We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great post-honeymoon cruise stay! 2 nights!”
Review of Hotel Kong Arthur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kong Arthur
Ranked #14 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great post-honeymoon cruise stay! 2 nights!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Kong Arthur for 2 nights following a long honeymoon cruise. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and have no negative feedback that would prevent us from returning.

Room – We stayed in a Double Superior room which was good and spacious! The bed was very comfortable and the room was spotless clean when we arrived. I would recommend this room type for those who do not want to feel slightly cramped. Our friends got the single and said it was a bit tight, especially since we had just gotten out of our tight cruise cabin.

Service – Everyone we encountered was very pleasant and smiling, always happy to help! We rented bikes from the front desk at a very reasonable price, and the young women who assisted us taught us how to work the bike locks since we don’t have such locks in the US. Luggage storage upon arrival is less than ideal, as we were given unsupervised access to the bell closet to place our belongings. A dishonest person could take advantage of the opportunity, lock up your bags like we did.

Spa – Easily the highlight of our stay! I booked our services months in advance and was not disappointed in the least bit. I had the most incredible Spa service EVER! It was called the Buddha Deluxe and my therapist’s name was Mido! Request him if you can! The Spa facilities were quite relaxing and private. Do you dare try the ice water bath? We did!

Location – IDEAL from a tourism and sightseeing perspective! Although, it is a pricey taxi ride from the cruise port. And pricy to the airport as well.

Enjoy your stay if you go, we did!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Double Superior room which was good and spacious! I would recommend this room type f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRiggs888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear John,

I am so happy to hear from you again and very pleased to learn you had a great honeymoon. Thank you so much for contacting us via Facebook prior to your arrival telling us your stay was your honeymoon so we had time to prepare a little extra treat for you in relation to the special occation. We are so happy when we can do these extra things. Also, thank you very much for this review.

Best,
Stine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    694
    242
    61
    29
See reviews for
249
773
66
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Hotel Kong Arthur is the kind of hotel we like to stay in - not to big, locally owned, a little off the beaten path in a neighborhood with a lot to offer - restaurants, markets, public transportation. The entire staff were friendly and welcoming, the breakfast buffet was varied and tasty served in a bright atrium-like setting, they have "cozy hour" where guests can enjoy a glass of wine either in the comfortable lobby or their lovely outdoor courtyard before heading out for the evening. There is an on-site spa but we didn't take advantage of it. It is situated across from the lake and away from the hustle and bustle of Copenhagen, but within a 5-15 minute walk to most places a tourist would want to go. Many people complained about the lack of A/C, but that didn't bother us at all, being well aware most hotels in Europe don't have A/C. The free wi-fi is very reliable. Be aware that the bathroom is on the small side with a very small shower. The only reason I gave it 4 stars was, even though we were on the back side of the hotel, there was a small access way behind our room and early in the morning workers would congregate outside and talk quite loudly which made sleeping past 7 impossible. This also happened around midnight with either hotel guests or locals. We would definitely stay here again. After walking by the large hotels in the Tivoli Gardens area with the throngs of people, we were grateful to have found the Hotel Kong Arthur.

Room Tip: Maybe a room on the upper floors would be quieter - ask when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmac1238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. I am so happy we were exactly the kind of hotel you were looking for! Your experience of the hotel is exactly how we want all of our guests to experience the hotel, so thank you so much for sharing.

I look forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Hotel Kong Arthur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed here for 1 night before joining our cruise. Staff were exceptionally friendly and welcoming.
Our room was an adequate size but we suffered, like other reviewers, from the lack of air conditioning. Our open window remedy allowed too much noise, particularly as the hotel bike parking was just below our window.
Good location for a day's sightseeing - lovely markets just a short stroll away with amazing food outlets. Had a superb tapas lunch there. We found food very expensive in Copenhagen but the quality is top class.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I booked on-line directly with hotel and got a 35% discount for staying 4 nights and free daily spa pass. Upon arrival we were told we had been upgraded from a double superior room to a jr. suite. When we opened the door to our room it was strewn with rose petals and there was a bouquet of red roses and complimentary chocolates,as well. The room was large with loads of natural light. After the transatlantic flight, the happy hour ,outdoors in the courtyard, was most welcome. Helle, the COO, came around with seconds on the wine. The location, the on-site restaurants, the very helpful staff, the spa, the jacuzzi tub all made for a delightful stay.
Drawbacks for some are the stairs, no air-conditioning, noise and European shower.
Leaving the windows open and ,not pulling the black-out drapes, (just too tired) kept the room temperature comfortable in August. I also think it helped to conquer jet lag There was drumming and chanting from the lake in the wee hours of the morning, but only on Monday, well Tuesday by then. Noise didn't bother us the other nights.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaseyCane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for the review. I am very happy you had a great stay and liked the special surprise in the room :-) It is not everyday our Chief Operational Officer serves the wine herself, so I hope you got a chance to get a good talk about your stay (she would serve the wine herself every day if she had time for it).

I am sorry about the noise, but unfortunately there is not much we can do with our central location. I jope you had a nice sleep anyway.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Kong Arthur, NeXT time you are in Copenhagen!

Kind regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Hotel Kong Arthur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Hotel Kong Arthur is a nice hotel but it not a four-star hotel, as it listed on many travel booking websites. The hotel does not have air conditioning. In fairness, most hotels in Copenhagen do not have AC. Unfortunately, we experienced a couple of hot, miserable nights at this hotel during an unusual warm spell. Also, the hotel's Wi-Fi is so slow as to be impractical to use. I think that a four-star hotel (and one priced like the Kong Arthur) should have AC and reasonable Wi-Fi. The location was good, within walking distance of major attractions, but not as centrally located as many other hotels. The rooms and bathrooms are large and well appointed. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pwrstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed here in August during a "heat wave" in Copenhagen, with temperatures over 30C each day for our 4 night stay. I didn't sleep well at all for the whole stay. No air con anywhere in the hotel, just a tiny fan which was too noisy to leave on overnight. Hence you need to leave the windows open to get a little air movement. Unfortunately, all the young people on the way home from bars and discos were noisy and created a restless sleep.
On the upside, we did find the staff friendly and helpful. Christian on the front desk helped guide our first few days and booked restaurants, hop on, hop off bus tour etc. At 5pm every day they have happy hour, with free wine in the lobby. Nice touch, helps you mix with other guests.

Room Tip: Avoid summer. No air conditioning anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Porters051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We spent 7 nights in this fine hotel.The staff was very friendly and efficient especially Josephine Jost. We enjoyed the courtyard with all of the amenities as well as the extensive breakfast. The location is ideal for reaching virtually any destination and yet you are not located too close to Tivoli Gardens. You can't miss Tivoli while in Copenhagen but you don't want to be next to it.The only downside to the Kong Arthur is the lack of air conditioning.However with the small fan and cool evenings it was not a serious drawback. We sincerely recommend a stay, you will be happy with your decision.

Room Tip: Our stay at Kong Arthur was made especially pleasant and stress free by the attentiveness of the the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review! I am very pleased to hear you had a great time at Hotel Kong Arthur and in Copenhagen. Also, I am very happy you found the fan to be sufficient during this heatwave of a summer we have had this year. This is very unlikely for Denmark, which is why air conditioning is hardly never needed at Hotel Kong Arthur. So I am extremely happy to hear the heat did not ruin your stay :-)
I have passed your review on to Josephine, who is very happy she was part of making your stay wonderful.

We all hope to see you back at Hotel Kong Arthur, next time you visit Copenhagen.

Best,
Stine Jørgensen / Hotel Kong Arthur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#20 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#7 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,214 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#27 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kong Arthur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kong Arthur

Property: Hotel Kong Arthur
Address: Norre Sogade 11, Copenhagen 1370, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#8 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kong Arthur 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kong Arthur is situated right between the beautiful inner lakes of Copenhagen and the buzzing downtown, only 15 min. from the airport by metro. The style is exclusive and modern with a hint of medieval - we call it a mix of rustic and chic. The atmosphere is cozy and informal: A lit fireplace, comfy sofas, pillows in the window sill, a stack of books on the shelves, beautiful courtyards adorned with green plants, cobbles and a unique peacefulness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kong Arthur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kong Arthur Copenhagen
Kong Arthur Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing