our stay and they never answered... When we got there and walked into the room, the first impression was that it was small - both room and bathroom. It was a pleasant space, however, just nothing extraordinary.
The breakfast was very nice! and the personnel were very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,520)
There are newer reviews for Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

614 - 620 of 1,520 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Hotel IS different for sure. Room (junior suite) is very disappointing. On photo's is looks nice, in real life it is all cheap. You can not take a warm shower. It does NOT stay warm ever. And the 'organic' breakfest? Orange juice out of a bottle for example! And the spa..well the spa is alright but NEVER OPEN! Only in the evening (dinner time). And there is the staff... they are very active with eachother... not so much with the guests. Except 3 of them that is..
Disappointing. Definitely no 4 star rated worthy. And the organic - eco concept of the hotel... sorry but also that I have seen better in other hotels around the world. Not for me this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KirsiNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelCopenhagen, Public Relations Manager at Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Ms. KirsiNL,

we are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your stay at the Axel Guldsmeden. In regards to your complaints, however, we do wish that you had contacted us about them during your time with us – we are quite confident that we would have been able to help you. If the water was not adequately warm in your room, a minor adjustment by our handyman would have sufficed, we have not had hot water issues in general, so this must have been a localised matter.
In reference to our organic breakfast, we can assure you that not only is it organic, it is actually 100% certified organic. It is perfectly possible to have organic, healthy and tasty orange juice out of a bottle. We spend a great deal of time sourcing the perfect ingredients for our breakfast table, and we have a wide range of dedicated, organic suppliers.
It is regrettable that our particular approach to sustainability did not appeal to you, but we must state that this is something that we work with on a very ambitious level, and we are the only hotel group in Denmark to be both Green Globe certified and awarded the Golden Ø (official Danish certification) for 90-100% organic food and drink.
As for the spa, it is open in the evenings on weekdays, as it has been our experience that most weekday travellers are out and about during the day, and mainly in need of relaxation in the evening. On weekends, however, we have extended opening hours, as weekend travellers have other wishes.
Your critique of our staff is new to us, usually our guests appreciate the warm, attentive and laid-back atmosphere that is the norm at the Guldsmeden Hotels. The fact that we do not have staff uniforms can sometimes confuse travellers who are used to more traditional hotel experiences, and maybe you have misunderstood an interaction with other staying guests.
Finally, just a little remark about our interior – all our furnishings are designed by us and made for us, all in sustainable, long-life natural materials. And we can assure you – cheap, they´re not ;-).
We wish you happy travelling in the future! All the best from all of us at Axel Guldsmeden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Certainly different. Small rooms but full of character. Beads on the poster bed, rustic Indonesian-style wooden furniture and decor, multi-purpose lobby/bar/registration desk/concierge. Very very comfortable bed and lovely fluffy pillows. Free help yourself organic teas and cakes in the restaurant, nuts and apples by entrance. Expensive but attractive spa 295kr but steam room had no steam - luke warm only; same with the sauna. The hotel is on a side street off the main drag a couple of blocks from the railway station. It felt like in the middle of the red light district with sex shops and ladies hanging about on street corners late at night. Still, weirdly, I felt safe. I was travelling on my own on business.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank ClauClau82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

The Axel Hotel has it all: Great location close to train station (but in a pleasant area few minutes away from the meat pack district, everything is at walking distance. Hotel staff is friendly, rooms are very quiet and nicely decorated, (comfortable beds). We definitely recommend this hotel. It is the perfect place to stay in CPH.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jérôme D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I agree and disagree about some of the reviews I have read about this hotel. It has an excellent location (less than 5 minute walking from the train station), and our room was comfortable. However, I disagree about the size of the bathroom. Our room had a huge bathroom with a granite bathtub and separate shower. The hotel appears a bit pricey; however, this is Copenhagen and most hotels would be in this price range and much more in any other capital like Paris or New York. The hotel is environmentally conscious, and we liked that. Our only complaint was the price of the breakfast buffet (about $70 for two). We made sure to eat plenty before our long plane ride back to the US. I would definitely recommend this hotel for one or two nights stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We loved the choice for sustainable products. The hotel is very well located for discovering Copenhagen and is also very close to the train station. There is a nice spa and you can rent a bike. The room is nicely decorated and clean. Bath room is not very large but is functional. The staff was ery froiendly and helpfull. Also the restaurant serves good (organic meals). The breakfast has a nice choice. During the day you can always enjoy a cup of coffee or tea with a piece of cake for free, or try the bar of course ...
We loved the hotel and will certainly stay here again whenever we have the opportunity to visit the wundefull city of Copenhagen again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I would give this hotel 3.5, but as this option does´t exist, I end up with 3 only.
The positives sides are definitively the location, nice staff, the sustainability concept and the good breakfast. The design is really nice, but it is a bit over-designed and less functional. The bathroom is very small and the washing table is rather unpractical, due to too much design.
We had really back pain from the super soft beds and sweated pretty much, although we turned off the heating. There is not much space in the room, but ok, it´s an old building. Further, the breakfast room is really small as well, you don´t eat your breakfast in a relaxed atmosphere as constantly someone is "rubbing" at your table or you share a table with strangers. The free apples and the tea or coffee in the afternoon are great.
Would prefer less design and deco-stuff "hanging around" and more functionality.

Room Tip: Only superior rooms face the patio we were told. Standard rooms face the street, can be loud on the...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loveisintheair2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,476 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,982 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,310 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
289 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Babette Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Address: Helgolandsgade 11, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#3 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: £118 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Axel Guldsmeden is an experience of charm and style, and the best night’s sleep you will find in inner Copenhagen. Situated in the heart of Vesterbro, Axel has 129 rooms, conference facilities, an organic brunch & evening restaurant and a luxurious spa with own-brand organic products.The four-star Axel Guldsmeden is the environmentally friendly choice for a visit to Copenhagen – all products, food & drink, furnishings and services either organic, fair-trade or both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing