We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience”
Review of Hotel Kong Arthur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kong Arthur
Ranked #14 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Disappointing experience”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel experience was pretty basic for a high price. We had booked a superior room and got a large room that was worn and not really clean. We got one towel each, and they were not exchanged. Towel rack did not work so towels were still wet when we came back in the late afternoon. A sign on the refrigerator informed us that if we put anything in there (like a bottle of water?) we would be charged 75 kronor. Very unfriendly approach!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tini518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCopenhagen, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest

We are really sorry that you didn’t find your room clean. You should have notified the reception immediately. Perhaps you by mistake didn’t get the room you were supposed to. Our housekeeping was recently the winner of “housekeeping of the year”. We set high pride in the cleaning, and I am convinced that something must have gone wrong.

The refrigerator is an automatic minibar, and that means it works this way: If you want a drink, you can take in from the minibar, and the system will register that you removed the drink. You are free to use the door for storing, however,

I have checked with our Room Division Manager, and he confirms that there are no such thing as a penalty for using the minibar. But we would very much like to know, which room you stayed in, in order to investigate this issue further. Please send an email to hhb@arthurhotels.dk, and we will come back to you.

Best regards
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    711
    244
    66
    31
See reviews for
263
788
67
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Very nice hotel with spacious rooms and nice spa area. Fairly short walk to town centre passed the Café Klimt which was great for breakfast and evening meals. Hotel was not cheap and didn't include breakfast but we enjoyed our stay and room was very clean, comfortable and staff were friendly.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

While the lobby was quite nice and the location is fine but not great, the Kong Arthur is just an adequate middle of the road hotel. Our room, which was called a "superior double" was on the top floor where the attic was converted to rooms. It had the dimmest lights of any hotel room we have ever been in and there was a bit of an off odor; maybe dankness? As in other Danish hotels of same class, space is at a premium and the bathroom certainly reflected that with a very small sink and tight fitting toilet, although there was a bathtub/shower. We also had trouble with our TV only receiving 4-5 channels. When I told the front desk about it, the gentlemen told me that kind of problem had never been reported before. He did indicate he would have someone look at it the next morning, which didn't happen. The following afternoon the TV had stopped showing any channels at all. There was a big storm coming in and the same front desk told me their engineers were busy so may note be able to get to work on it until the next morning. Within a few minutes, they did show up (both were very professional and accommodating) and ended up replacing TV as the antenna connection turned out to be faulty. So, I guess, the execution is choppy at best. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jzimmer499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Loved the friendly staff, fabulous breakfasts and comfortable room. Good location. The builidng is large with great views of the courtyard. Very nice decor, with suits of armour, shields, crests, etc. The complimentary glass of beer at happy hour was a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 494Tamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Even though the Kong Arthur Hotel is not located right in the centre of Copenhagen, it has quite some good features. It is only a less than 10-minute walk from the metro station Nørreport, from where you can take a metro directly to the airport.

We stayed in the superior room, which is more spacious than the standard one. I can recommend this! The beds was great; not too hard or too soft with a firmer and a softer pillow.

The breakfast buffet offers nice fresh produce. It is not a huge buffet, but it offered all the things we enjoy for breakfast: yoghurt with fruit compote, fresh fruit, fresh bread, cheeses, meats, eggs, bacon, different kinds of tea.

If we come back to Copenhagen, we will definitely come here again!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marian_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCopenhagen, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Marian

Thank you for your positive review. We are very glad that you liked our hotel - and the bed. We believe that a good bed is essential, and have chosen the quality of the beds very carefully.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back

Best regards
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

I always stay here, when I am in Copenhagen. I like the ambiance, the cosy rooms, the friendly staff and good breakfast. It is home far away from home. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms have all what your need. The hotel is also located close to the metro, the lakes and close to the shopping in Copenhagen. I can highly recommend you to stay here. Value for money.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Location of this hotel is great. It's close to Copenhagen's old town (500 meters). Spa in this hotel is really nice. It's quite small but has a great atmosphere. Service is also really good.

Only problem in our case was that our room was next to elevator (or in fact it felt like elevator was running inside our room). Therefore the room was quite noisy and we had to wear ear plugs at night. We took the cheapest room option from hotels.com, so probably that's the reason for the noisy room. We didn't try to change the room.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Weggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,810 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
198 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#20 of 116 in Copenhagen
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 116 in Copenhagen
3,850 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kong Arthur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kong Arthur

Property: Hotel Kong Arthur
Address: Norre Sogade 11, Copenhagen 1370, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#8 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kong Arthur 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kong Arthur is situated right between the beautiful inner lakes of Copenhagen and the buzzing downtown, only 15 min. from the airport by metro. The style is exclusive and modern with a hint of medieval - we call it a mix of rustic and chic. The atmosphere is cozy and informal: A lit fireplace, comfy sofas, pillows in the window sill, a stack of books on the shelves, beautiful courtyards adorned with green plants, cobbles and a unique peacefulness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kong Arthur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kong Arthur Copenhagen
Kong Arthur Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing