We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“newly decorated hotel. Shame about the noise”
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #23 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
GreenLeadersBronze level
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“newly decorated hotel. Shame about the noise”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The hotel is in a good location ten minutes from the train station and ten minutes from Tivoli Garden's. The rooms are newly decorated clean and tidy although not overly big. The breakfast was good and gave a good start to the day. However I was disappointed with the noise coming from the next rooms doors closing, clothes being hung on hanger's. The worst thing was there is no underlay under the hall carpet so when anyone goes past it sounds like marching on floorboards. It's a shame because its a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the end of the hall away from the lift. It might be a bit quieter with not so many pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loopy327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Loopy327,

Thank you for your review and comments about the hotel.

We are looking for a way to reduce the noise in the corridor. But as this is on old listed building it is not that simple.

The next time you come to visit us, please let us know about the noise during your stay, and we will move you to another room if needed.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    464
    162
    34
    13
See reviews for
142
423
59
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We had reservation for a smallish room for two for one night, but we got a upgrade to Family room because there was mirror broken in our first room. Everything worked fine, hotel staff was very friendly and beds were good for sleeping. My partner said that beds were too soft, though. Hotel was near everything, only couple hundred meters away the Central Train Station. Breakfast was good, many types of bread available but still it was maybe a bit narrow selection of cereals and other breakfast foods, comparing to finnish hotels. However, it was very pleasant stay at Savoy Hotel and we would definitely come back again.

Helpful?
1 Thank FINLEX
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Finlex,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am sorry that you had to change room because of the mirror, but I think it was a good thing for you!

The beds are a standard hotelbed and only one year old. If it was softer than all other beds, we must change it to a new one.

I am looking forward to seeing you in Copenhagen in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I have been to Copenhagen many times and frankly the hotels we have stayed in have been a little hit and miss. However, I am travelling home after a three night stay at the Savoy and it has been a great place to stay.

The location is good, handy for the Tivoli, train stations, the Stroget and local buses. There's plenty of good places to drink and eat close by.

The hotel was very friendly, clean and the rooms were very cosy and quiet. The reception staff were very friendly, accommodating and helpful.

Certainly a hotel I will stay at again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Alan P,

Thank you for your review.

Since you have now found "your home in Copenhagen" I look forward to meeting you next time you are in Copenhagen.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We have just returned from 4 nights at the Savoy, and what a treat it was a warm ,clean room with all you could need for a stay, some people had said it was small, i thought it was ok, not enough room to dance but big enough for a well appointed bedroom with tea/coffee making facilities

An excellent selection from the buffet breakfast, even fresh baked danish pastries, with everything replenished throughout the sitting

the hotel is well located in the centre of copenhagen, not far from the main station,with many cafe/bar and restaurants around close by

the hotel also has free wi fi throughout the hotel with great signal and also free use of tablets in reception

The staff were all friendly and helpful, one in particular, unfortunately i didnt get his name, (a slim young man wearing glasses} went the extra mile taking his time with some excellent help and information

i would have no hesitation in booking to stay here again, and as i said in my heading ,if you go for the christmas period, this is a little cracker

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Vanman,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed the stay at the little"cracker" in the heart of Copenhagen.

The slim young man wearing glasses must be Henning, and I will let him know that you mentioned him in your review.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in Copenhagen again soon.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I had a very good three nights at this cozy hotel. My stay was made all the better by the phenomenal service (especially Henning who really went out of his way to help with all of my questions and requests multiple times!) The location couldn't be any better, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the breakfast plentiful and delicious. The only drawback was that the walls were a bit thin so there were a couple of times when I couldn't get to sleep because I could hear my next door neighbors. I think that's the case in most mid-price European hotels though. Overall an excellent stay and definitely recommended!

Room Tip: The rooms on the back side of the hotel (not facing the street) are quieter because there is no stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonTravelBug1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Boston,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about our little hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed the stay, but not happy about the noise from the next door neighbour. When you stay the next time, please contact the reception if you can hear your neighbour, and we will move you to another room.

I will let Henning now that you have written som kind words about him.

We look forward to welcome you again to Savoy Hotel.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 481 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

My wife and I stay at this great hotel in beautiful Copenhagen from 6th to 9th of December 2012. We had a Superior room (see my photos). The standard was OK and the bathroom was clean with proper shower room size. The room was also light and airy, and face the quiet inner courtyard which for us is important for a good night’s sleep.

The breakfast buffet is great. Cereals, bread, butter, jam, ham, cheese, eggs, yoghurt, coffee, fruits - everything you need for a good breakfast.

The Hotel has a unique location next to the train station and only a few minutes' walk from central Copenhagen (Strøget). The hotel is surrounded by numerous restaurants, trendy cafés and coffee shops (I will recommend the exciting Tante T tea-room in Viktoriagade 6).

There was only one problem during our stay. After the first night the cleaning staff missed to clean our room. I contact the front staff and also send an email to the hotel. The next morning I got a long email from the owner Mr. Christian Oxlund who deeply apology for the inconvenience. The way Mr. Oxlund and the front staff handled this episode was just great!

The great service on this hotel makes you feel comfortable. The reception staffs are very friendly and very helpful.

Best Regards

Svein-Magne Tunli from Bergen, Norway.
tunliweb.no

Room Tip: Choose a room that face the quiet inner courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Svein-Magne_Tunli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Tunliweb,

Thank you for your review and for your understanding after the mistake with the missing cleaning from the first night.

I hope to see you again in Copenhagen soon.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Best Western Hotel Hebron
Best Western Hotel Hebron
#17 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,057 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#19 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,015 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#7 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,927 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#11 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,294 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#28 of 117 in Copenhagen
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Property: Savoy Hotel
Address: Vesterbrogade 34, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City) , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story Hotel situated in central shopping district near Tivoli Gardens & train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing