We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location for walking to sights”
Review of Hotel Kong Arthur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kong Arthur
Ranked #14 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location for walking to sights”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The hotel is easy to get to from the airport using the Metro and in a good location. Exterior and reception areas are quite impressive, We stayed in the hotel in August and the room we were allocated was on the top floor. Room was spacious but extremely hot even with the windows open and fan on. The curtains would not close completely so very bright early morning.
Staff very helpful and polite .

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue1956_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    694
    242
    60
    29
See reviews for
249
773
66
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We, a family of 4, spent 3 nights during the heat period in july. The first night we spent in a room on the groundfloor and had the windows closed. It was too hot, even with a fan. The staff were nice and let us change room for the other two nights. On 3. floor we could have the windows open during the night. The location of Kong Arthur was nice, in a quiet area, but still close to down town. Nearby you can fint a lovely Foodmarket, and many nice cafés. The rooms are lovely and clean.The staff very helpful and polite. The breakfast nice and fresh. It was even a nice atriumgarden, where you can chill out. I will definitely consider to stay at Hotel Kong Arthur next time I go to CPH. Value for money!

Room Tip: Higher floor during summer, so you can have the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenspot_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I booked directly with the hotel and, upon check-in, was warned that the rooms were smaller than in the USA. No problem, our room was lovely and plenty big enough (double standard for 2 people) and included breakfast. Yes, the bathroom is a wet room but it helps to squeegee the floor after showering and put down the bathmat AFTER the squeegee to have a dry place to walk. The toiletries were really small (one tiny bar of soap for 2 people for 2 nights) and of poor quality - I get the eco-stuff but just put a dispenser in the shower please!
Our room was HOT! which I expected, but the maids should be instructed to close the curtains during the day (they were left open the first day and opened after we left them closed the second day). We used the fans in the room and asked for sheets for covers (instead of the duvet) which were provided. If AC is important to you, find and book a hotel with AC. Most hotels in Copenhagen do not have AC.
The staff was very friendly and nice (we interacted with 4-5 different people) and very graciously let us use their desk phone to call the airline after my husband's plane reservation was messed up. We enjoyed the afternoon glass of wine in the courtyard one day. The breakfast was fabulous with bread, cheese, meat, eggs, sausage/bacon, fruit, yogurt, granola, cereal, homemade jam, juice, coffee, and interesting tea. You can eat inside or in the courtyard.
Very well located, we walked everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
157 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights, were v pleased with our spacious room with attractive pictures, nice seating and good wifi (love a hotel that make it free) but found it too hot with no air cond. we left windows open and turned lights off to try and cool it a bit but of course this meant noise.
Bathroom could have been so nice but one measly bar of soap , poor quality amenities, and thin small towels let it down. We commented hotel could feel so much more comfortable with a few details being better attended too. Front reception v helpful, good breakfast.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KiwigirlNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Basically, I was satisfied with the hotel, but something was missing. The breakfast was fantastic and I liked the building and its atmosphere, as such. The personnel was nice and the location was optimal for us (using bikes to see the city). The room was basic and it was relatively hot during night despite open windows and an extra fan. With open windows all noise from the restaurant was a little bit disturbing as the children went early to bed, but it was not unbearable. The possibility to rent bikes was a nice and reasonably priced extra service. The hotel gym was quite small and in need of a facelift, but the possibilities for jogging outside were terrific. Our children were not allowed into the spa (neither in the evening nor in the morning), which I personally accept. All in all, I can recommend the hotel with some question marks mentioned above.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKTHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and your feedback! If you suddenly come to think of exactly what was missing, you are most welcome to contact me at stj@arthurhotels.dk. All feedback on how we can improve is much appreciated.
I am very happy you had a good stay, but I would of course have preferred if everything had been perfect :-) We will use your comments in our ongoing evaluation of the guest satisfaction, so thank you so much for your help!

I hope to see you back - and if so, please let us know if that "something" is still missing.

Best,
Stine Jørgensen / Hotel Kong Arthur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
216 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is nice and nicely located. Expensive but so are all hotels in Denmark. Service was friendly (for Denmark) but rooms were very HOT and bathrooms a bit utilitarian. Breakfast was great though, plenty of delicious food and variety. Will probably look for a different hotel next time.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank faarias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and for your visit at Hotel Kong Arthur. I am very happy you enjoyed our breakfast buffet! We recently introduced an even wider range of organic products in our breakfast buffet. Hopefully, our other guests will like this as well.
If you plan to visit a different hotel but liked the service at Hotel Kong Arthur, you should visit our sister hotel Ibsens Hotel close by. This is a 3 star urban Copenhagen hotel, which I can definitely recommmend. However, I hope to see you back at Hotel Kong Arthur of course :-)

Kind regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Hotel Kong Arthur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed in June - and agree with all the comments about rooms getting very hot in the direct sunlight and the fans being ineffective. Our room had no plug for the bathroom sink ( this was not remedied before we moved room), non-functioning light bulbs (sorted quickly), and a non-functioning sink drain (flooded the bathroom floor with grime from the drain). However, staff were able to arrange a room move.
Breakfasts were good, but on the Monday ran out of croissants etc before we arrived (we were not by any means late) - apparently this was because the guests on Sunday had eaten them all (oops!!).
We met plenty of the staff due to all this - and all seemed v pleasant!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank The3holidaymakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry about the problems with the first room, but I am very happy you let us know so we could give you a better room and thereby a better experience, and so that the other room could be fixed. As long as we have rooms available, it is of course always possible to change room if you would rather like a room with city view instead of courtyard view, a bathroom with a tub or anything like that.

I hope to see you back. If you let me know you are visiting, I will make sure we have plenty of croissants for you :-)

Best,
Stine Jørgensen / Hotel Kong Arthur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#20 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#7 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,213 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#27 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kong Arthur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kong Arthur

Property: Hotel Kong Arthur
Address: Norre Sogade 11, Copenhagen 1370, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#8 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kong Arthur 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kong Arthur is situated right between the beautiful inner lakes of Copenhagen and the buzzing downtown, only 15 min. from the airport by metro. The style is exclusive and modern with a hint of medieval - we call it a mix of rustic and chic. The atmosphere is cozy and informal: A lit fireplace, comfy sofas, pillows in the window sill, a stack of books on the shelves, beautiful courtyards adorned with green plants, cobbles and a unique peacefulness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kong Arthur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kong Arthur Copenhagen
Kong Arthur Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing