We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kong Arthur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kong Arthur
Ranked #14 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Rijeka, Croatia
1 review
“Good location and nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Hotel is on good location near the lakes. Convenient for business as well as for pleasure or fun. 10-15 min walk to city center. Wi-fi is working all around the hotel. Only thing that has to be improved is tv and program choice.

Room Tip: Double superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Željko N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    683
    237
    56
    29
See reviews for
246
751
65
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, MI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed one night at the Hotel Kong Arthur before boarding a Baltic cruise. The service was excellent, the staff young and eager to please. The room was small, but sufficient; it would have been difficult for a longer stay. Bed was circular and not as comfortable as the standard rectangle, but we had a restful night. The breakfast was buffet style and generously stocked. The only issue is that it is an older but updated hotel with many layers of steps. No problem unless you are wheeling around a fully packed large suitcase designed for a week and a half cruise. Then the steps can be bothersome. Overall a very good experience, and close to walk to numerous attractions. We enjoyed the visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dparuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Away from the main tourist hub, but in Copenhagen nothing is too far away. A 15 min walk to the canal tour, 10 min to the Kings Garden. After long haul flight I arrived at 9.30am, well before check-in. I had emailed the Hotel the week before asking for an early check-in. Alas my room was not available, I accepted an upgrade at 40 Euro a night extra so that I could get inearly. The room was very clean and adequate. Even though it was fall, I slept with the window open as the bedding was hot and the room a stuffy. Beware, there is no porter- staff do not offer assistance with your baggage,I found check-in a very average experience- "Go down those stairs, find the elevator with the silver door- I had two suitcases, cabin luggage and a handbag- I needed to mange the stairs with all this luggage- not off to a good start. I would not recommend this hotel to older travelers- too much lugging around in an old building. The Hotel breakfast was more than adequate, this is recommended as Copenhagen is a very expensive City to visit.
If traveling to Copenhagen again I would stay here as long as my husband was there to help with the luggage!

Room Tip: Upgrade- my executive room was an average size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryC65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legnago, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

It was the second time that I've been there, the King Arthur is an exencial and clean hotel with good and friendly staff, and a very good breakfast. I've already advised it to a friends.
The only think is that maybe it will be better if they will put one more towels !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Betty_Fog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCopenhagen, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Betty

We are so glad that you liked Hotel Kong Arthur. It means a lot to us to get feedback from our guests. We listen to all comments and use it to evaluate and improve our hotels.

Regarding the towels: When we became a carbon neutral hotel, we looked into all our practices, in order to save unnecessary energy. We found that many of the large towels was washed without not even having been used. Because when they hang out, we must of course replace them when new guests arrive, also if they are not used. Therefore we decided to put the large bath towels in the closet. But unfortunately, not everyone notice this. We are now considering whether we in the future, should change our practice.

Best regards
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel experience was pretty basic for a high price. We had booked a superior room and got a large room that was worn and not really clean. We got one towel each, and they were not exchanged. Towel rack did not work so towels were still wet when we came back in the late afternoon. A sign on the refrigerator informed us that if we put anything in there (like a bottle of water?) we would be charged 75 kronor. Very unfriendly approach!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tini518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCopenhagen, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest

We are really sorry that you didn’t find your room clean. You should have notified the reception immediately. Perhaps you by mistake didn’t get the room you were supposed to. Our housekeeping was recently the winner of “housekeeping of the year”. We set high pride in the cleaning, and I am convinced that something must have gone wrong.

The refrigerator is an automatic minibar, and that means it works this way: If you want a drink, you can take in from the minibar, and the system will register that you removed the drink. You are free to use the door for storing, however,

I have checked with our Room Division Manager, and he confirms that there are no such thing as a penalty for using the minibar. But we would very much like to know, which room you stayed in, in order to investigate this issue further. Please send an email to hhb@arthurhotels.dk, and we will come back to you.

Best regards
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Very nice hotel with spacious rooms and nice spa area. Fairly short walk to town centre passed the Café Klimt which was great for breakfast and evening meals. Hotel was not cheap and didn't include breakfast but we enjoyed our stay and room was very clean, comfortable and staff were friendly.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

While the lobby was quite nice and the location is fine but not great, the Kong Arthur is just an adequate middle of the road hotel. Our room, which was called a "superior double" was on the top floor where the attic was converted to rooms. It had the dimmest lights of any hotel room we have ever been in and there was a bit of an off odor; maybe dankness? As in other Danish hotels of same class, space is at a premium and the bathroom certainly reflected that with a very small sink and tight fitting toilet, although there was a bathtub/shower. We also had trouble with our TV only receiving 4-5 channels. When I told the front desk about it, the gentlemen told me that kind of problem had never been reported before. He did indicate he would have someone look at it the next morning, which didn't happen. The following afternoon the TV had stopped showing any channels at all. There was a big storm coming in and the same front desk told me their engineers were busy so may note be able to get to work on it until the next morning. Within a few minutes, they did show up (both were very professional and accommodating) and ended up replacing TV as the antenna connection turned out to be faulty. So, I guess, the execution is choppy at best. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jzimmer499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#21 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#7 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,144 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#28 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kong Arthur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kong Arthur

Property: Hotel Kong Arthur
Address: Norre Sogade 11, Copenhagen 1370, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#8 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kong Arthur 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kong Arthur is situated right between the beautiful inner lakes of Copenhagen and the buzzing downtown, only 15 min. from the airport by metro. The style is exclusive and modern with a hint of medieval - we call it a mix of rustic and chic. The atmosphere is cozy and informal: A lit fireplace, comfy sofas, pillows in the window sill, a stack of books on the shelves, beautiful courtyards adorned with green plants, cobbles and a unique peacefulness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kong Arthur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kong Arthur Copenhagen
Kong Arthur Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing