We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overbooked and dont care”
Review of Hotel Kong Arthur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kong Arthur
Ranked #14 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Nueziders, Austria
Level Contributor
222 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“overbooked and dont care”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

A truely disappointing experience
the hotel was overbooked so they had to place me in their sister hotel Ibsens arround the corner (see seperate review)- in contray to the kong the ibsens in clearly a class below.(see rating TA and stars). The fact that I have prepaid through Amoma ,that it was 21:30 in the evening after a long day, and that i knew Copenhagen was heavily booked did not give me a choice but to accept. Well mistake happen but then I would exspect the staff and hotel would go out of there way or at least finnacially compensate for hte downgrade. Well i was offered a free enance to the CLOSED spa and a free drrink while I was WAITING for there transfering the booking.-that was it. I felt ripped off ,not care for and actually cheated for what could have been a pleasant evening.
caring for customers looks definately different.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. I am so sorry about this incident! Please contact me immediately at stj@arthurhotels.dk, and I will personally look into the matter. What you experienced is not acceptable and totally below our standards.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Hotel Kong Arthur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    712
    246
    66
    32
See reviews for
265
792
67
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

A good place to stay for a few days.
Front of house staff very pleasant and helpful.
The rooms are very small so be sure to ask if they have larger rooms available.
Happy Hour is a bonus after a day of walking.
The Breakfast Buffet is to be recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

A pleasant place to stay. Some confusion over room booking on arrival but this was apparently the travel company's failure, not the hotel's. The room was entirely adequate though a bath as well as a shower would have been nice.
It suited us to have two restaurants immediately available adjacent to the hotel though there was some confusion on the first night because it had not been made clear to us that they were separate businesses and we could not add the meal bill to our hotel bill.
In all other ways the welcome and help we received were outstanding, and here I would especially mention Josephine who could not have been more friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel is well situated, close to the metro and within easy walking distance of the main sites and shopping area. We had a standard double room, which was large enough for our needs, nicely furnished and well equipped. The hotel granted our request for a bath, however it was damaged and looked as though it needed replacing. The room was on the 4th floor overlooking the courtyard so was nice and quiet and thankfully we could open the windows as it was very warm. We did try to request some lighter bedding but none was given, as the duvets are too heavy for summer.
The buffet breakfast was included in our rate and was of a good quality and selection, with a good range of breads. We also enjoyed the cosy hour in the bar.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francevisitorLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

If you are thinking about reserving this hotel online through a secondary site, beware!! If you have to cancel your travel plans, the hotel will not work with you and you will never get your money back--only a chance to reserve another date. This unaccommodating attitude does not bode well for the inexperienced traveler! I would never stay at a hotel that gives such shabby treatment to its prospective guests!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 296Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you had this experience with us. Please accept my deepest apologies! Will you please contact me directly at stj@arthurhotels.dk? Then I will look into your situation.

I know a problem with one of the secondary sites caused that more booking than rooms available were accepted. Therefore we had to move some guests and did everything we could to meet our guests wishes. It is very important to us not to disappoint our guests but always make them feel welcome and cared for. This is the reason why we run two small boutique hotels. I am very sorry and surprised you have had this experience and will not hesitate to look into the matter, as soon as I hear from you.

Kind regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Hotel Kong Arthur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Kong Arthur in late May. It was a great place to stay -- easy walking distance to the Metro. Better yet, we rented bicycles at the hotel and took the guided bike tour of Copenhagen one day and then biked around the city by ourselves the next day -- heartily recommend the guided tour to see much of the city. It is so easy, and safe, to bike all over Copenhagen.
Our room was just fine. We opted to include breakfast and were very happy we did so. The breakfast was a wonderful way to start each day. And we enjoyed sitting in the patio area with our wine at happy hour.
If we are so lucky to return to Copenhagen, we would stay at the Kong Arthur again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at the Kong Arthur for a few nights and had a pleasant stay. The Hotel is friendly and fun and is located near a canal which is nice. The bar has a happy hour and offers a free wine or beer which was much needed after walking around for the day. Good value, good rooms and good service, what more do you need?!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,814 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
200 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#20 of 116 in Copenhagen
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 116 in Copenhagen
3,857 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kong Arthur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kong Arthur

Property: Hotel Kong Arthur
Address: Norre Sogade 11, Copenhagen 1370, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#8 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kong Arthur 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kong Arthur is situated right between the beautiful inner lakes of Copenhagen and the buzzing downtown, only 15 min. from the airport by metro. The style is exclusive and modern with a hint of medieval - we call it a mix of rustic and chic. The atmosphere is cozy and informal: A lit fireplace, comfy sofas, pillows in the window sill, a stack of books on the shelves, beautiful courtyards adorned with green plants, cobbles and a unique peacefulness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kong Arthur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kong Arthur Copenhagen
Kong Arthur Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing