We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #12 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights on a weekend break in Copenhagen.

The hotel is in a great central location, a few minutes walk from the station and Tivoli Gardens.

There are plenty of places near by to eat and drink and although we'd read some reviews saying the area is quite seedy, but we felt completely safe walking round at anytime of the day or night. Highly recommend the Mikkeller craft ale bar round the corner from the hotel!

The hotel rooms are clean and very comfortable. We liked the Eco-organic ethos of the hotel and despite other reviews the hotel towels are perfectly fine!

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and all spoke excellent English.

The breakfast was expensive for what you got, a wider variety of fruit and hot foods would have been nice - but there are plenty of places near by as alternatives than eating in the hotel.

All in all it's a great hotel, would definitely recommend a stay here!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OnTourCVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    571
    213
    64
    16
See reviews for
149
705
96
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gosier
Level Contributor
74 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed there three nights. Lovely hotel but room quite small . Bathroom small (less than 3 square meters). In room Wi-Fi free . Organic Breakfast . You can rent bikes from the hotel 250 dk for 2 days .

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amexGosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

The hotel is only a few minutes away from the main station. It’s not in the middle of everything but the location is perfect to explore Copenhagen. You can reach most of the places of interest and a lot of restaurants by foot. As the hotel is in a side road it’s very quiet during the night. The rooms are nicely decorated, very clean and the beds are comfortable.
We had breakfast only once there. The buffet was very nice but we thought that the prize is too high and you will find easy other good places in town. And the breakfast room was too crowded so you could have had problems to find a free table.
Finally it is a very nice, comfortable hotel with a fair prize so we would definitely stay again in the Axel Guldsmeden.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueeye-ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Family suite here wworked really well, with an interconnecting door to the rooms which kids had.
Location works well, being walking distance to Train station, Tivoli etc.
Relaxed atmosphere, food ok.
Definitely recommend for a weekend.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I was so impressed with this hotel. The room was lovely, beautifully kept and up to-date. The staff were charming and all spoke english (as does everyone in CPH!)Very comfortable beds & linens. Only complaint and is it can get a little bit warm, being there in the first week of August we struggled a little without air conditioning, but only mildly. Breakfasts look super but we mostly ate out, although coffees in the garden were had before our days began. Would have expected it to be a lot more expensive than what we paid. Also the wifi worked seamlessly throughout stay, none of this enter code that will expire every few minutes malarky.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone without hesitation. Thank you for a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 582clares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. The location in Copenhagen doesn't get much better. The hotel rooms, while small, have charm, and are nicely renovated.
But the best thing about this hotel is the fabulous organic breakfast with everything you can imagine.!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We chose this hotel after the amazing reviews, and we couldn't be more disappointed. It was a very hot weekend, and for our surprise the hotel does not have air conditioners!!! We were paying a 300usd daily rate only to sleep with our windows open, with tons of bugs, and listening to drunks and prostitutes screaming in the streets. There are absolutely no warnings on their website about the lack of aircon units.
Also, they push the eco friendly theme a bit too much. The towels are paper thin, the toilet paper is of the worst quality ever. The room we stayed needed renovations.
Sincerely, I felt I paid 300usd to stay at a balinese hoStel. Would not recommend to anyone. Also, mind the location if travelling with kids, this is the Danish Red Light District.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelCopenhagen, Public Relations Manager at Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Ms AmandaC,
we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. Regarding the airconditioning, it is communicated on our website that we choose not to have this, due to environmental concerns.
The Guldsmeden Hotels operate according to strictly sustainable guidelines, as is clearly communicated on our website, and airconditioning is not compatible with this. In Denmark, the weather is very rarely hot enough to justify airconditioning. We of course provide fans for all rooms.
In the matter of the eco-friendly theme, as you call it, for us it´s a way of life that we embrace fully. We´re very proud of our towel programme, as not only are they 100% organic, but seeing as they´re not too heavy, we are able to wash and dry them in-house, using only bio-degradable detergents and fresh air. Their drying-off qualities are excellent, we find. The toilet paper - well, it´s recycled, bio-degradable - but also soft and pleasing to the eye. But again, this is our own taste and priorities - we realize that other people have other values, and if one is more comfortable with a more generic choice of hotels, the Guldsmeden Hotels may not be the right choice. We value good hostmanship, a friendly and warm atmosphere, good & plentiful organic food, cosy surroundings, and choices that we find environmentally responsible. Again, we can only urge all travellers to visit the hotels´ websites to make sure that they have chosen the correct location for their particular taste.
Best from all of us at Axel Guldsmeden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#7 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,143 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#28 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Property: Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Address: Helgolandsgade 11, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#2 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Axel Guldsmeden is an experience of charm and style, and the best night’s sleep you will find in inner Copenhagen. Situated in the heart of Vesterbro, Axel has 129 rooms, conference facilities, an organic brunch & evening restaurant and a luxurious spa with own-brand organic products.The four-star Axel Guldsmeden is the environmentally friendly choice for a visit to Copenhagen – all products, food & drink, furnishings and services either organic, fair-trade or both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing