We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Kong Arthur
Nearby Hotels
Skt. Petri(Copenhagen)
US$318
US$306
SKT. PETRI
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Copenhagen Strand(Copenhagen)
US$253
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibsens Hotel(Copenhagen)(Great Value!)
US$261
US$196
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Adina Apartment Hotel Copenhagen(Copenhagen)
US$304
US$279
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$363
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Scandic Copenhagen(Copenhagen)
US$281
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen(Frederiksberg)(Great Value!)
US$208
US$200
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Copenhagen Island Hotel(Copenhagen)
US$197
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$315
US$295
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen(Copenhagen)(Great Value!)
US$313
US$224
Bertrams Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (2,137)
Filter reviews
2,137 results
Traveller rating
892
845
286
77
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
892
845
286
77
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscozy hourspa roomking arthurnorreport stationfree glass of winelovely hotelfood marketeach eveningjunior suitesister hotelshower gelminute walkno air conditioningquiet locationwet roomcity breakan upgrade
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,331 - 1,336 of 2,137 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed at the Kong Arthur 17th/18th June with my daughter, we chose this hotel, because we were going to a concert at THe Parken (30 mins walk away). We arrived early and found the hotel, although the room wasn't ready we left our bags and went off exploring Copenhagen. The Hotel is situated on one of the lakes and about 5 minutes walk from the main station of Norrerport? The hotel is clean and tidy and the receptionists were friendly and helpful. We had room 309 which although small was large enough and lovely, clean, tidy with tea and coffee facilities. The beds were very comfy and the pillows soft. The shower was great with nice toiletries. Our room looked straight down the lane to the lake, so a great view from the room. Before venturing out again that evening we had a drink at the cozy hour (5 to 6), me a wine, my daughter a coke. What a lovely idea. I would recommend this hotel. It is a bit of a walk to the main center of copenhagen but a quick stroll and you are soon in the mix of everything.
To sum up, a lovely, clean and well presented hotel. Would definitely recommend and if I am ever lucky enough to return to Copenhagen, would stay at the wonderful Kong Arthur again.

Room Tip: Room 309 overlooks the front of the hotel, dead center so looks out up the lane and over the lake.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fenninghams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review! I am very happy you and your daughter enjoyed your stay here at Kong Arthur and would like to recommend us. Personal recommendations mean everything!

When you return to Copenhagen (not 'if', I hope :-) ), we will love to welcome you back!

Best regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Hotel Kong Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here for a business trip for 3 nights,

Hotel was near to town which was good so that you can go an grab dinners etc and see some of Copenhagen.

The room was a double, was small but quaint. Good amenities such as tv and bed.

Breakfast was good, continental style and good service from waiters.

Overall good for business as I was out most of the day but if you were staying in the hotel may be a bit small.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ric_JJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here during the Eurovision weekend in a junior suite at about £300 (500USD) plus breakfast. All top hotels were already booked by the time we booked this trip, and we expected to pay more for accommodation that weekend but we left this place with a feeling that the hotel was simply not worth that rate and especially for what it is.

The design is nice and cool, location residential and quiet, 15 min walk from Nyvavn and other place. Excellent friendly reception staff. But then the issues start!

Tea, coffee, drinks selection at the lobby was very poor. Even the staff were apologetic about it and saying they have reported this to the management. There was no champagne and only one choice of pretty mediocre wine. When we asked if we could have tea in the lounge we were offered to choose from 4 black teas of some unknown brand, no herbal teas to choose from, not even an elementary peppermint tea. We chose Earl Grey tea but it was undrinkable, especially with milk - very weak and tasteless. Bar staff offered 2nd sachet free of charge but even that didn't bring on any taste. We asked if they would have any decaf coffee. But no, hotel doesn't do decaf coffee! That's again elementary. Hotel barman was very apologetic but really - is it that hard to buy a few teas and coffees, and beverages!

Breakfast (served only till 10am even at weekend) had a very poor selection - I love my Scandinavian fish but there was no smoked salmon or marinated herring (which is surprising for Denmark). Paying for such poor breakfast extra was not worth the money, so we decided to go to a coffee shops nearby after the first day.

And then design faults! There was nowhere in the shower to put shampoo, conditioner or shower gel, not a singe small shelf or corner unit - very annoying to have to put all those little bottles on the floor under the running water. Shower in fact was just cornered off from the rest of the bathroom by a curtain with water going down to a hole in the floor. But the floor didn't have a big enough incline and as a result the whole of the bathroom floor had water in which can be a hazard for older visitors.

We were told by the staff that the hotel is under new management and that some of the above issues are to be addressed. Maybe since our visit they have improved things but we found the hotel to be far too expensive for what it is.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Y69Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCopenhagen, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Y69Y

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you didn’t find the selection of tea, coffee and drinks satisfying. Our selection of tea has been changed since your stay - hopefully you will find this more satisfying if you visit us again. We do offer powder decaf coffee which you can also bring to the room. On a regular basis we sell bottles of champagne, and we apologize for the lack of it during your stay.

Regarding the breakfast, it has been changed due to differing opinions but is now receiving a lot more positive response. Unfortunately we can’t meet everyone’s needs.

Both our staff and hotel design has always been praised a lot and we thank you for your kind words. It is very much appreciated.

We hope you enjoyed your overall stay at Hotel Kong Arthur during the Eurovision weekend and hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Simone Ulrich-Larsen / Hotel Kong Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We walked into the old historic city every day. There is a grocery store within walking distance that sells ice!!! There is a pizza restaurant on the block behind the hotel entrance that is excellent and reasonably priced. You can easily walk to Tivoli from this hotel.

We visited during a July heat wave. Warning -- no AC. So if that matters, stay at a chain hotel. Otherwise, we opened the windows and waited for the weather to cool off at night. Saturday evening there was street noise. Thursday and Friday nights were fine.

The room was a decent size as was the bathroom. The hotel offers a cozy hour with a free glass of wine.

The staff speaks English perfectly -- better than many Americans. Their command of our language was impressive. There were friendly and helpful.

Our room had a small fridge. We never watched tv. The room was always kept clean and the neighborhood was every safe. The Rothsborg palace was very close by and was the best palace that we visited. A must see c

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Layne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Very good location, nice breakfast, room is small enough for such money, but we were there for sleep only. At the arrival were not able to find our booking but then found. There is Spa in the hotel. Internet weak and you need to refresh connection daily.

Room Tip: Top floor has big room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Oleg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews