We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet but small”
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #25 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Stayed for 2 nights (Friday and Saturday), we booked a Medium Double but I think we were allocated a large attic double.
The room was ok, as it was an attic room one side of the ceiling sloped down so my husband had to bend a little when getting in and out of bed.
There was a TV, tea and coffee making facilities, spare pillow, hairdryer and space to hang clothes. There was a safe as well - this was a little awkward to use due to it opening quite close to the wall.
The bathroom was adequate but we could have done with a bathmat as there was no shower curtain and the floor did get a bit wet at times. We used the extra towel for this.
The breakfast room was pleasant, good choice of teas and good coffee. Small selection of cold meats, cheese, pate, soft boiled eggs, cereal, bread etc. Good start to the day.
The hotel itself is a short walk from Stroget the main pedestrian shopping area and central station. The staff speak English and are helpful. There is a luggage room and they offer late checkout subject to availability.
Overall, we were happy with the hotel however be aware that the rooms are smaller than what you may find elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you're tall, avoid a rooftop/attic room as these have sloping ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19dobby85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear JessicaRamsay,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay at the Savoy Hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed the stay, and I hope you will be choose to stay with us another time.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (936)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 936 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2013

When you only spend a day and a half in a city, you don't need a lot of space, just a bed and a shower, so I booked a small room. That's exactly what we got. In fact in was tiny, one step from the bed to the sink in the bathroom. I want to make clear that this is not a complaint, I want to mention it in case you are a traveller that wants more room.
The beds were incredibly comfortable (although I do get annoyed with the concept of two twins pushed together to create a "double" but unfortunately it appears to be the norm in northern Europe).
Breakfast was adequate, staff were friendly and efficient. Free wifi worked well.
We arrived by train and the hotel is walking distance (although their website's claim of 500 meters seems a little optimistic) in a nice neighbourhood with shops, cafés and restaurants.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Franck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear Travelfranck,

Thank you for taking time to write a review it is much appreciated.

I am glad you enjoyed the stay and I hope I will be able to welcome you again at the Savoy Hotel.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The hotel is very close to the Central Station and numerous reasonably priced places to eat. The room was basic but quite comfortable with a safe to keep money and passports in. Breakfast was outstandingly good with freshly baked bread and attentive helpful staff. I can highly recommend the place...and we found a very good micro brewery nearby!

Room Tip: We were on the 5 th floor and facing an inner courtyard with views of the Christmas decorations in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 50something54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear 50something54,

thank you for taking time to write a review.

I am glad you enjoyed the stay and that you found your microbrewery.
In the Lobby Bar we are selling bottled beer from Mikkeller, so you have the Microbrewery in house as well!

We look forward to seeing you in Copenhagen again someday.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The hotel is in a good location ten minutes from the train station and ten minutes from Tivoli Garden's. The rooms are newly decorated clean and tidy although not overly big. The breakfast was good and gave a good start to the day. However I was disappointed with the noise coming from the next rooms doors closing, clothes being hung on hanger's. The worst thing was there is no underlay under the hall carpet so when anyone goes past it sounds like marching on floorboards. It's a shame because its a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the end of the hall away from the lift. It might be a bit quieter with not so many pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loopy327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear Loopy327,

Thank you for your review and comments about the hotel.

We are looking for a way to reduce the noise in the corridor. But as this is on old listed building it is not that simple.

The next time you come to visit us, please let us know about the noise during your stay, and we will move you to another room if needed.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We had reservation for a smallish room for two for one night, but we got a upgrade to Family room because there was mirror broken in our first room. Everything worked fine, hotel staff was very friendly and beds were good for sleeping. My partner said that beds were too soft, though. Hotel was near everything, only couple hundred meters away the Central Train Station. Breakfast was good, many types of bread available but still it was maybe a bit narrow selection of cereals and other breakfast foods, comparing to finnish hotels. However, it was very pleasant stay at Savoy Hotel and we would definitely come back again.

1  Thank FINLEX
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear Finlex,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am sorry that you had to change room because of the mirror, but I think it was a good thing for you!

The beds are a standard hotelbed and only one year old. If it was softer than all other beds, we must change it to a new one.

I am looking forward to seeing you in Copenhagen in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I have been to Copenhagen many times and frankly the hotels we have stayed in have been a little hit and miss. However, I am travelling home after a three night stay at the Savoy and it has been a great place to stay.

The location is good, handy for the Tivoli, train stations, the Stroget and local buses. There's plenty of good places to drink and eat close by.

The hotel was very friendly, clean and the rooms were very cosy and quiet. The reception staff were very friendly, accommodating and helpful.

Certainly a hotel I will stay at again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear Alan P,

Thank you for your review.

Since you have now found "your home in Copenhagen" I look forward to meeting you next time you are in Copenhagen.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We have just returned from 4 nights at the Savoy, and what a treat it was a warm ,clean room with all you could need for a stay, some people had said it was small, i thought it was ok, not enough room to dance but big enough for a well appointed bedroom with tea/coffee making facilities

An excellent selection from the buffet breakfast, even fresh baked danish pastries, with everything replenished throughout the sitting

the hotel is well located in the centre of copenhagen, not far from the main station,with many cafe/bar and restaurants around close by

the hotel also has free wi fi throughout the hotel with great signal and also free use of tablets in reception

The staff were all friendly and helpful, one in particular, unfortunately i didnt get his name, (a slim young man wearing glasses} went the extra mile taking his time with some excellent help and information

i would have no hesitation in booking to stay here again, and as i said in my heading ,if you go for the christmas period, this is a little cracker

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear Vanman,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed the stay at the little"cracker" in the heart of Copenhagen.

The slim young man wearing glasses must be Henning, and I will let him know that you mentioned him in your review.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in Copenhagen again soon.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,548 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Best Western Hotel Hebron
Best Western Hotel Hebron
#18 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,092 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#17 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,078 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#11 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,325 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#29 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Address: Vesterbrogade 34, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City) , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: £95 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
66 rooms in the heart of Copenhagen - Free wifi and Breakfast included for all guests. - All rooms facing the courtyard of this Art Nouveau building from 1906. - Bicycle rental and airport taxi service available. - Train station nearby. - Restaurants, shopping, the Copenhagen lakes, and Tivoli nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing